More

Trade Marks

Hong Kong is known as the shopping paradise and a trend-setting city for fashions, luxury goods and technology gadgets. Consumers from mainland China and overseas come to Hong Kong to look for the newest release from the fashion brands and the most updated products in the industry. Consumers are confident in the products sold in Hong Kong being genuine products and sold at a reasonable price. It is therefore increasingly important for brand owners to take measures to ensure that their brand name is protected from being copied or used by third parties for unlawful reasons which may be detrimental to the reputation and value of the brand.

ONC’s Intellectual Property team offers strong trade mark services, ranging from trade mark clearance searches and registrability advice, planning and drafting application strategies, monitoring services, and trade mark portfolio management, which includes advising on application and registration, opposition, and revocation or cancellation proceedings.

  •     Trade Mark Search and Registration

We conduct trade mark searches for individuals and companies, which help identify whether a mark is identical or similar to any existing and registered marks in the relevant classes. This enables effective assessment on the chance of successful registration before an application is filed. 

  •     Trade Mark Application in Hong Kong and Worldwide

We are a member of the International Trademark Association (INTA) which shares an international network of IP lawyers. This enables us to provide and coordinate professional services in various jurisdictions. We are experienced in prosecuting Hong Kong and worldwide trade mark applications, including both conventional and unconventional trade marks such as slogan marks, certified marks and 3-D marks.  

  •     Representation of Clients in Opposition and Invalidation Hearings

Our ability to handle and represent clients in trade mark opposition and invalidation proceedings is widely acknowledged. We have successfully opposed and invalidated numerous trade mark registrations in Hong Kong, including many famous marks which were registered in bad faith.  

  •     Trade Mark Monitoring

Trade mark monitoring can help protect the ownership of the clients’ name or logo.  We will alert clients when any potentially similar application is filed, and our lawyers would also advise the best solution to tackle trade mark infringement activities in the markets. 

  •     Trade Mark Portfolio Management

We provide trade mark portfolio management service to ensure that our clients’ portfolios are in good order, i.e. correct ownership, registrations, renewals, recording assignments, monitoring and enforcement.  We always provide the best strategy to help our clients represent, maintain and protect their trade marks. 

  •     Trade Mark Enforcement, Dispute and Litigation

We represent clients in enforcement of their trade mark rights against any infringement. For example, we obtain court injunctions that require infringing companies to change their company names if they incorporate our clients’ registered trade marks. Trade mark infringement incurs both civil and criminal consequences. We further protect our clients’ marks by filing complaints to the Customs and Excise Department where necessary. 

  •     Trade Mark Squatting

Trade mark squatting is becoming more and more common in Hong Kong.  Squatters usually identify trade marks of rising brands in Europe and the US that have yet to become popular in Hong Kong, and register such marks with the aim of selling them back to the legitimate owners at high prices to make profit. Recently, well-known PRC marks have also become targets of trade mark squatters. Early registration of a trade mark by the brand owner is therefore the most effective way to protect it from trade mark squatting. 

  •     China Trade Marks

Our Intellectual Property Department offers a wide array of services in the PRC, including both contentious and non-contentious IP work.

We assist our clients in a wide array of IP services, including the registration, exploitation and protection of their intellectual property rights in copyright, trade marks, patents, registered designs, rights in confidential information and other related legal rights, brand management, IP transactions etc.

We also have experience assisting clients in filing administrative and civil complaints for trade mark infringement and passing off, liaising with relevant government authorities for conducting raid actions, and also assisting clients in obtaining recordation with the PRC customs, as well as assisting in customs actions. 

We represent some of the most world-renowned brands in various industries such as media/entertainment, luxury goods, high fashion, jewellery, electronics and consumables products etc., including brands that have been identified as the World’s Most Valuable Brands by Forbes and Interbrand. 

We value the trust our clients place in us, and assist all of our clients, be it local or international, to actively protect and defend their brand names.

