More

Corporate Insolvency & Restructuring

Our work for insolvency practitioners and appointment takers include obtaining orders for examination of former directors and other court directions for investigations into the company’s affairs and recovery of assets.

 

For administration of the company’s liquidation, we have advised liquidators in adjudication of creditor claims and have acted for creditors to appeal decisions of the liquidator.  We also advise and assist liquidators in relation to third party funding, taxation matters and applications to exercise powers requiring court sanction.

 

We have also assisted stakeholders to stay the winding-up of a company to facilitate corporate rescue (white knight) to revive the company.

 

If you would like to know more about our insolvency & restructuring practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at insolvency@onc.hk.

 

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Transfer of business and insolvency
Under section 3 of the Transfer of Business (Protection of Creditors) Ordinance (Cap. 49) (“TBO”), the transferee of a business will assume all the liability of the business transferred to him. The TBO aims to prevent fraudulent transfer of businesses which may leave creditors without any assets to satisfy their claims. Under such circumstance, to what extent is it legally possible to wind up an existing business and start a new business (the “New Business”) similar to the old one (the “Old Business”) without triggering the TBO?
Winding up a BVI company: Even if the Court has powers over directors resident in Hong Kong, the 2nd core requirement may still not be satisfied
In the recent case of Re Grand Peace Group Holdings Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2361, which concerns the winding-up of a foreign incorporated listed company, the Court of First Instance revisited the 2nd core requirement and considered whether the possibility of the court making an order to compel the directors of the company to execute the documents necessary for the liquidators to take control of the company’s BVI subsidiaries would be sufficient to be considered as a real possibility of benefit to the petitioner.
A Company Incorporated in Bermuda with Assets in Hong Kong May Appoint Provisional Liquidators in Bermuda for Restructuring Purposes
Following the Court of Appeal’s decision in Re Legend International Resorts Ltd [2006] 2 HKLRD 192, it is well established in Hong Kong that the appointment of provisional liquidators under section 193 of the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (Chapter 32 of the Laws of Hong Kong) (the “CWUMPO”) to restructure a company is not allowed. This presented difficulty to provisional liquidators who consider that restructuring, rather than winding up a company, would be more advantageous to the creditors. However, for companies incorporated outside Hong Kong, a solution may have presented itself on 21 February 2017 when the Supreme Court in Bermuda (the “Supreme Court”) handed down its judgment in In the matter of Z-Obee Holdings Limited and in the matter of the Companies Act 1981 [2017] SC (Bda) 16 Com, which indicates that companies in Hong Kong incorporated in Bermuda can avoid being caught by Legend by appointing provisional liquidators in Bermuda for restructuring purposes.
Back to top

更多

公司清盤及重組

我們在處理公司清盤及個人破產事宜方面素有經驗,經常代表清盤人、破產受託人、債權人及其他持份者行事。


我們為清盤人及臨時清盤人提供法律意見,協助他們在法院強制清盤及自願清盤中履行責任。在債務人清盤或將近清盤的情況下,我們亦能為公司及債權人提供法律意見,協助他們了解清盤程序及債務重組方案。


我們在清盤及重組方面提供的服務包括:

  • 為債權人提供法律意見,協助他們對公司債務人追討債務
  • 為債權人、股東或公司提出清盤呈請
  • 申請接管公司資產
  • 申請委任臨時清盤人
  • 代表清盤人處理追討公司資產或申請宣布產權處置無效的調查及訴訟,以及失當行為的訴訟
  • 就無力償債公司的重組事宜為公司及債權人提供法律意見
  • 實施債務償還安排及其他企業拯救計劃

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的清盤及重組業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至insolvency@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

業務轉讓與清盤
根據香港法例第49章《業務轉讓(債權人保障)條例》(「該條例」)第3條,在業務轉讓中,承讓人須承擔其承讓業務的所有債務。該條例旨在防止任何人透過欺詐手段轉讓業務,淘空資產,以致債權人無法了結其申索。企業可在甚麼情況下合法地結束原有業務,並展開與舊業務(「舊業務」)類似的新業務(「新業務」)而不受該條例規限呢?
BVI公司清盤:即使法院可對居於香港的董事行使司法管轄權, 仍未必符合第二項核心要求
在最近的Re Grand Peace Group Holdings Ltd [2021] HKCFI 2361一案中,原訟法庭再次探討將一間在外國註冊的上市公司清盤的第二項核心要求,並審視了法院發出命令強制公司董事簽署清盤人接管公司的BVI附屬公司所需文件的可能性,是否足以被視為對申請人有利的真正可能性。
在香港有資產的百慕達註冊公司 可在百慕達委任臨時清盤人進行重組
根據上訴法庭在Re Legend International Resorts Ltd [2006] 2 HKLRD 19一案中的裁決,香港法律已充分確立:不允許根據《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》(香港法例第32章)第193條委任臨時清盤人重組公司。對於認為公司重組比清盤更有利於債權人的臨時清盤人來說,這個限制造成了困難。不過,對於在香港境外註冊的公司,百慕達最高法院於2017年2月21日在In the matter of Z-Obee Holdings Limited and in the matter of the Companies Act 1981 [2017] SC (Bda) 16 Com一案的判決可能是一個解決方案。該案的裁決指出,在百慕達註冊的香港公司可委任百慕達臨時清盤人進行重組,這樣便可避免違反Legend的限制。
Back to top