More

Insider Dealing

The definition of insider dealing under the law is complicated. Yet in broad terms, insider dealing takes place when a person buys or sells shares in a listed company when he or she possesses inside information, or information about that listed company which the general public does not have and which, if known to the public, would have an impact on the price of the shares of that company. In light of the severe potential civil sanctions and criminal penalties for contravening the insider dealing provisions, it is vitally important to take due care in every steps to be taken once insider dealing is allegedly to have taken place.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

  • advising clients on investigations and interviews by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC);
  • assisting clients with the handling of search warrants;
  • assisting clients to deal with issues relating to legal professional privilege;
  • advising and acting for clients in both civil and criminal proceedings commenced by the SFC; and
  • advising and acting for clients who are SFC licensees in disciplinary proceedings commenced by the SFC.

If you would like to know more about our commercial crime practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at criminal@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The CFA clarifies the ambit of the innocent purpose defence against allegation of insider dealing
Introduction In Securities and Futures Commission v Yiu Hoi Ying Charles and Others (FACV 5/2018, 12 October 2018), the Securities and Futures Commission (the “SFC”) appealed against the decision of the Market Misconduct Tribunal (the “MMT”) that two former senior executives (the “Respondents”) of Asia Telemedia Limited (“ATML”) (now known as Yunfeng Financial Group Limited) had not engaged in insider dealing. The Court of Final Appeal (the “CFA”), in a majority decision of 4 to 1, allowed the appeal and clarifies the ambit of the innocent purpose defence provided in Section 271(3) of the Securities & Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong). (“SFO”)
Section 300 of the SFO a way to prosecute insider dealings in shares listed overseas?
The Court of Final Appeal (“CFA”) has recently considered the proper construction of section 300 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571) (“SFO”) in Securities and Futures Commission v Young Bik Fung [2018] HKCFA 45.
Defending “Insider Dealing”
Introduction Within 12 months the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) suffered a setback in its relentless efforts to combat insider dealing. In two recent cases the Market Misconduct Tribunal (“MMT”) was not satisfied that insider dealing, as alleged by the SFC, had taken place in relation to the trading of the shares in Asia TeleMedia Limited (“ATML”) held on 26 November 2015 (the “Asia TeleMedia Case”) and the trading of the shares in Warderly International Holdings Limited (“Warderly”) held on 4 August 2016 (the “Warderly Shares Case”).
Back to top

更多

內幕交易

內幕交易的法律定義相當複雜,但概括而言,若任何人在買賣上市公司股份時掌握內幕消息,或關于該上市公司而不爲一般公衆所知、但假如爲公衆所知將影響該公司股價的消息,即構成內幕交易。由于違反內幕交易規定可導致嚴重的民事及刑事後果,一旦被指進行了內幕交易,就必須非常謹慎處理。

我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,爲客戶提供以下服務:

  • 就證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)調查及會面爲客戶提供意見;
  • 協助客戶處理搜查令;
  • 協助客戶處理關于法律專業保密權的事宜;
  • 在證監會提出的民事及刑事程序中爲客戶提供意見及代表客戶行事
  • 在證監會提出的紀律程序中爲證監會持牌人提供意見及代表他們行事。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的商業罪行業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 criminal@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

終審法院就內幕交易控罪澄清以無意獲利為抗辯理由的適用範圍
在Securities and Futures Commission v Yiu Hoi Ying Charles and Others(FACV 5/2018, 2018年10月12日)一案中,證券及期貨事務監察委員會就市場失當行為審裁處早前裁定亞洲電信媒體有限公司(現稱為雲鋒金融集團有限公司)兩名前高級行政人員並無進行內幕交易的裁決提出上訴。終審法院以四比一的大多數裁定上訴得直,並澄清《證券及期貨條例》(香港法例第571章)第271(3) 條下以無意獲利為抗辯理由的適用範圍。
《證券及期貨條例》第300條是否可用來檢控買賣海外上市證券的內幕交易?
最近在in Securities and Futures Commission v Young Bik Fung [2018] HKCFA 45一案中,終審法院審視了香港法例第571章《證券及期貨條例》第300條的正確解釋。
內幕交易的抗辯理由
簡介 證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)打擊內幕交易的工作在十二個月內一再受挫。在近期兩宗案件中,市場失當行為審裁處(「審裁處」)均裁定證監會所指的內幕交易不成立:一宗案件涉及亞洲電信媒體有限公司(「亞洲電信」)股份的買賣,於2015年11月26日審結(「亞洲電信案」),而另一宗案件則涉及匯多利國際控股有限公司(「匯多利」)股份的買賣,於2016年8月4日審結(「匯多利案」)。
Back to top