Examples of our work include:

  • Advising a well-known PRC apparel brand on trade mark oppositions in the Asia-Pacific region;
  • Managing the worldwide portfolio of a well-known portfolio tobacco company, including applications and enforcement in over 80 countries and regions in the world;
  • Managing the trade mark portfolio of a globally renowned Hong Kong actor and director, including trade mark clearance, prosecution and enforcement in Hong Kong and PRC;
  • Advising a Chinese multinational technology company on trade mark clearance and providing advice on trade mark portfolio management strategy;
  • Managing the trade mark portfolio of two Hong Kong real estate agencies, including advising on trade mark protection, applications and oppositions;
  • Advised a subsidiary of a London-based multinational insurance company regarding trade mark and copyright-related matters in multiple jurisdictions;
  • Advised a multinational fashion and accessories manufacturer of French origin in trade mark, patent, design and copyright-related matters in Hong Kong and China;
  • Filed and prosecuted trade marks on a global basis for a French fashion brand;
  • Acted for a French fashion brand in opposing and cancelling over 100 trade marks in China and Hong Kong;
  • Acted for a French fashion brand in trade mark enforcement, filing name complaints with the Companies Registry, and obtaining court judgments against over 50 Hong Kong companies with infringing names;
  • Acted for numerous international fashion, jewelry and accessories brands in opposing, revoking and invalidating trade marks in Hong Kong;
  • Filed and prosecuted trade marks for the largest Hong Kong courier company with business in China and South East Asia
  • Acted for the world’s largest power-tool company in opposing trade marks in China;
  • Filed and prosecuted trade marks for the world’s largest smart phone company and another leading smart phone company in the Greater China Region;
  • Assisted the world’s largest multinational power tool company in enforcing patent and trade mark rights, successfully stopped patent infringement in China;
  • Acted for numerous PRC companies listed in Hong Kong and/or China, including state-owned and private enterprises, in opposing, revoking and invalidating trade marks in Hong Kong, filing name complaints with the Companies Registry, and obtaining court judgments against Hong Kong companies with infringing names;
  • Acted for numerous Hong Kong and foreign listed companies in filing and prosecuting trade mark applications;
  • Acted for a Bordeaux Premier Grand Cru awardee wine estate in opposing, revoking and invalidating trade marks in Hong Kong, filing name complaints with the Companies Registry, and obtaining court judgment against Hong Kong companies with infringing names;
  • Acted for a Hong Kong-listed leading provider of financial information services and money lender, in opposing and cancelling trade marks in China;
  • Advised listing applicants on trade mark-related matters in initial public offerings on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and pre-IPO re-organisations; and
  • Advised a major statutory body in Hong Kong from time to time in trade mark and copyright-related matters in Hong Kong and in its co-operation with overseas business partners.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Under what circumstances will selling genuine goods be treated as trade mark infringement?
In Mary Kay Inc & Ors v 浙江天猫网络有限公司 (Zhejiang Tmall Network Co Ltd) & Ors [2021] HKCFI 1403, the defendants sourced genuine goods from the plaintiffs and sold such goods to third parties. However, the defendants removed the production codes on the packaging before selling the goods. The Court of First Instance held that the defendants were not liable for trade mark infringement. This article explains the reason for the finding above and discusses the relevant intellectual property issues raised in this case.
A glimpse of hearing at the Trade Marks Registry
Whilst trade mark infringement and passing-off are common areas of dispute in the courts in Hong Kong these days, contentious matters arising from or in connection with trade mark registration, such as opposition to registration, request for a declaration of invalidity in respect of a registered trade mark which did not qualify for registration and should have been refused in the first place, or request for revocation of a registered trade mark, etc., appear to be increasingly popular. In view of the above, this newsletter highlights the common major procedural issues in relation to conducting a hearing at the Trade Marks Registry (the “TMR”) which should not be overlooked.
Heavy price for insufficient coverage? MUJI ordered to pay damages for trade mark infringement in China
The Japanese brand MUJI lost in a trade mark infringement case to a local Chinese company with an earlier registered mark which highly resembles the former’s well-known trade name. China’s Supreme People’s Court has ultimately ruled against MUJI in an appeal after the claims went on for close to a decade. On 4 November 2019, MUJI was ordered by the Beijing Municipal High People’s Court to pay damages of more than RMB 600,000 (USD 87,000) and publicly apologizing to the local company.
Back to top

