More

Real Estate Dispute & Litigation

We advise on the following areas of disputes arising from the property context: 

  • Building management issues and matters under the Building Management Ordinance;
  • Disposal issues surrounding the acquisition of commercial, residential and mixed-use real estate;
  • Landlord and tenant matters including break notice disputes, service charge claims, possession and forfeiture actions, dilapidations and lease renewal;
  • Neighbour disputes in relation to nuisance, breach of quiet enjoyment, boundary issues, restrictive covenants and easements;
  • Security of tenure including disputes surrounding contested and uncontested lease renewals;
  • Insolvency-related disputes concerning liquidation, administration and receivership of landlords, tenants, sub-tenants and third parties; and
  • Professional negligence concerning advice given by solicitors, valuers, professional agents and management companies.

We provide legal services to developers, purchasers, corporate investors, fund managers, public bodies, government agencies, enterprises, banks, financial institutions and individuals.

If you would like to know more about our real estate practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at property@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

COVID-19 tenancy termination and rent abatement issues
The World Health Organization classified the outbreak of COVID-19 as a pandemic on 11 March 2020. The Hong Kong Government has been implementing a series of control measures, including travel and border restrictions and compulsory quarantine for 14 days, to curtail the number of infections and combat the ongoing outbreak. As a consequence, business disruptions with a reduced need for office and shop spaces, and a significant and abrupt business slowdown affect a lot of business tenants in Hong Kong. The key issues for a business tenant to consider are whether in an outbreak a tenant can use that as a ground to early terminate the tenancy agreement or request for a rent abatement until the situation gets better. This article will focus on the application of force majeure clauses and the doctrine of frustration with regards to the possible early tenancy termination and rent abatements.
Can I Sue My Neighbour for Water Seepage?
Introduction Water leakage, which often originates from the flat above, is a common problem encountered by many occupiers of units in a multi-storey building and is often litigated in Hong Kong. In such case, the tort of nuisance plays a role in regulating the activities of one’s neighbours. In Tin Kin Ka Clara v Chan Koon Cheong & Hui Koon Chun Eleanor DCCJ 3139/2012 (the “Tin Kin Ka Clara”), parties involved at first solved the problems through the management office of the development (the “Management Office”) and the Buildings Department/Food and Environmental Hygiene Department Joint Office (the “Joint Office”) but eventually the plaintiff (“P”) resorted to commencing civil claims against the defendants (“Ds”).
How Do Ongoing Litigations against the Incorporated Owners Affect Sale of Your Property?
Introduction Under section 20(2)(a) of the Building Management Ordinance (Cap. 344) (“BMO”), an incorporated owners (“IO”) may establish and maintain a contingency fund to provide for any expenditure of an unexpected or urgent nature. Further, under section 21 of the BMO, the management committee of the IO has the power to determine the amount of contribution to be payable by the owners from time to time. The amount so payable by an owner is a debt due and payable from him to the IO. In Chi Kit Co Ltd v Lucky Health International Enterprise Ltd [2000] 2 HKLRD 503 (“Chi Kit”), the Court of Final Appeal held, inter alia, that the liability of a unit owner to meet a contribution to the funds maintained by the IO would constitute a defect in title if it was so extraordinary having regard to matters such as its nature or magnitude as to be wholly outside the contemplation of a reasonable purchaser. While liability could potentially be called for to meet a judgment in a substantial sum of $25.7 million (plus costs) entered against the IO in Chi Kit long before completion, it was held in two recent cases that the principle in Chi Kit is equally applicable to ongoing litigations and where much lesser amounts of damages and/or costs are claimed.
Back to top

更多

房地產糾紛及訴訟

我們就以下由於物業而引致的糾紛提供法律意見: 

·       《建築物管理條例》下的建築物管理事宜及事項;

·         有關收購商業、住宅及混合用途房地產的處置事宜;

·         業主與租客事宜,包括中斷租期通知糾紛、服務費申索、就管有及沒收物業提出的訴訟、物業失修及續租;

·         有關滋擾、違反安寧享用物業的權利、侵佔問題、限制性契諾及地役權的鄰舍糾紛;

·         租住權保障,包括有關具爭議及不具爭議續租的糾紛;

·         與無力償債有關的糾紛,例如業主、租客、分租客及第三方被清盤、破產管理及接管;及

·         專業疏忽,例如涉及律師、估值師、專業代理人及管理公司提供的意見


我們為發展商、買家、公司投資者、基金管理人、公營機構、政府代理人、企業、銀行、金融機構及個人提供法律服務。


如閣下希望進一步了解本所的房地產業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 property@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

肺炎疫情下終止租約及減租的可能性
世界衞生組織於2020年3月11日宣布將2019冠狀病毒列為全球大流行。香港政府實施了一系列防疫措施,包括旅遊及邊境管制,以及對入境人士強制檢疫14日,以減低感染人數和防止疫情持續爆發。香港不少商戶由於業務停滯而對辦公室及店鋪需求下降,加上生意銳減,經營大受影響。商業租客主要關注的問題是,他們能否以疫情為理由而提早終止租約,或要求減租直至疫情緩和。本文將探討租客可如何根據不可抗力條款及合同受挫失效原則要求提早終止租約和減租。
我可以控告鄰居單位滲水嗎?
簡介 在香港,不少多層大廈住戶都曾遇到單位滲水問題,而源頭往往是樓上的單位,有時雙方更要鬧上法庭。在此類情況下,法院主要是根據滋擾侵權(tort of nuisance)來規範鄰居的行為。 在Tin Kin Ka Clara v Chan Koon Cheong & Hui Koon Chun EleanorDCCJ 3139/2012一案中,雙方最初透過屋苑管理處(「管理處」)及屋宇署/食物環境衛生署聯合辦事處(「聯合辦事處」)解決問題,但原告人最終決定向被告人提出民事申索。
業主立案法團牽涉的訴訟未完,對你出售物業有何影響?
簡介 根據香港法例第344章《建築物條例》(「該條例」)第20(2)(a) 條,業主立案法團(「法團」)可設立並維持一項備用基金,以供用作任何屬未有預計或緊急性質的開支。而根據該條例第21條,法團的管理委員會有權釐定業主不時須向基金繳付的金額,此金額是業主到期應向法團支付的債務。 在Chi Kit Co Ltd v Lucky Health International Enterprise Ltd [2000] 2 HKLRD 503一案(「致傑案」)中,終審法院裁定,如果單位業主向法團維持的基金繳款的法律責任,在性質或程度等方面十分特殊,以致完全超過一名合理買家的預期,則該等法律責任將構成業權缺陷。 致傑案中的業主可能被要求作出的繳款,是涉及遠早於成交之前法團已被裁定須支付的2,570萬元巨額款項連同訟費;但近期兩宗案件裁定,致傑案中的原則同樣適用於未完結的訴訟及金額較低的損害賠償及/或訟費申索。
Back to top