More

Corporate Governance & Employment Matters for foreign enterprises

Our China Practice team renders annual retainer services for clients in connection with their corporate governance and employment issues, advising clients on a full range of matters related to their daily operation. We conduct legal due diligence on the clients’ company history and current status before proposing a corporate governance plan in order to facilitate its future development, assisting clients in the implementation of relevant policies. Our services in corporate governance include:

  • conducting legal due diligence on corporate governance, and participating in the formulation of the company’s internal policies on environmental protection and health, anti-bribery or undue competition, and antitrust, and conducting regular trainings and supervision;
  • participating in the establishment of the company’s corporate governance system, including the relevant decision-making process, compliance risk control for commercial transactions, anti-corruption and anti-bribery regulations, and codes on criminal compliance. Besides, we also provide compliance advice on internal investigations, government investigations, crisis management, cybersecurity and data protection, antitrust, taxation and environmental protection, etc.; and
  • assisting in formulating a management system in respect of environment, health and safety, assisting companies in enhancing their skills and awareness in respect of their legal duties in environment, health and safety, minimizing and preventing incidents, and effectively managing the relevant risks and responsibilities, and advising on the environmental, health and safety approvals, licences and permissions required for the project.

We provide a full range of employment services from recruitment to termination of employment, including:

  • drafting, reviewing and revising employment contracts, training agreements, non-competition agreements, confidentiality agreements, employee handbooks, internal codes of conduct, and various types of HR agreements and documents;
  • advising on social insurance, commercial insurance and benefit schemes, employees’ protection, work injury and occupational diseases, anti-discrimination, personal data protection, etc.; advising on share incentive schemes and remuneration packages for senior management staff; assisting in applying for working visas and other procedures for residence for foreign employees;
  • participating in the collective negotiation between the client’s company and labour union, drafting, reviewing and revising collective contracts, and assisting clients in their communication or collective negotiation with labour union or staff members;
  • representing clients in the negotiation, arbitration and litigation in employment disputes; assisting clients in tackling difficult and unpredicted personnel incidents; assisting clients in resolving employment disputes in any part of China; advising companies on the handling of senior staff members who have been committed criminal act or corruption, etc.; and
  • assisting companies in determining staff deployment or transfer in the course of mergers and acquisitions, restructuring or liquidation; participating in the negotiation, drafting and review of relevant legal documents.

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The impact of the new PRC Civil Code on foreign nationals
On 28 May 2020, China’s first civil code (“Civil Code”) was passed at the third session of the 13th National People’s Congress and the third session of the 13th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. The Civil Code consists of 1260 articles in seven parts which include: (1) General Provisions, (2) Property Rights, (3) Contracts, (4) Personality Rights, (5) Marriage and Family, (6) Inheritance, (7) Torts, as well as the Supplementary Provisions. The Civil Code will take effect officially on 1 January 2021 and abolish simultaneously, among other laws in China, the General Principles of Civil Law, General Rules of the Civil Law, Property Law, Contract Law, Guarantee Law, Marriage Law, Inheritance Law and Tort Liability Law. This article shall focus on discussing, inter alia, the key implications of the Civil Code on foreign nationals particularly from the contract, tort liability and personality rights perspectives.
China adopts improved mechanism for the better handling of complaints from foreign investors
On 31 August 2020, the Ministry of Commerce of the PRC (“MOFCOM”) released the Rules on Handling Complaints of Foreign-Invested Enterprises (《外商投資企業投訴工作辦法》) (“Rules”), which came into effect on 1 October 2020. The Rules incorporated some important improvements on the complaint mechanism for foreign-invested enterprises (“FIEs”) first introduced by MOFCOM in 2006 under the Interim Measures of the Ministry of Commerce for the Work Relating to the Complaints of Foreign-funded Enterprises (《商務部外商投資企業投訴工作暫行辦法》)(“Interim Measures”). Effectively, the Rules are one of measures to implement the Foreign Investment Law (《中華人民共和國外商投資法》) (“FIL”) in which Article 26 expressly states that the State shall establish a complaint mechanism for FIEs, timely solve the problems reported by the FIEs and their investors, and coordinate, and improve relevant policy measures.
How can tech companies survive in China in light of recent US-China tensions?
Introduction For decades, foreign businesses have been keen to enter the Chinese market. While US businesses are bracing themselves for the possible impact of the recent Executive Orders on the ban of the mobile applications “TikTok” and “WeChat”, companies that wish to tap into the Chinese market should also understand the restrictions imposed by the PRC law.
Back to top

