More

Banking & Finance

The operation of banking and finance industry is highly globalized and integrated and is highly regulated both locally and internationally. For these reasons banks and financial institutions have specific needs for legal services. Our long experience in serving bank and financial institution clients enables us to understand such needs and provide efficient services tailor-made for our clients.

Our work include:

  1. Advice to banking and financial institutions in their application for banking and securities licences in Hong Kong.

  2. Advice to banking and financial institutions in their compliance with the Banking Ordinance (“BO”) and other subsidiary legislation under the BO, Supervisory Policy Manual (“SPM”) and Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (“AML Guideline”) issued by Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”), the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) and other subsidiary legislation under the SFO, Code of Conduct for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”), Fit and Proper Guideline issued by SFC, etc.

  3. Drafting documents for financing transactions including plain vanilla corporate loans, syndicated and club loans, building loans, interbank deposit placement, risk and funded sub-participation, secured loans, note issuing facility, acquisition loans, foreign exchange exposure limit, aircraft operating lease, ship finance, and structured finance.

  4. Preparing standard forms and commercial agreements for banks and securities houses.

  5. Devising product agreements for banking institutions and securities houses.

  6. Representing institutional clients in HKMA and SFC investigations.

  7. Debt restructuring.


Credentials of our lawyers in this area include:

  1. Preparing transaction documents in Chinese and English languages for banks and other financial institutions in over 290 plain vanilla corporate loans, syndicated and club loans, building loans, risk and funded sub-participation, secured loans, note issuing facility, foreign exchange exposure limit, aircraft operating lease, ship finance, interbank deposit placement, and structured finance transactions of about HK$390 billion. Jurisdictions involved in these transactions include China Mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Indonesia, India, Norway, Australia, Macau, Cayman Islands, Bermuda, BVI, etc. Industry coverage of the transactions include oil exploration, ocean oil Services, petrochemical, nuclear power, coal production, coal and power co-production, shipping, civil aviation, mobile communication, manufacturing, real estate investment and development, conglomerates, financial institutions, insurance, hedge fund, pharmacy, etc.

  2. Advising a licensed bank in entering into a US$50million note issuance facility secured by shares in an infrastructural facility company in an ASEAN country.

  3. Acting for a licensed bank in its HK$10 billion sub-participation of a portfolio of approximately 10,000 retail property mortgage loans to another licensed bank. The scope of work involves preparation of sub-participation agreement and title reports on the 20 largest property mortgage loans and on another 80 property mortgaged loans selected on random basis.

  4. Advising a licensed bank in its entering into an RMB 70 billion interbank deposit placement agreement for the placement of the deposit by it with another bank.

  5. Preparing facility agreements and security documents for a licensed bank in its giving various financing to institutional investors in investment in RQFII funds, and giving advice to the bank in the modification of placement memorandums and constituent documents of RQFII funds for protection of rights and interest of the bank, with aggregate amount of such financings of around HK$4 billion.

  6. Appointed by a PRC bank to act for a bank consortium in a syndicate loan for financing the PRC bank’s acquisition of a licensed bank incorporated in Hong Kong. After completion of the acquisition, giving advice on corporate governance of the acquired Hong Kong licensed bank on ongoing basis, advising on the share right issue of the acquired Hong Kong licensed bank (which includes drafting of offer document to the shareholders, convening and conducting board meeting and general meeting for approving the share right issue and on allotment of shares), and appointed by the PRC bank to act for a bank consortium in a club loan for financing the PRC bank’s subscription of the share right issue of the Hong Kong licensed bank.

  7. Preparing for an affiliate of a PRC state-owned asset management company real estate sub-mortgage agreement in its providing sub-mortgage financing to a money lender engaged in real estate mortgage financing in Hong Kong.

  8. Devising product agreements for licensed banks/affiliates of licensed banks, including product agreements of guarantee facilities, product agreement of currency swap deposit, and life insurance premium financing agreements.

  9. Preparing for licensed corporations product documentation such as OTC derivative master agreement, stock borrowing and lending agreement, broker custodian agreement, and investment management agreement.

  10. Advising a licensed corporation conducting type 9 (asset management) regulated activity pursuant to the SFO in the establishment of a segregated portfolio sub-fund in a Cayman Island segregated portfolio company.

  11. Advising one major China Mainland bank in its application to the HKMA for upgrading its representative office to branch office, and after the establishment of its branch office, reviewing its documents and agreements entered with the Hong Kong Association of Banks, preparing full set of standard forms and agreements, preparing and reviewing correspondent bank agreements, vostro account agreements, preparing confidentiality agreements, advising on correspondent bank trade finance service agreement, etc. spanning a period of about 2 years.

