More

IP Commercial Advisory

We have seen corporations and businesses starting to realize and appreciate the importance of intellectual property, and how such assets have come to be a significant and indispensable part of their assets and business.

At ONC, we assist our clients with various commercial advisory works, such as the role and effect of IP rights in commercial activities such as corporate mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures, reorganizations etc. To assist our clients in developing their businesses, we advise and assist in preparing a wide range of IP related agreements. By proper registration and utilizing its functions, in combination with assignments, licenses, advertising agreements, technology transfer agreements, software development agreements etc., our clients can maintain, enhance and leverage on their position and interests in commercial negotiations and cooperation.

Examples of our work include:

  • preparing license agreements for a Hong Kong listed company in relation to its extensive trade mark portfolio in Hong Kong and PRC;
  • advising a reputable education company on its licensing of software in relation to conducting examinations; and
  • assisting a prominent Korean toy company on its IP portfolio management; and preparation of license agreements.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Heavy price for insufficient coverage? MUJI ordered to pay damages for trade mark infringement in China
The Japanese brand MUJI lost in a trade mark infringement case to a local Chinese company with an earlier registered mark which highly resembles the former’s well-known trade name. China’s Supreme People’s Court has ultimately ruled against MUJI in an appeal after the claims went on for close to a decade. On 4 November 2019, MUJI was ordered by the Beijing Municipal High People’s Court to pay damages of more than RMB 600,000 (USD 87,000) and publicly apologizing to the local company.
Who pays the costs of implementing a website-blocking order in the context of trade mark infringement?
As a follow up our previous articles, “Website Blocking Order – a Possible Remedy against Trade Mark Infringement on the Internet?“ and “English Court of Appeal Affirms Injunctions Against ISPs for Website Selling Counterfeits“, we now revisit the topic as the UK Supreme Court handed down its long-awaited judgement in Cartier International AG and others (Respondents) v British Telecommunications Plc and Another (Appellants) on 13 June 2018. The UK Supreme Court has overturned the decisions of the lower courts and unanimously ruled that the costs of implementing a website-blocking order in the context of trade mark infringement should be borne by the right-holders, i.e. trade mark proprietors instead of internet service providers (“ISPs”), which are considered as innocent intermediaries merely providing a network which has been abused by others.
How could your FinTech be protected by intellectual property laws in Hong Kong?
The FinTech industry is a highly competitive one driven by innovative ideas and it is essential to devise a comprehensive strategy to protect the products of your innovation and hard work from an early stage. If your FinTech product or service is rooted in ideas and innovation, have you ever think of – How and what extent could your FinTech be protected by Intellectual Property (“IP”) rights? If your business activities involve FinTech, you may need to consider whether and how your interests can be protected in the realm of IP law. In this article, we will start with exploring possible IP protection available to your FinTech, in particular patent protection, followed by protection by copyright for those not patentable parts. After which, protection for your company’s name or your FinTech product or service’s name under the trademark regime will be discussed. Finally, we will share some thoughts regarding possible protection for certain confidential information in relation to your trade, consisting of “know-how” and/or “skills”, which is not typically protected under the patent nor copyright regimes.
Back to top

更多

知識產權商業諮詢

許多公司和企業開始意識到知產權的重要性,明白知識產權為其資產及業務重要和不可缺少的部分。


本所為客戶提供各類商業諮詢,例如知識產權在企業併購、合資及重組等商業活動中如何發揮應有功能及作用和客戶的權益等。在協助客戶發展業務方面,我們能就草擬各類知識產權相關協議提供法律意見及支援,通過恰當註冊以及利用其功能,再加上轉讓協議、許可協議、廣告宣傳協議、技術轉讓協議及軟件開發協議等文件,維護、提高及發揮客戶商業談判或合作中的地位及權益


我們曾處理個案包括:

  • 為香港上市公司就其香港和內地的龐大知識產權組合草擬許可協議
  •  為著名教育機構就其考試軟件的授權事宜提供法律意見;及
  • 協助著名韓國玩具公司管理其知識產權組合,以及草擬許可協議。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

商標註冊範圍不足的代價沉重:無印良品商標侵權案敗訴被中國法院命令賠償
中國一家本地企業的在先註冊商標與日本品牌無印良品的著名商用名稱非常相似,前者就此提起商標侵權訴訟,無印良品被判敗訴。經過長達接近10年的官司,中國最高人民法院作出最終裁決,駁回無印良品的上訴。2019年11月4日,北京市高級人民法院命令無印良品向上述中國企業支付損害賠償超過人民幣600,000元(87,000美元)及公開道歉。
在侵犯商標案件中,實施網站封鎖令的費用由誰支付?
在2018年6月13日,英國最高法院終於就Cartier International AG and others (Respondents) v British Telecommunications Plc and Another (Appellants) 一案頒下裁決,我們繼先前的兩篇文章〈網站封鎖令是解決網上侵犯商標活動的可行辦法嗎?〉及〈英國上訴法院維持頒令網絡供應商封鎖冒牌貨網站〉,現在再次探討這個問題。英國最高法院推翻了下級法院的裁決,並一致裁定,在侵犯商標案件中,實施網站封鎖令的費用應由商標權持有人支付,即由商標擁有人而非網絡服務供應商支付,因為網絡供應商只是遭到他人濫用其提供的服務,故應被視為無辜的中介人。
你的金融科技是否獲得香港知識產權法的保障?
金融科技業是一個由創意帶動的高競爭行業,因此應制定全面策略,及早開始保護你的發明及作品。若你的金融科技產品或服務涉及創新及發明,你有否想過:金融科技如何及多大程度上受到知識產權保護?假如你的業務活動涉及金融科技,你或需考慮你的權益是否及如何受到知識產權法律的保護。在本文中,我們會先講解金融科技可享的知識產權保護(特別是專利保護),以及不受專利保護的金融科技可獲得的版權保護。然後,我們會探討公司名稱、金融科技產品或服務名稱在商標制度下享有的保護。最後,我們將就若干在專利或版權制度下一般不受保護的商業秘密資料(包括「技術訣竅」及/或「技巧」)提出一些想法。
Back to top