More

Insurance & Personal Injury

At ONC, our insurance and personal injury services can be conveniently sub-divided into the following areas:-

 ·  Acting for Victims in Personal Injury and Employees’ Compensation Cases

This has always been the centre-fold of our practice. Our clients come from all walks of life. To date, we have successfully recovered damages in tens of millions for hundreds of clients.

In these cases, a victim needs not be financially well off in order to pursue his claim against the wrongdoer. The less privileged he is, financially speaking, the more likely he will be eligible for legal aid assistance. All our personal injury lawyers welcome legal aid assignments. We are always willing and ready to assist our clients in their application for legal aid. For those who have a good chance of success in their claims but are not eligible for legal aid, flexible legal fees payment arrangements could be tailor-made to minimize their financial burden at the early stage of litigation. 

·   Acting for Insurers

We advise life and general insurers on insurance laws in general. We also advise them on merits of claims and defend them in unwarranted claims. 

·   Acting for Insurance Intermediaries

We advise and act for insurance agents and insurance brokers in professional investigations, disciplinary actions and court prosecutions. 

·   Acting for Insurance Clients

We advise and act for insurance clients on claim disputes with insurers and insurance intermediaries. We also advise them on single premium financing arrangements; business insurance schemes; and life insurance policy trust arrangements.

If you would like to know more about our insurance & personal injury practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at insurance_pi@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

 


Our People

Ray Lee
Ray Lee
Partner
Ray Lee
Ray Lee
Partner

Recommended Posts

Is sick leave granted by treating doctors and opinion given by medical experts binding on the Court in assessing damages?
In the case of Hu Wan v Sanwo International Company Limited [2021] HKDC 237, the District Court considered, inter alia, the questions of whether the sick leave granted by treating doctors and the opinion given by the medical experts is binding on the Court in assessing damages. The then 27-year-old Plaintiff was working for the Defendant as a saleslady in the Defendant’s shoes shop when she suffered an accident at work which led to ankle injury. She had a fracture which required open reduction and internal fixation. She was hospitalised for 5 days and was given sick leave of around 36.5 months. The Plaintiff complained that as a result of the accident she cannot stand or walk for more than 2-3 hours which makes it extremely difficult if not impossible for her to return to her pre-accident job as a saleslady in a busy shoe shop.
Employers who have not made periodical payments not entitled to request injured employees to attend medical examination
In our previous newsletter issued in June 2019, we discussed the serious consequences where employees who sustained injuries at work fail to undergo medical examinations as requested by the employer. Recently, in the judgment in Hui Po Chi v Trade Travel (Hong Kong) Limited (unrep., DCEC 406/2017, 9 September 2020), the Court reviewed the relevant provisions in the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance (Cap. 282) governing such medical examinations.
The scope of duty of care of medical practitioners in a clinical negligence claim
If a child would not have been born but for the doctor’s negligence in failing to advise the risk of their born with a hereditary disability, and having been born not only with the hereditary disability but also another congenital disability, can the mother of the child claim for the costs associated with all of her child’s disabilities, or only for the costs associated with the hereditary disability which the doctor was consulted on?
Back to top

更多

保險及人身傷亡

ONC 柯伍陳律師事務所,我們的保險及人身傷亡服務可分為以下範疇:

  • 代表人身傷亡及僱員補償案件的受害人

人身傷亡及僱員補償案件是本業務範圍的重心。本所至今已為數來自不同階層和行業的客戶成功爭取數以千萬元計的賠償。

在這類案件中,受害人即使經濟能力欠佳,亦無損追討賠償的機會,而財政緊絀的受害人獲批法律援助的機會高。本部門的每位律師都樂意處理法律援助案件,並隨時協助客戶申請法律援助。對於不合資格申請法律援助,但成功索償機會甚高的客戶,本所亦有彈性的收費安排,盡量減輕他們在訴訟前期的經濟負擔。

  • 代表保險公司

我們為人壽及一般保險公司就保險法及保險索償的理據提供意見,亦會就保險公司受到的不當索償提出抗辯。

  • 代表保險中介人

本所就保險代理及保險經紀面對的專業調查、紀律聆訊及法庭檢控,為他們提供意見及代其行事。

  • 代表保險客戶

本所就客戶與保險公司或中介人發生的索償糾紛提供意見及代其行事。本所亦就單一保費融資安排、商業壽險計劃及壽險保單信託安排為客戶提供意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的保險及人身傷亡業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至insurance_pi@onc.hk查詢。

 

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

李展鵬
李展鵬
合夥人
李展鵬
李展鵬
合夥人

推薦文章

主診醫生批准的病假及醫療專家提供的意見 對於法庭評定損害賠償是否具約束力?
在Hu Wan v Sanwo International Company Limited [2021] HKDC 237一案中,區域法院審視了主診醫生批准的病假及醫療專家提供的意見對於法庭評估損害賠償是否具約束力的問題。本案的原告人事發時27歲,在被告人的鞋店任職售貨員,她在工作期間發生意外,導致足踝受傷骨折,需要接受開放性復位及內固定手術。她住院5日,並獲准約36.5個月的病假。原告人指,意外導致她無法站立或步行超過2至3小時,令她難以甚至無法重返意外前在繁忙鞋店任職售貨員的工作。
如沒有作出按期付款,僱主無權要求受傷僱員接受身體檢查
在2019年6月份的通訊中,我們探討過在工作期間受傷的僱員如沒有按僱主要求接受身體檢查可帶來甚麼嚴重後果。最近在 Hui Po Chi v Trade Travel (Hong Kong) Limited(無匯報案件,DCEC 406/2017,2020年9月9日)一案中,法院在其判詞中審視了香港法例第282章《僱員補償條例》關於身體檢查的條文。
醫療人員在臨床醫療疏忽申索中的謹慎責任範圍
假如一名母親因為醫生疏忽沒有告訴她孩子將有遺傳性殘疾的風險而選擇誕下孩子,而孩子出生時不僅有遺傳性殘疾,還有另一種先天性殘疾,那麼孩子的母親能否追討與孩子所有殘疾相關的費用?還是只能追討她向醫生徵詢意見的遺傳性殘疾相關的費用?
Back to top