  12. Preparing standard forms and contracts in English and/or Chinese languages for another 2 PRC banks starting their branch operation in Hong Kong and 1 Taiwan bank in starting its wealth management and personal banking business in Hong Kong.

  13. Advising various licensed banks and corporations in applying for licences/registration for conducting types 1 (dealing in securities), 4 (advising on securities), 6(corporate finance), and 9(asset management) regulated activities from the SFC of Hong Kong.

  14. Advising authorized institutions and licensed corporations on regulatory compliance in relation to BO, SFO and their subsidiary legislation; SPM, AML Guideline; Code of Conduct for Persons licensed by or registered with the SFC, Fund Manager Code of Conduct, The Codes on Takeovers and Mergers and Share Buy-backs, Management, Supervision and Internal Control Guidelines for Persons Licensed by or Registered with the Securities and Futures Commission, Outline of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance - Disclosure of Interests issued by the SFC.

  15. Acting for a sovereign fund with assets under management to the equivalent of HK$1,000 billion in preparing securities brokerage service agreement and negotiating the same with 6 investment banks/brokerage houses from the PRC, the US and Japan.

  16. Incorporation of an affiliate company for conducting money lending business in Hong Kong for a licensed bank, applying for money lender licence, preparing loan agreement and mortgage over securities agreement template for the company in its conducting money lending business.

  17. Representing a bank executive in the investigation by HKMA in relation to compliance with fit and proper requirement under the BO and the SPM and preparing written submission for the bank executive to HKMA.

  18. Acting for a licensed bank and its officers in an investigation by HKMA under the BO and the AML Guideline, preparing written submission for the bank and assisting the bank officers in their interview by HKMA.

  19. Advising a licensed corporation conducting type 1 regulated activity (dealing in securities) pursuant to the SFO in its product compliance due diligence prior to launching 2 private funds for sale to institutional investors.

  20. Advising on debt-restructuring projects, including:

    (i) acting for various foreign invested enterprises in the PRC of the same group and the individual guarantors in the restructuring of borrowings totaling HK$164million owing by them to a consortium of 8 creditor banks in Hong Kong;

    (ii) devising a restructuring proposal of the indebtedness to the main suppliers for a listed group of companies which was in financial difficulties, submitting the same for the approval by the creditors’ steering committee, and preparing the debt restructuring agreement to be entered into by the members of the listed group with the main suppliers.

  21. Advising a licensed bank on uploading positive mortgage data of shell companies and their individual guarantors to credit database maintained by TransUnion Limited.

If you would like to know more about our banking & finance practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at cc@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Nelson Ho
Nelson Ho
Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Nelson Ho
Nelson Ho
Partner

Recommended Posts

ONC Lawyers published A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong
ONC Lawyers published A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong
Data privacy for banks and financial institutions
Personal data privacy is concern of paramount importance to banks and financial institutions (collectively as “Financial Institutions”) in Hong Kong as they manage a large volume of information about individuals in their day to day operations and breach of personal data privacy laws can result in dire financial and reputational consequences. With the acceleration of globalization and the advancement in technology, financial transactions can easily be conducted online without geographical limitation. Personal data are often collected, processed, transferred and stored in different countries. In this article, we will briefly discuss the implications of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap 486, Laws of Hong Kong)(“PDPO”), the European Union (“EU”) General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”), the Personal Information Protection Law (“PIPL”) of the People’s Republic of China (the “PRC”) which will be implemented from 1 November 2021, and the United States of America (“US”) Financial Modernization Act of 1999 (also known as the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (“GLBA”)) on the handling of personal data by Financial Institutions in Hong Kong.
Use of Term SOFR in the business loan market
On 29 July 2021, the US Alternative Reference Rates Committee (“ARRC”) announced that it formally recommended CME Group’s forward-looking Secured Overnight Financing Rate (“SOFR”) term rates (“CME Term SOFR Reference Rates” or “Term SOFR”) for adoption by market participants. This recommendation marks a milestone in the transition away from U.S. dollar (“USD”) London Interbank Offered Rate (“LIBOR”). In light of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) requirements that authorized institutions in Hong Kong shall cease entering into new LIBOR contracts after 31 December 2021 (the “HKMA Requirement”), this article will focus on discussing how Term SOFR can be applied as an alternative interest rate benchmarks in the business loan market. For further information on the transition away from LIBOR in general, please refer to our newsletter published in September 2020: “Transition away from LIBOR”.
Back to top

