More

Work & Residence Visas

The ability to conduct business internationally is essential for companies that wish to remain competitive in today’s increasingly complex and interconnected world.  Many business leaders are embracing a diverse workforce and adopting a bigger cast of international talents.  As such, recruiting internationally and arranging secondment opportunities for employees are becoming common practices in our modern economy and are considered valuable to both the employers’ organisational development of employers as well as employees’ personal development. 

We work closely with global employers, small and medium-sized enterprises, startups and employees to tackle legal, regulatory and commercial issues arising from the hiring or transfer process.  Our employment and immigration team is well-recognized for our expertise in immigration laws, visa policies and procedures.  We handle applications of work and residence visa in Hong Kong for corporate and individual clients across a wide array of industry sectors, and are particularly experienced in applying for employment visas under the General Employment Policy and other specific schemes, such as admission schemes for mainland professionals and technology talents.  We secure investment visas for Hong Kong startup companies and entrepreneurs, visas for employees’ families, and permanent residency for eligible applicants.  We also advise international companies on secondment arrangements and relocation of employees from the USA, Europe, Russia, Korea, and the PRC etc. to Hong Kong. 

Our professional services include:

  • advising employers and human resources managers on transferring employees to work in overseas jurisdictions;
  • advising on the appropriate visa types for respective applicants and relevant application procedures;
  • advising on the eligibility criteria, effect and consequences of various visas;
  • obtaining and applying for extension of work and residence visas for employees, their spouse and children;
  • incorporating new businesses and obtaining investment visas for entrepreneurs;
  • preparing application forms and supporting documents for visa applications to the Hong Kong Immigration Department;
  • liaising with and responding to enquiries and requisitions from the Hong Kong Immigration Department;
  • appealing against decisions of the Hong Kong Immigration Department in visa applications; and
  • handling and advising on other follow-up and related matters, such as reviewing letters of secondment and handling terminations of overseas employees.

If you would like to seek advice on work and residence visas, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at employment@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Who is the “employer” of a secondee?
It is not unusual for an employer to second its employee to work for another company within the same corporate group. Can the company to which the employee is seconded also become an “employer” and be liable for the employee’s employment entitlements? In the recent case of Yung Wai Tak Abraham William v Natural Dairy (NZ) Holdings Ltd [2020] HKCFI 2067, the Court of First Instance (“CFI”) held that, in appropriate circumstances, the court will hold a company to be the employer of the seconded employee even though there is no written employment contract between them.
The Court of Final Appeal’s ruling on the right to dependent visas for same-sex couples
In our October 2017 newsletter, we discussed the judgment of the Court of Appeal (the “CA”) in QT v Director of Immigration CACV 117/2016, where the decision of the Court of First Instance (the “CFI”) was reversed and the CA held that the Director of Immigration’s refusal to grant dependant visa to an expatriate in a same-sex marriage amounted to indirect discrimination on sexual orientation. The Director of Immigration subsequently lodged an appeal with the Court of Final Appeal (the “CFA”), but it was unanimously dismissed.
How much should an employer pay for headhunting services rendered in absence of a written contract?
Headhunting and recruitment services are common and popular in Hong Kong. Headhunters often receive a referral fee upon successful referral of employee to employer. Disputes can occur when there is an absence of a written contract between the headhunters and employers or when there is a misunderstanding of the calculation of referral fees. In Euro Search (Hong Kong) Ltd v Snow Lake Capital (HK) Ltd [2018] HKCU 668, the Court of First Instance (the “Court“) discussed whether an employer should pay for staff referral in absence of a written contract, and if so, how much should the employer pay, in the context of headhunting and recruitment service industry.
Back to top

更多

工作及居留簽証

現今世界日益複雜及相互聯繫漸趨緊密,企業如希望保持競爭力,則必須能夠在全球各地經營業務。不少企業領袖銳意建立多元化團隊,廣納各國人才。因此,在現代經濟體系中,招聘世界各地的人才以及為員工提供調職機會已是常見做法,而且對企業和僱員個人的發展有莫大裨益。

我們與世界各地的僱主、中小企、初創企業及僱員緊密合作,協助他們解決在招聘或調職過程中遇到的法律、監管及商業問題。本所的僱傭及移民部門具備入境法、簽證政策及程序的專業知識,深受業界認可。我們能為各行各業的公司及個人客戶處理在香港工作及居留的簽證申請,尤其擅於根據「一般就業政策」及其他特定計劃(例如輸入內地人才及科技專才計劃)申請僱傭工作簽證。我們曾為不少香港初創公司及企業的人員取得投資簽證、為僱員的家屬取得簽證,及為合資格的申請人取得永久居留權。此外,我們亦為國際企業提供法律意見,協助他們借調及遷移僱員由美國、歐洲、俄羅斯、韓國及中國等地來港。

我們提供的專業服務包括:

  • 為僱主及人力資源經理提供法律意見,協助他們安排僱員調任到海外;
  • 就適用於不同申請人的簽證類別及相關申請程序提供法律意見;
  • 就各類簽證的申請資格、作用及影響提供法律意見;
  • 為僱員、其配偶及子女取得及申請延長工作和居留簽證;
  • 為企業註冊成立新公司及取得投資簽證;
  • 為申請簽證的客戶準備申請表格及證明文件,以向香港入境事務處提交申請;
  • 與香港入境事務處聯絡,並回覆其提出的查詢及要求;
  • 就香港入境事務處的簽證申請決定提出上訴;及
  • 處理及跟進其他相關事宜,例如審閱借調協議及處理海外僱員的離職事宜,並提供法律意見。

如閣下希望就工作及居留簽證徵詢法律意見,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至employment@onc.hk聯絡我們。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

誰是被借調人員的「僱主」?
不少僱主也會調派僱員到同一集團的另一公司工作,那麼後者會否成為有關僱員的「僱主」並須對他們的僱傭權益負上法律責任?最近在 Yung Wai Tak Abraham William v Natural Dairy (NZ) Holdings Ltd [2020] HKCFI 2067 一案中,原訟法庭認為,在適當的情況下,就算沒有任何書面僱傭合約,法院仍會裁定借調僱員的公司為僱主。
終審法院就同性婚姻配偶享有的受養人簽證權利作出裁決
在2017年10月的通訊中,我們討論了上訴法庭(「上訴庭」)對QT v Director of Immigration CACV 117/2016一案的裁決。上訴庭在該案推翻了原訟法庭的判決,裁定入境事務處處長拒絕向一名外國同性婚姻者發出受養人簽證,構成對性取向的間接歧視。入境事務處處長其後向終審法院(「終院」)提出上訴,但終院法官一致裁定其敗訴。
在沒有書面合約的情況下,僱主應就獵頭公司的服務支付多少費用?
獵頭公司及招聘服務在香港十分普遍。一般而言,獵頭公司介紹的人選成功獲僱主取錄後,會收取介紹費。但假如獵頭公司與僱主沒有訂立書面合約,或雙方對於介紹費的計算方法有不同理解,便會產生爭議。 在Euro Search (Hong Kong) Ltd v Snow Lake Capital (HK) Ltd [2018] HKCU 668一案中,原訟法庭(「法庭」)探討了在獵頭及招聘行業中,假如沒有訂立書面協議,僱主是否應支付介紹費,如應支付,應支付多少。
Back to top