更多

外資公司合規與勞動關係

我們的中國律師為客人提供與公司合規與勞動關係的常年法律顧問服務,全方位為客戶提供各類與日常營運相關的法律意見。在為顧問單位提出公司治理結構設計方案之前,我們的律師會對公司的歷史及現狀進行法律調查,並公司未來的發展規劃進行,在此基礎上為顧問單位提出公司治理的方案,並輔助相關安排的落實。我們的的企業合規法律服務包括:

  • 進行企業管治法律合規調查,並參與企業內部環境保護與健康、反商業賄賂、反不正當競爭、反壟斷政策之制定,進行定時培訓與監督。
  • 參與企業合規制度體系之建設,包括參與制定有關決策程序設計、商業交易合規風險防控、反腐敗反商業賄賂法規、刑事合規之守則。另外亦就內部調查、政府調查、危機管控、網路安全與資料保護、反壟斷、稅務、環境保護等其他方面提供合規法律意見。
  • 協助制定與環境健康安全法規相關的管理體系,幫助企業提升環境健康安全法律責任相關的技能和意識,減少和預防事故,有效管理相關風險和責任。就專案涉及的各類環境健康安全相關的審批、證照和許可提供法律諮詢服務。
  • 我們為企業提供從員工招聘取錄到勞動關係解除的全方位服務,包括:
      • 起草、審查、修改勞動合同、培訓協定、競業限制協定、保密協定、員工手冊、公司內部規章制度等各類與人力資源管理相關的協議和文件;
      • 就社會保險、商業保險和各類福利計劃、勞動保護、工傷和職業病、反歧視、個人資訊保護等問題提供法律意見;就員工股權激勵計劃、高管薪酬問題提供諮詢意見;安排協助辦理外籍員工的工作簽證和其他就業居留手續;
      • 參加工會與集體協商,起草、審查、修改集體合同;説明客戶與工會或員工進行溝通和集體談判;
      • 在勞動糾紛中協助客戶進行談判、仲裁和訴訟;協助處理疑難及突發人事事件;在全國各大小城市協助客戶解決各類勞動爭議;為企業處理高級員工違法犯罪、腐敗等問題提供法律諮詢;
      • 協助企業設計在並購、重組或清算過程中的涉及的人員安置或人員轉移方案;參與談判,起草並審閱相關法律文件。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

新的《中華人民共和國民法典》對境外投資者的影響
2020年5月28日,第十三屆全國人民代表大會第三次會議及第十三屆中國人民政治協商會議全國委員會第三次會議通過中國首份民法典。《民法典》由1260項條文組成,分為以下7個部分:(1) 基本規定、(2) 物權、(3) 合同、(4) 人格權、(5) 婚姻家庭、(6) 繼承及(7) 侵權,另設附則。《民法典》將於2021年1月1日正式生效,並同時廢除(其中包括)《中華人民共和國民法通則》、《中華人民共和國民法總則》、《中華人民共和國物權法》、《中華人民共和國合同法》、《中華人民共和國擔保法》、《中華人民共和國婚姻法》、《中華人民共和國繼承法》及《中華人民共和國侵權責任法》。本文將集中探討《民法典》尤其在合同、侵權責任及人格權方面對境外投資者帶來的主要影響。
中國實施更妥善處理外國投資者投訴的新機制
2020年8月31日,中國商務部發布《外商投資企業投訴工作辦法》,於2020年10月1日生效。《投訴辦法》就商務部最初於2006年根據《商務部外商投資企業投訴工作暫行辦法》制定的外商投資企業投訴工作機制作出了若干重要改進。實際上,《投訴辦法》是實施《中華人民共和國外商投資法》的措施之一,《外商投資法》第26條明確訂明,「國家建立外商投資企業投訴工作機制,及時處理外商投資企業或者其投資者反映的問題,協調完善相關政策措施。」
科技公司如何在近期中美緊張局勢下進軍中國市場?
數十年來,外國企業一直渴望進入中國市場。在美國企業準備應對最近封殺手機應用程式「TikTok」及「微信」的行政命令可能造成影響的同時,有意進入中國市場的企業亦應了解中國法律施加的限制。
Back to top