更多

銀行及金融

銀行及金融行業的運作不但高度全球化及高度整合,而且在本地及國際均受到嚴格規管。因此,銀行及金融機構對於法律服務有特別的需要。我們服務銀行及金融機構客戶的經驗豐富,深明客戶的需求,故此能為客戶提供度身訂造的高效服務。

我們的服務包括:

  1. 為在香港申請銀行及證券牌照的銀行及金融機構提供法律意見。

  2. 為銀行及金融機構提供法律意見,協助他們遵守《銀行業條例》及其附屬法例、香港金融管理局(「金管局」)刊發的《監管政策手冊》及《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》、《證券及期貨條例》及其附屬法例、證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)刊發的《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則》及《適當人選的指引》等。

  3. 為傳統企業貸款、銀團及俱樂部貸款、建築貸款、銀行間存款、風險參與及搭放、抵押貸款、票據發行融資、併購貸款、外匯交易信貸額度、飛機營運租賃、船舶融資及結構性融資等融資交易備擬文件。

  4. 為銀行及證券行編製標準表格及商業協議。

  5. 為銀行及證券行編製產品協議。

  6. 在金管局及證監會的調查中代表機構客戶。

  7. 債務重組。


我們的律師在此範疇曾經處理的案件包括:

  1. 在超過 290 宗交易中,為多家銀行及其他金融機構擬備中、英文交易文件,涉及的交易包括普通企業貸款、銀團及俱樂部貸款、建築貸款、風險參與及搭放、抵押貸款、票據發行融資、外匯交易信貸額度、飛機營運租賃、船舶融資、銀行間存款及結構性融資交易。這些交易合共總值約港幣3,900億元,涉及的司法管轄區包括中國內地、香港、新加坡、印尼、印度、挪威、澳洲、澳門、開曼群島、百慕達、英屬維爾京群島等,涵蓋的行業包括石油勘探、海洋石油服務、石化工業、核能、煤礦、採煤及發電聯動項目、航運、民航、流動通訊、製造業、房地產投資開發、綜合企業、金融機構、保險、對沖基金、醫藥等。

  2. 為一家持牌銀行就訂立以東盟國家基建公司的股份作抵押的美元5,000萬元票據發行融資提供法律意見。

  3. 代表一家持牌銀行,自其港幣100億元的同業搭放向另一持牌銀行約10,000項零售房地產按揭組合提供貸款。涉及的工作包括編製同業搭放協議,以及其中20宗最大額物業按揭貸款和另外80宗隨機挑選物業按揭貸款的業權報告。

  4. 為一家持牌銀行就其於另一家銀行的人民幣700億元存款訂立的銀行間存款協議提供法律意見。

  5. 為一家持牌銀行就其向投資於人民幣合格境外機構投資者(RQFII)基金的機構投資者提供的各項融資,編製融資協議及抵押文件;為該銀行就修訂RQFII基金的配售備忘錄及章程文件提供法律意見,以保障該銀行的權利及利益。上述融資合共總值約港幣40億元。

  6. 獲內地一家銀行委任代表一筆銀團貸款的貸款銀行,為該銀行提供資金收購一家在香港註冊成立的持牌銀行。於收購事項完成後,我們持續就該香港持牌銀行的企業管治提供法律意見,並協助其進行供股(包括擬備致股東的發售文件、召開和舉行董事會會議及股東大會,以審批供股及配發股份事宜),其後並獲該內地銀行委託代表貸款銀行處理一筆俱樂部貸款,為該內地銀行提供資金認購該香港持牌銀行的供股股份。

  7. 就內地一家國有資產管理公司的香港聯屬公司向香港一家從事房地產按揭融資的放債人提供次級按揭融資,為該聯屬公司編製房地產次級按揭協議。

  8. 為持牌銀行/持牌銀行的聯屬公司編製產品協議,包括開出保證憑信、貨幣掉期存款的產品協議,以及壽險保費融資協議。

  9. 為持牌法團編製產品文件,例如場外交易衍生工具主合同、股票借貸協議、經紀託管協議及投資管理協議。

  10. 為一家從事《證券及期貨條例》下第9類(資產管理)受規管業務的持牌法團就其在開曼群島一家獨立投資組合公司成立獨立投資組合子基金提供法律意見。

  11. 為內地一家大型銀行就其向金管局申請將其代表辦事處升級為分行提供法律意見,並在其分行成立後約2年的期間,審閱其與香港銀行公會訂立的文件及協議、編製全套標準表格及協議、編製及審閱代理銀行協議及來帳協議、編製保密協議、就代理銀行貿易融資協議提供法律意見。

