More

Insolvency & Restructuring

We have extensive experience in corporate and personal insolvencies and regularly act for liquidators and trustees in bankruptcy as well as creditors and other stakeholders.

We advise liquidators and provisional liquidators in the performance of their duties in both court compulsory winding-ups and voluntary liquidations.  Companies and creditors also seek our advice in insolvency or near-insolvency situations on winding-up procedures and options for debt restructuring.

Our work in Insolvency & Restructuring include:

  • advising creditors on their claims against a debtor company;
  • petitioning for winding up by creditors, shareholders or the company;
  • applying for receivership over the assets of companies;
  • applying for appointment of provisional liquidators;
  • acting for liquidators in investigations and actions to recover company assets, void dispositions and misfeasance proceedings;
  • advising companies and creditors in restructuring of insolvent companies; and
  • implementing schemes of arrangement and other corporate rescue plans.

If you would like to know more about our insolvency & restructuring practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at insolvency@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

 


Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner

Recommended Posts

Re Samson Paper Co Ltd: First application by Hong Kong liquidators for recognition and assistance in Mainland China
The Supreme People’s Court (the “SPC”) and the Secretary of Justice of Hong Kong signed the “Record of Meeting between the Supreme People’s Court and the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region on the Mutual Recognition of and Assistance to Bankruptcy (Insolvency) Proceedings between the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” (the “Cooperation Mechanism”) on 14 May 2021, which laid down a procedure for mutual recognition of insolvency processes and office holders by the Hong Kong Court and the Intermediate People’s Courts in the pilot areas, i.e. Shenzhen, Shanghai and Xiamen.
COVID-19 SPECIAL: For companies on the brink of insolvency, what directors should and should not do to avoid personal liability
While many businesses are bracing themselves for the economic slowdown, directors and members of the senior management of a company have to be mindful of their potential liability under various statutory provisions should the company go into liquidation. In general, directors and members of the senior management must bear in mind that the company has to pay its employees their wages. They could be held criminally responsible for the company’s failure of non-payment. Also, directors and members of the senior management must be careful not to fall foul of the law on fraudulent trading, unfair preference and undervalue transactions, which could result in them shouldering personal liability.
Application for appointment of provisional liquidators failed for the petitioner’s failure to show a good prima facie case for winding up
In the recent case of Chau Cheok Wa v CT Environmental Group Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2602, the Court of First Instance (“Court”) reiterated that for appointment of provisional liquidators pending determination of a winding-up petition, an applicant must establish that there is a good prima facie case for winding-up order at the hearing of the petition and it is right that a provisional liquidator should be appointed in light of the circumstances of the case.
Back to top

更多

清盤及重組

我們在處理公司清盤及個人破產事宜方面素有經驗,經常代表清盤人、破產受託人、債權人及其他持份者行事。

我們為清盤人及臨時清盤人提供法律意見,協助他們在法院強制清盤及自願清盤中履行責任。在債務人清盤或將近清盤的情況下,我們亦能為公司及債權人提供法律意見,協助他們了解清盤程序及債務重組方案。

我們在清盤及重組方面提供的服務包括:

  • 為債權人提供法律意見,協助他們對公司債務人追討債務;
  • 為債權人、股東或公司提出清盤呈請;
  • 申請接管公司資產;
  • 申請委任臨時清盤人;
  • 代表清盤人處理追討公司資產或申請宣布產權處置無效的調查及訴訟,以及失當行為的訴訟;
  • 就無力償債公司的重組事宜為公司及債權人提供法律意見;及
  • 實施債務償還安排及其他企業拯救計劃。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的清盤及重組業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至insolvency@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人

推薦文章

森信洋紙案:首例香港清盤人申請內地認可及協助
中國最高人民法院與香港律政司司長於2021年5月14日簽署《最高人民法院與香港特別行政區政府關於內地與香港特別行政區法院相互認可和協助破產程序的會談紀要》,當中訂明了香港法院與深圳、上海及廈門三個試點地區的中級人民法院相互認可破產的程序和人員安排的具體程序。最近在Re Samson Paper Co Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2151一案中,首次有香港申請人根據合作機制提出申請,並獲香港法院批准向內地法院發出請求函。
新型冠狀病毒疫症專題: 對於將近無力償債的公司,董事應如何避免招致個人法律責任?
面對經濟衰退,很多企業都咬緊牙關,盡力支撐。此時公司的董事及高層管理人員應注意,一旦公司清盤,他們在各項法例條文下的潛在法律責任。一般而言,董事及高層管理人員必須謹記,公司必須向僱員支付工資,否則他們須為公司欠薪而承擔刑事責任。此外,董事及高層管理人員必須小心避免不慎地觸犯欺詐營商、不公平優惠及遜價交易的法律,否則將招致個人法律責任。
ONC企業糾紛及清盤案例季報 - 2021年12月
(只提供英文版本)
Back to top