More

Foreign Investment

ONC Lawyers has been proactively assisting foreign companies in investing in the PRC. We have advised numerous foreign companies and provided legal support in their operation in the PRC market. Our China Practice lawyers are well versed in the PRC foreign investment law, with strong legal knowledge and practical experience in assisting clients in investing in complicated areas. We offer a wide range of comprehensive legal consultation services for foreign companies. We provide professional, straightforward and effective solutions that are designed to meet our clients’ business needs and help them to achieve their goals in a complex and regionalised business environment. Our foreign investment services include:

  • providing “one-stop” services from the establishment of company to share transfer, mergers and acquisitions and consultation of industry access policy;
  • participating in clients’ sino-foreign joint venture negotiations, drafting and advising on key contract terms, details of settlement, dispute resolutions, and the guarantee, incentive and exit mechanisms and other essential matters for transactions;
  • assisting clients in the early stage of operation of their foreign company by liaising with relevant government authorities in relation to market access, import and export examination, administrative approval, local supportive policies, etc.;
  • providing localization and compliance consultation and legal services related to daily operation, such as corporate governance, contract management, environment, health and safety, employment relationship and intellectual property protection, etc.;
  • representing clients in legal proceedings, and dealing with internal and external disputes over intellectual property rights, employment and commercial matters;
  • advising clients on cross-border financing, tax planning, foreign debts and foreign exchange control matters; and
  • assisting foreign companies in the sale, reconstruction, liquidation and bankruptcy of their PRC business.

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The impact of the new PRC Civil Code on foreign nationals
On 28 May 2020, China’s first civil code (“Civil Code”) was passed at the third session of the 13th National People’s Congress and the third session of the 13th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. The Civil Code consists of 1260 articles in seven parts which include: (1) General Provisions, (2) Property Rights, (3) Contracts, (4) Personality Rights, (5) Marriage and Family, (6) Inheritance, (7) Torts, as well as the Supplementary Provisions. The Civil Code will take effect officially on 1 January 2021 and abolish simultaneously, among other laws in China, the General Principles of Civil Law, General Rules of the Civil Law, Property Law, Contract Law, Guarantee Law, Marriage Law, Inheritance Law and Tort Liability Law. This article shall focus on discussing, inter alia, the key implications of the Civil Code on foreign nationals particularly from the contract, tort liability and personality rights perspectives.
China’s New Cybersecurity Law and Its Impact on Doing Business in China
China’s new cybersecurity law came into effect on 1 June 2017. The new law promotes two key objectives: protect China against cyberattacks, and protect the rights and interests of Chinese citizens from cyberattacks and the misuse of personal information. The new law not only has a comprehensive framework on cybersecurity but also gives privacy protection to Chinese citizens. A number of legal measures that relate to cybersecurity also came into effect on 1 June 2017. On 11 April 2017, the Cyberspace Administration of China (“CAC”) released a draft (“Draft”) Measures for Security Assessment of Outbound Transmission of Personal Information and Important Data (“Local Data”) to solicit public comments. The consultation has ended and it is expected that the finalized measure for security assessment of outbound transmission of Local Data will be issued soon.
China adopts improved mechanism for the better handling of complaints from foreign investors
On 31 August 2020, the Ministry of Commerce of the PRC (“MOFCOM”) released the Rules on Handling Complaints of Foreign-Invested Enterprises (《外商投資企業投訴工作辦法》) (“Rules”), which came into effect on 1 October 2020. The Rules incorporated some important improvements on the complaint mechanism for foreign-invested enterprises (“FIEs”) first introduced by MOFCOM in 2006 under the Interim Measures of the Ministry of Commerce for the Work Relating to the Complaints of Foreign-funded Enterprises (《商務部外商投資企業投訴工作暫行辦法》)(“Interim Measures”). Effectively, the Rules are one of measures to implement the Foreign Investment Law (《中華人民共和國外商投資法》) (“FIL”) in which Article 26 expressly states that the State shall establish a complaint mechanism for FIEs, timely solve the problems reported by the FIEs and their investors, and coordinate, and improve relevant policy measures.
Back to top

