More

AML/CFT

As an international financial centre, Hong Kong attaches significance to safeguarding the integrity of our financial systems by implementing international standards on anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) to deter and detect inward and outward flows of illicit funds. A number of legislations have been put in place to underpin the implementation of the AML/CFT regime in Hong Kong.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

  • representing and advising clients on AML/CFT related investigations, enquires, interviews, document production and raids brought by the designated relevant authorities including Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Insurance Authority, Securities and Futures Commission and Customs and Excise Department. We also assist clients in dealing with law enforcement agencies on AML related investigations such as the Hong Kong Police and the ICAC;
  • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615), Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance (Cap. 405), Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455), United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (Cap. 575), United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537), Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526), Import and Export Ordinance (Cap. 60) and Cross-boundary Movement of Physical Currency and Bearer Negotiable Instruments Ordinance (Cap. 629); and
  • advising clients on the statutory obligations of reporting suspected money laundering activities to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit.

If you would like to know more about our commercial crime practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at criminal@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Using Anti-Money Laundering Law to Prosecute Telephone Scammers
Anti-money laundering law is used to prosecute telephone scammers in order to overcome jurisdictional and evidential issues pertaining to the charge of conspiracy to defraud.
The Role of Company Secretaries and Directors in Anti-Money Laundering Compliance
Millions of dollars come into and go out of Hong Kong every day, legitimate or not, as Hong Kong is an international financial centre with no exchange controls. In the last few years, huge sums have flown out from countries around Hong Kong to or via Hong Kong for tax, funds control or investment reasons. This creates issues and risks of money laundering. There have also been numerous business email scams, or cases of impersonation of C-suite officers, where companies from overseas were deceived into wiring large sums of money to bank accounts in Hong Kong. Such wire transfers and movement of funds via “money mules” are also money laundering as the funds are the proceeds of crime. As a member of the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”), an independent inter-governmental body that promotes policies against money laundering and terrorist financing, Hong Kong is obliged to implement the anti-money laundering (“AML”) requirements promulgated by the FATF.
How Legal Practitioners Should Handle Client’s Money from an AML Perspective? Some Good News, But More Alerts
On 19 September 2014, W K Wu (“Wu”), a solicitor and partner, was convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for money laundering. As we have discussed in our previous article Money-Laundering: Would I Have Believed I Was Dealing with Dirty Money?, the Court of Final Appeal has clarified the law on Section 25(1) of the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap 455)(“OSCO”) in its judgment in the case of Pang Hung Fai FACC 8 of 2013 on 10 November 2014. Relying on the Pang Hung Fai case, Wu appealed to the Court of Appeal and was ordered a retrial (in CACC 299 of 2014) on 26 May 2016. On 1 September 2017, the District Court handed down its judgement after the retrial. The charge against Wu was based on the “having reasonable grounds to believe” limb of the offence of dealing in property that represents crime proceeds under s25 of OSCO. In the retrial, there is little dispute on facts but much divergence over interpretation of evidence and law. It was the prosecution’s case that Wu had reasonable grounds to believe the money in the respective charge represented the proceeds of an unproved indictable crime. On the other hand, Wu’s argument was that the reasonable grounds he had would not have led him to believe the money he handled represented indictable crime proceeds.
Back to top

更多

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資

香港作為國際金融中心,向來極為重視維護本港金融體系的廉潔穩健。為此,香港根據國際標準實施打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的措施,從而阻嚇及偵測不法資金進出本港金融體系。香港已制訂多項法例,以配合打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的制度。

我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

  • 就香港金融管理局、保險業監管局、證券及期貨事務監察委員會及香港海關等指定部門進行的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的調查、查問、會面、索取文件及突擊搜查,代表客戶行事並提供法律意見。我們亦協助客戶處理香港警隊及廉政公署等執法機關就打擊洗錢進行的調查;
  • 就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的相關法例可能引致的法律責任及義務為客戶提供法律意見;該等法例包括香港法例第615章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》、第405章《販毒(追討得益)條例》、第455章《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》、第575章《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》、第537章《聯合國制裁條例》、第526章《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》、第60章《進出口條例》及第629章《實體貨幣及不記名可轉讓票據跨境流動條例》;及
  • 就向聯合財富情報組舉報涉嫌洗錢活動的法定責任為客戶提供意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的商業罪行業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 criminal@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

利用反洗黑錢法律檢控電話騙徒
利用反洗黑錢法律檢控電話騙徒,可以解決與串謀詐騙控罪相關的司法管轄權及證據問題。
公司秘書及董事在反洗黑錢合規事宜中的角色
香港是不設外匯管制的國際金融中心,每日都有數以百萬元的資金經合法或非法途徑進出香港。過去數年,出於稅務、資金管制或投資原因而從香港鄰近國家流入香港或經香港進入其他國家的款項不計其數,造成洗黑錢疑慮及風險,而且近年亦有大量商業電郵騙案或冒充公司高層人員的騙案,欺騙海外公司將大筆資金匯入香港的銀行帳戶。這種匯款及透過「錢騾」(money mules)轉移資金的活動亦屬洗黑錢活動,因涉及的資金是犯罪得益。 香港作為財務行動特別組織(一個推動打擊洗黑錢及恐怖分子集資政策的獨立跨政府組織)的一員,有責任實施財務行動特別組織頒布的反洗黑錢規定。
從反洗錢角度探討法律執業者應如何處理客戶款項:有好消息,亦有警惕
2014年9月19日,胡永傑(合夥人律師)因洗錢罪成被判監禁。我們在先前的文章〈我會相信自己處理的是黑錢嗎?〉中討論過,終審法院於2014年11月10日在Pang Hung Fai FACC 8/2013案件的判決中釐清了關於《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(香港法例第455章)第25(1) 條的法律原則。胡倚賴彭洪輝案向上訴法庭提出上訴,上訴法庭於2016年5月26日下令案件重審(案件編號:CACC 299/2014)。區域法院重審案件後於2017年9月1日作出裁決。胡的控罪是基於《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》第25條訂明的「處理代表犯罪得益的財產」罪行的犯罪構成中「有合理理由相信」這方面。在重審中,雙方對於案情沒有甚麼爭議,但對證據及法律的解釋則有很大分歧。控方理據為,胡有合理理由相信控罪涉及的款項代表來自未經證實的可公訴罪行的得益。胡則認為他所持有的合理理由不會導致他相信所處理的款項代表來自可公訴罪行的得益。
Back to top