更多

商標

香港素有購物天堂之稱,無論時裝、奢侈品或科技產品,均走在潮流尖端,吸引內地和世界各地的旅客前來選購最新的服飾和產品。香港的商戶銷售正版貨品,價錢合理,也是消費者的信心保證。因此,對於品牌擁有人來說,為了確保他們的品不會被第三方非法複製或盜用,繼而可能損害品牌的聲及價值,採取保護措施越來越重要

本所的知產權團隊實力雄厚,能為客戶提供各類商標服務,例如進行商標檢索及提供可註冊性建議、及草擬申請策略、監察商標權利以及管理商標組合,當中包括就申請及註冊商標、反對、撤回或撤銷侵權商標的法律程序提供法律意見。


  • 商標檢索及註冊

我們會為個人及公司客戶進行商標檢索,以確定某個商標在有關類別是否與任何現有註冊商標相同或相似,從而在提出商標註冊申請之前有效評估成功機會。 

 

·    在香港及世界各地申請商標註冊

本所是國際商標協會(International Trademark Association, INTA)會員,擁有廣泛的國際知識產權律師網絡,能在不同司法管轄區提供專業服務。我們在香港及世界各地辦理商標申請素有經驗,包括申請傳統商標,以及標語商標、認證標誌及立體標誌等非傳統商標。  

 

·    代辦反對及無效宣告程序

們能代表客戶妥善處理及出席反對侵權商標及無效宣告的程序,過去亦曾成功地為許多客戶反對在香港惡意註冊的著名商標及宣告該等侵權商標無效

 

·    監察商標

監察商標有助保護客戶的名稱或標誌的擁有權。當有人提出可能相似的商標申請,本所的律師便會提醒客戶,並向客戶建議最佳的解決方法,以處理市場上的商標侵權行為。

 

·    商標組合管理

我們能為客戶提供商標組合管理服務,以確保客戶的商標組合獲妥當的管理──正確的擁有權、註冊、續期、轉讓紀錄、監察及執行。我們會為客戶提供最佳策略,以協助客戶表述、維持及保護其商標

 

·    商標的執行、爭議及訴訟

我們能代表客戶執行其商標的權利,以阻止任何侵權行為。例如,假如某公司的名稱包含客戶的註冊商標,我們可為客戶申請法庭禁制令,要求侵權的公司更改公司名稱。商標侵權不但可循民事途徑追究,亦可訴諸刑事制裁。在有需要的情況下,我們亦會向海關提出投訴,以保護客戶的商標

 

·   搶註商標

搶註商標在香港越來越常見,搶註者通常會留意正在歐美等地興起、但尚未在香港流行的品牌,而搶先註冊該等商標,然後以離譜的高價格售予品牌名稱的真正擁有人牟利。事實上,近年內地的著名品牌也開始成為搶註對象。品牌擁有人要保護其商標不被搶註,最有效的方法就是及時註冊其商標。

 

·   中國商標

我們的知識產權部門在內地提供的服務範圍廣泛,包括處理各類爭訟性及非爭訟性知識產權事宜

 

我們為客戶提供的知識產權服務範圍十分廣泛,包括:協助客戶註冊、應用及保障他們在版權、商標、專利、註冊外觀設計中的知識產權、資料保密權利及其他關的法律權利、品牌管理及知識產權交易等。

 

我們亦曾協助客戶就商標侵權和假冒行為提出行政及民事申訴聯絡相關政府部門要求進行突擊搜查向中國海關備案以及應對海關搜查在有關事宜擁有豐富經驗。

 

我們的客戶包括傳媒娛樂、奢侈品、名牌時裝、珠寶、電子及消耗品等行業的國際知名品牌,部分更是名列《福布斯Interbrand全球百大品牌的企業。

 

我們重視客戶對我們的信任,並會竭力協助本地以至世界各地的客戶保護及捍品牌名稱。

 

我們曾處理個案包括:

  • 為一家著名內地服裝品牌就其在亞太地區提出反對商標註冊一事提供法律意見;
  • 為一家著名煙草公司管理其全球商標組合,包括在超過80個國家與地區申請商標及執行商標權利
  • 為一名世界著名的香港男演員兼導演管理商標組合,包括在香港和內地進行商標檢索、處理商標申請及執行商標權利
  • 為內地一家跨國技術公司就商標檢索提供法律意見,以及就商標組合管理策略提供建議;
  • 為兩家香港地產代理管理商標組合,包括就商標保護、申請及反對事宜提供法律意見;
  • 為一家總部位於倫敦的跨國保險公司的附屬公司就多國商標和版權相關事宜提供法律意見;
  • 為一家來自法國的跨國時裝及配飾製造商就香港及中國的商標、專利、外觀設計及版權相關事宜提供法律意見;
  • 代表法國一家時裝品牌在全球各地申請及處理商標事宜;
  • 代表法國一家時裝品牌在中國及香港反對及撤銷超過100個侵權商標;
  • 代表法國一家時裝品牌執行商標權利,向公司註冊處投訴超過50家香港公司的名稱侵權,並獲法院裁定勝訴;
  • 代表多家國際時裝、珠寶及配飾品牌,申請反對、撤銷或宣告香港的侵權商標無效;
  • 為香港最大並在中國及東南亞設有業務的快遞公司申請及處理商標事宜;
  • 代表全球最大的電動工具公司在中國提出反對侵權商標程序;
  • 為全球最大的智能手機公司及大中華地區另一家領先的智能手機公司申請及處理商標事宜;
  • 協助全球最大的跨國電動工具公司執行專利及商標權利,成功在中國阻止侵犯專利的行為;
  • 代表多家在香港及/或中國內地上市的國企及民營企業,申請反對、撤銷或宣告香港的侵權商標無效,向公司註冊處投訴有關香港公司的名稱侵權,並獲法院裁定勝訴;
  • 為多家香港及外國上市公司提交及處理商標申請;
  • 代表一家波爾多列級葡萄酒莊園申請反對、撤銷或宣告香港的侵權商標無效,向公司註冊處投訴有關香港公司的名稱侵權,並獲法院裁定勝訴;
  • 代表一家在香港上市的大型金融資訊服務供應商及放債人,申請反對及撤銷中國的侵權商標;
  • 為在香港聯合交易所申請首次公開發行的上市申請人就商標相關事宜及上市前重組提供法律意見;
  • 不時為香港一家主要法定機構就其在香港及與海外業務夥伴合作時涉及的商標及版權相關事宜,提供法律意見

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

在甚麼情況下銷售正牌貨品會被視為侵犯商標?
在Mary Kay Inc & Ors v 浙江天猫网络有限公司 (Zhejiang Tmall Network Co Ltd) & Ors [2021] HKCFI 1403一案中,被告人向原告人採購正牌貨品,並將該等貨品出售予第三方。然而,被告人在出售貨品前移除了包裝上的生產編號。香港原訟法庭裁定,被告人並無侵犯商標。本文將解釋了上述裁決的原因,並探討與本案有關的知識產權問題。
認識商標註冊處的聆訊
雖然現時香港法院較常見的知識產權爭議是侵犯商標和假冒,但與商標註冊有關的爭訟事宜似乎亦與日俱增,例如反對商標註冊、要求將不符註冊資格並且本應被拒註冊的已註冊商標宣告無效、及要求撤銷已註冊商標等。有鑑於此,本文將概述關於在商標註冊處進行聆訊的一些不容忽視的常見主要程序。
商標註冊範圍不足的代價沉重:無印良品商標侵權案敗訴被中國法院命令賠償
中國一家本地企業的在先註冊商標與日本品牌無印良品的著名商用名稱非常相似,前者就此提起商標侵權訴訟,無印良品被判敗訴。經過長達接近10年的官司,中國最高人民法院作出最終裁決,駁回無印良品的上訴。2019年11月4日,北京市高級人民法院命令無印良品向上述中國企業支付損害賠償超過人民幣600,000元(87,000美元)及公開道歉。
Back to top