更多

外商投資

我們一向積極參與外商在中國內地的投資活動,曾為無數外商投資企業提供法律服務,亦為其進入市場後的經營活動提供法律支援。我們的中國律師熟悉外商投資法律,有著深厚法律專業知識和協助投資者在複雜領域投資的實踐經驗。我們提供多方面、全方位的外商投資法律顧問服務,在複雜多變以及相對區域化的經營環境中,為客戶提供專業、簡單直接及有效的解決方案,滿足客戶的商業需求,協助客戶達成目標。我們在外商投資領域提供的法律服務包括:

  • 就公司設立、股權轉讓、收購合併,以至產業准入政策諮詢等事宜提供“一條龍”服務;
  • 參與客戶在中外合資與合作項目中的談判、就關鍵條款的處理、交割安排、爭端解決辦法,交易保證、合作激勵機制、與退出安排等重要事宜上起草法律文件及提供法律意見;
  • 協助客戶就外商投資的初期經營在市場准入、進出口商檢、行政許可、地區扶持政策等範疇與相關政府主管部門進行溝通洽談;
  • 提供企業運營本地化及合規管理諮詢、提供公司治理、合同管理、環境健康與保護、勞動關係、知識產權保護等日常營運相關的法律服務;
  • 代表當事人參與法律程序,處理企業內外的知識產權、解決勞資糾紛和商業爭議;
  • 協助客戶在跨境融資、稅務籌劃、外債與外匯管制諮詢等領域中提供相關建議;及
  • 跟進外資企業進行其中國業務之出售、重組、清算與破產事宜。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

新的《中華人民共和國民法典》對境外投資者的影響
2020年5月28日,第十三屆全國人民代表大會第三次會議及第十三屆中國人民政治協商會議全國委員會第三次會議通過中國首份民法典。《民法典》由1260項條文組成,分為以下7個部分:(1) 基本規定、(2) 物權、(3) 合同、(4) 人格權、(5) 婚姻家庭、(6) 繼承及(7) 侵權,另設附則。《民法典》將於2021年1月1日正式生效,並同時廢除(其中包括)《中華人民共和國民法通則》、《中華人民共和國民法總則》、《中華人民共和國物權法》、《中華人民共和國合同法》、《中華人民共和國擔保法》、《中華人民共和國婚姻法》、《中華人民共和國繼承法》及《中華人民共和國侵權責任法》。本文將集中探討《民法典》尤其在合同、侵權責任及人格權方面對境外投資者帶來的主要影響。
新的中國《網絡安全法》對在中國營商的影響
新的中國《網絡安全法》已於2017年6月1日生效,新法例有兩大目標:防止中國受到網絡攻擊,及保障中國人民的權利及權益,防止受到網絡攻擊及個人資料被濫用。 新法例不但為網絡安全制定完善的框架,而且保障中國人民的私隱。多項關於網絡安全的法律措施亦已於2017年6月1日生效。2017年4月11日,國家互聯網信息辦公室發表了《個人信息和重要數據出境安全評估辦法》草稿,諮詢公眾意見,諮詢期現已結束,預計個人信息和重要數據出境安全評估的最終辦法快將公布。
中國實施更妥善處理外國投資者投訴的新機制
2020年8月31日,中國商務部發布《外商投資企業投訴工作辦法》,於2020年10月1日生效。《投訴辦法》就商務部最初於2006年根據《商務部外商投資企業投訴工作暫行辦法》制定的外商投資企業投訴工作機制作出了若干重要改進。實際上,《投訴辦法》是實施《中華人民共和國外商投資法》的措施之一,《外商投資法》第26條明確訂明,「國家建立外商投資企業投訴工作機制,及時處理外商投資企業或者其投資者反映的問題,協調完善相關政策措施。」
Back to top