More

Shipping & Logistics

We provide comprehensive services in both contentious and non-contentious aspects of shipping law, including charterparties, shipbuilding, shipping casualties, sale and purchase of vessels, ship arrest and release, international sale of goods, ship financing, cargo claims, bills of lading, letters of credit, marine insurance and other cross-border transport disputes.

Examples of the matters which we regularly deal with are:

  • handling disputes, whether by way of arbitration or litigation, arising from charterparties, shipbuilding contracts, ship collision, international sale of goods, sale and purchase of vessels, cargo claims, bills of lading, letters of credit and related insurance issues;
  • drafting, reviewing and advising on the terms of charterparties, shipbuilding contracts, GAFTA and FOSFA contracts, memorandum of agreements and ship mortgage documents;and
  • assisting shipowners and charterers in both arresting vessels and securing their release.

Our clients include shipowners, P&I Clubs, charterers, ship and chartering brokers, cargo insurers, tug companies, ship-repairers, banks, marine engineering companies, oil companies, bunker suppliers, government agencies and multinational conglomerates.


If you would like to know more about our shipping and logistics practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at shipping@onc.hk.


Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner

Recommended Posts

Can ship owners claim damages for loss of cargo in addition to demurrage when a ship is detained beyond laytime?
In a recent English High Court decision K-Line Pte Ltd v Priminds Shipping (HK) Co., Ltd [2020] EWHC 2373 (Comm), the Court considers whether an owner is entitled to claim damages in addition to demurrage where the only breach of contract of affreightment by the charterer is the failure to complete loading / discharging cargo within laytime. It was held that ship owner has a right to claim damages over and above its right to demurrage without the need to prove a separate breach.
How would the court interpret an expressly agreed term which conflicts with a general printed term in a bunker supply contract?
In the recent English case Septo Trading Inc v Tintrade Ltd [2021] EWCA Civ 718, the English Court of Appeal (the “Court”) considered whether there is inconsistency between a printed general term and a specifically agreed term and the effect of an inconsistent term. The Court reiterated that in determining whether such inconsistency exists, the test lies as to whether the two provisions can be fairly and sensibly read together and it is necessary to ascertain the intention of the parties in the commercial setting.
Can a term be implied into a charterparty guarantee limiting the shipowner’s right to seek security?
In the recent English case CVLC Three Carrier Corp and another v Arab Maritime Petroleum Transport Company [2021] EWHC 551 (Comm), the English High Court (Commercial Court) (the “Court”) emphasized that a term can only be implied into a contract if it is of commercial necessity.
Back to top

更多

航運及物流

我們就航運法的爭訟性及非爭訟性事宜提供全面服務,包括船舶租賃、造船、船舶事故、船舶買賣、船舶扣押及放行、國際貨物買賣、船舶融資、貨物索償、提單、信用證、海上保險及其他跨境運輸糾紛。
 

我們日常處理的事宜包括: 

  • 透過仲裁及/或訴訟,處理因船舶租賃合同、造船合同、船舶碰撞、國際貨物買賣、船舶買賣、貨物索償、提單、信用證及相關保險事宜引起的糾紛;
  • 草擬及審閱船舶租賃合同、造船合同、GAFTAFOSFA合同、船舶買賣協議備忘錄及船舶抵押文件的條款並提供意見; 
  • 協助船東及承租人扣押及釋放船舶。

我們的客戶包括船東、保賠協會、承租人、船舶及租船經紀人、貨物保險人、拖輪公司、船舶維修商、銀行、輪機工程公司、油公司、燃油供應商、政府機構及跨國集團等。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的航運及物流業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至shipping@onc.hk查詢。


請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章


律師團隊

甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人
甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人

推薦文章

若船隻被扣留超過裝卸時間,船東可否在滯期費以外就貨物損失索償?
最近在K-Line Pte Ltd v Priminds Shipping (HK) Co., Ltd [2020] EWHC 2373 (Comm) 一案中,英國高等法院審視了以下問題:假如包運合同租船人的唯一違約行為是未能在裝卸時間內完成貨物裝卸,船東除滯期費外,是否還有權追討損害賠償?法院裁定,船東有權在滯期費以外再追討損害賠償,而無需證明另有違約行為。
若燃油供應合約的明文議定條款與預印條款抵觸,法院會如何解讀?
最近在英國的Septo Trading Inc v Tintrade Ltd [2021] EWCA Civ 718一案中,英國上訴法院(「法院」)審視了一項預印一般條款與一項具體議定條款之間是否有抵觸,以及有關條款的效力。法院重申,在判斷兩者是否有抵觸時,測試在於兩項條文能否公平合理地一併解讀,而且需從商業角度確定各方的意圖。
租船合同的擔保書可否被視為載有限制船東要求抵押品權利的隱含條款?
最近在英國 CVLC Three Carrier Corp and another v Arab Maritime Petroleum Transport Company [2021] EWHC 551 (Comm) 一案中,英國高等法院(商事法庭)(「法院」)強調,除非出於商業上的必要性,否則不會將合約視為載有任何隱含條款。
Back to top