  12. 為2家在香港新開設分行的內地銀行及1家在香港新增設財富管理及個人銀行業務的台灣銀行,編製中文及/或英文標準表格及合約。

  13. 為多家持牌銀行及公司就向香港證監會申請取得從事第1類(證券交易)、第4類(就證券提供意見)、第9類(企業融資)及第9類(資產管理)受規管業務的牌照/註冊提供法律意見。

  14. 為認可機構及持牌法團提供法律意見,協助他們遵守《銀行業條例》、《證券及期貨條例》及其附屬法例、《監管政策手冊》、《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》、證監會刊發的《證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人操守準則 》、《基金經理操守準則》、《公司收購、合併及股份回購守則》、《適用於證券及期貨事務監察委員會持牌人或註冊人的管理、監督及內部監控指引》及《證券及期貨條例》第XV部概要的權益披露。

  15. 為管理相當於港幣 1 萬億元資產的主權基金編製證券經紀服務協議,及代表該主權基金與6家內地、美國及日本投資銀行/證券行磋商證券經紀服務協議。

  16. 為一家持牌銀行註冊成立一家聯屬公司以在香港從事放債業務,並為該聯屬公司申請放債人牌照、編製貸款協議及按揭抵押協議範本,以供其從事放債業務。

  17. 在金管局根據《銀行業條例》及《監管政策手冊》的一般適當人選規定進行的合規調查中,代表一名銀行高級行政人員,並為其草擬向金管局提交的書面陳詞。

  18. 在金管局根據《銀行業條例》及《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引》進行的調查中,代表一家持牌銀行及其高級人員、為該銀行草擬書面陳詞,並在該等高級人員與金管局的會面中為其提供協助。

  19. 為一家從事《證券及期貨條例》下第1類(證券交易)受規管業務的持牌法團提供法律意見,協助其於推出2項以機構投資者為銷售對象的私人基金前進行產品合規盡職調查。

  20. 就多個債務重組項目提供法律意見,其中包括:

    (i)代表在內地隸屬同一集團的多家外資企業及個人擔保人,重組他們結欠由8家香港銀行組成的債權人團體合共港幣1.64億元的貸款;

    (ii) 為一家陷入財困的上市公司集團就其欠下主要供應商的債項制定重組方案、提交重組方案予債權人的督導委員會審批,以及編製該上市公司的集團成員與主要供應商訂立的債務重組協議。

  21. 就一家持牌銀行將空殼公司及其個人擔保人的正面按揭貸款資料上傳至環聯資訊有限公司管存的信貸資料庫為該銀行提供意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的銀行及金融業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 cc@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
何偉業
何偉業
合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
何偉業
何偉業
合夥人

推薦文章

柯伍陳律師事務所刊發《香港銀行及金融服務發牌簡明指南》
柯伍陳律師事務所刊發《香港銀行及金融服務發牌簡明指南》
銀行及金融業界須遵守的資料私隱法規
銀行及金融機構(統稱「金融機構」)在日常營運中需要管理大量個人資料,一旦違反個人資料私隱法例,可導致其財務及聲譽嚴重受損,因此保護個人資料私隱對金融機構來說至關重要。隨着全球化進程加速和科技進步,金融交易可以在網上輕易進行,不受地域限制,個人資料往往在不同國家收集、處理、轉移及儲存。在本文中,我們將簡要地探討多項本地及外地法例對香港金融機構處理個人資料的影響,包括:香港法例第486章《個人資料(私隱)條例》(《私隱條例》)、歐洲聯盟(「歐盟」)《通用數據保障條例》(《通用數據保障條例》)、將於2021年11月1日起實施的《中華人民共和國個人信息保護法》(《個人信息保護法》)及美國《1999年金融現代化法案》(又稱《格雷姆-里奇-比利雷法案》)(《金融現代化法案》)。
在商業貸款市場採用擔保隔夜融資期限利率(Term SOFR)
美國替代參考利率委員會(「ARRC」)於2021年7月29日宣布,已正式建議市場參與者採用芝加哥商品交易所集團(「CME」)的前瞻性擔保隔夜融資期限利率(「SOFR期限利率」)。這項建議標誌著美元倫敦銀行同業拆息(「LIBOR」)退場過渡的里程碑。由於香港金融管理局規定香港的認可機構在2021年12月31日後須停止訂立新的LIBOR合約,本文將探討如何在商業貸款市場使用SOFR期限利率作為替代利率基準。 有關LIBOR退場的過渡安排的一般資料,請參閱我們於2020年9月刊發的〈LIBOR將終止的過渡安排〉一文。
Back to top