More

Dispute Resolution in China

Wherever legal disputes arise in the PRC, we will strive to ensure that our clients are offered legal services of the highest quality. We not only provide constructive and practical proposals for clients to prevent disputes, but also formulate countermeasures and solutions for litigations or arbitrations on a case-by-case basis.

We represent clients in all kinds of legal proceedings, including pre-litigation investigations, evidence taking, assets preservation, commencement of litigation or arbitration proceedings, applying for enforcement, etc. With years of experience in dispute resolution, including playing important roles in a number of complicated PRC-related landmark cases, we have become one of the most preferred law firms for dispute resolution for local and foreign companies. In addition to offering traditional litigation and arbitration services, our China Practice team also provides comprehensive dispute resolution services for clients, such as internal due diligence investigations, bankruptcy debt restructuring and negotiations.

We specialize in developing overall litigation strategies and liaising with professionals from various fields to address the core issues of disputes. With our expertise and communication skills, we fully capitalize on the strengths of our professional lawyers and work together to effectively handle cross-jurisdictional commercial disputes and efficiently deliver cross-border legal services for clients in major cases. Our dispute resolution services include:

  • representing clients in PRC arbitrations, foreign-related arbitrations and international arbitrations, and seeking recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments and arbitral awards in the PRC;
  • representing clients in foreign-related civil and commercial litigations, intellectual property and administrative cases and criminal litigation involving corporate clients in the PRC;
  • conducting legal analysis in the company’s internal investigations on any potential infringement by employees of the legitimate interests or intellectual property rights of the company or violation of anti-bribery law or corporate management system; and
  • representing clients in commencing or proceeding with bankruptcy procedures, and advising on the formulation and implementation of clients’ PRC and cross-border bankruptcy, liquidation and reorganization plans.

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Opposing the Enforcement of PRC Arbitral Award on Public Policy Ground? Not as Easy as You Think!
Introduction Pursuant to the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, subject to certain conditions, Hong Kong courts shall enforce arbitral awards made by recognized PRC arbitral authorities; and vice versa, the designated PRC courts shall enforce Hong Kong arbitral awards. One of the conditions under which Hong Kong courts may refuse to enforce a PRC arbitral award is where the enforcement of the award would be contrary to public policy. The Court of Appeal decision Gao Haiyan & Anor v Keeneye Holdings Ltd & Anor [2012] 1 HKC 335 illustrates the Court’s narrow and stringent interpretation of the public policy ground for refusal of enforcement of arbitral award.
Updates on the mutual enforcement of arbitral awards between the PRC and the HKSAR
Prior to the transfer of sovereignty over Hong Kong in 1997, mutual enforcement of arbitral awards between the PRC and Hong Kong was carried out pursuant to the New York Convention (the United Nations Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards). However, as Hong Kong then became a Special Administrative Region of the PRC in 1997, such an arrangement ceased to apply as it is only applicable between sovereign states. Without the New York Convention in place, there had been a period when it was difficult to enforce PRC arbitral awards in Hong Kong and vice versa before the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the “Arrangement”) came into effect in February 2000. Pursuant to the Arrangement, enforcement of PRC arbitral awards in Hong Kong and enforcement of Hong Kong arbitral awards in the PRC are again made possible. Yet, the Arrangement contains several limitations which had, in the past, led to some applications for enforcing arbitral awards prone to being refused by the PRC and Hong Kong Courts.
When Can a Person be Prosecuted in Hong Kong for a Cross-border Crime?
In modern times, with the advancement of technologies, some crimes are no longer restricted by geographic or territorial limits. A person does not necessarily have to be physically present in the place where the crime is intended to take place. A crime can also be committed in a place where the intended results occur elsewhere. In such kind of cross-border crimes, do Hong Kong Courts have jurisdiction to try the crimes? This article explores the extra-territorial criminal jurisdiction of the Courts in Hong Kong.
Back to top

更多

與內地相關之爭議解決

不管法律糾紛發生在中國的任何地方,我們都會確保為客戶提供高品質的法律服務。我們既為客戶提供具建設性、可操作的爭議預防方案,也針對個案制訂應對策略與訴訟或仲裁之解決方案。

我們代表客戶參與包括訴前調查、安排證據調取、提出財產保全措施、提起訴訟或仲裁程序、申請強制執行等法律程序。我們憑藉多年爭議解決經驗,包括在多起具有廣泛影響力與中國內地有關的複雜及疑難案件中扮演著重要角色的經驗,已成為國內外知名企業在爭議解決服務領域優先選擇的律師團隊或公司代表。我們的中國律師不僅僅提供傳統的訴訟和仲裁服務,亦為客戶提供包括公司內部合規調查、破產債務重組及談判等全方位爭議解決服務。

我們擅長策劃全盤訴訟策略,協調各領域的專業團隊共同研究與爭議有關的核心問題。以我們出色的專業能力和有效溝通能力,充分利用各專業律師的優勢,分工合作,有效地處理跨法域的商業糾紛,為客戶在大型案件中提供高效的跨境律事務統籌服務。我們的爭議解決法律服務包括:

  • 在仲裁業務中代理客戶參與各類中國仲裁、涉外仲裁、國際仲裁、以至境外裁決在國內的承認和執行;
  • 在訴訟業務中代理客戶參與各類中國涉外的民商事、知識產權、行政訴訟案件和涉及公司客戶的刑事訴訟案件;
  • 在公司內部調查中對客戶職員是否存在涉嫌侵犯公司合法權益的刑事犯罪、知識產權侵權、違反賄賂法、違反公司管理制度等行為進行法律分析;
  • 在破產業務中代表客戶啟動或參與破產程序,就企業之中國內地與跨境破產清算和重組計劃的制定與執行提供法律意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

以公共政策為理由反對執行內地仲裁裁決?並非想像中容易
簡介 根據「關於內地與香港特別行政區相互執行仲裁裁決的安排」,除某些情況外,香港法院須執行內地認可仲裁機構作出的仲裁裁決,反過來,內地指定法院亦須執行香港的仲裁裁決。 香港法院其中一個可拒絕執行內地仲裁裁決的理由,是執行該仲裁裁決會違反公共政策。上訴法庭在Gao Haiyan & Anor v Keeneye Holdings Ltd & Anor [2012] 1 HKC 335一案的裁決顯示,法院會狹義及嚴格地解釋拒絕執行仲裁裁決的公共政策理由。
中港兩地相互執行仲裁裁決的最新安排
在1997年香港主權移交前,中港兩地是根據《紐約公約》(即《聯合國承認及執行外國仲裁裁決公約》)相互執行仲裁裁決安排的。但《紐約公約》只在主權國之間適用,隨著香港於1997年成為中國的特別行政區,上述安排不再適用。其後一段時間,要在香港執行內地仲裁裁決或在內地執行香港仲裁裁決,都有一定困難,直至《關於內地與香港特別行政區相互執行仲裁裁決的安排》於2000年2月生效,中港兩地才可再次相互執行仲裁裁決。然而,《安排》的若干限制導致部分執行仲裁裁決申請難以獲內地及香港法院批准。
甚麼情況下可在香港檢控觸犯跨境罪行的人?
隨著現代社會科技進步,有些罪行不再受地理或地域限制。犯罪者可以策劃某罪行在某地發生,但他不一定要身處該地;罪行亦可以在一個地方犯下,而犯罪的結果卻在另一個地方發生。對於這類跨境罪行,香港法院是否有審理案件的司法管轄權?本文將會探討香港法院的境外刑事司法管轄權。
Back to top