More

Personal Injury & Medical Negligence

Injuries can be physical or mental.  We advise clients in claims for damages for both physical and mental injuries in connection with all kinds of accidents including but not limited to road traffic accident, industrial accident at construction sites and other industrial undertakings, accident at workplace, lift and escalator accident, slip and fall accident, assault and animal bite accident. We are experienced in acting for infant, mentally incapacitated person and victim who has become paraplegic or quadriplegic as a result of the accident. We also have extensive experience in advising patients and medical practitioners on medical negligence claims.

We provide the following services:

  • advising clients on their rights and duties in personal injuries claims under common law;
  • assisting clients in exploring settlement;
  • advising on and assisting in legal aid application;
  • pursuing or defending the personal injuries claims under common law in courts; and
  • making applications under Mental Health Ordinance.

If you would like to know more about our insurance & personal injury practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at insurance_pi@onc.hk.

 

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

 


Recommended Posts

Do I have any claim against the registered owners / occupiers blocking the path to an exclusively possessed area in case of fire?
On 5 March 2020, the Hong Kong Court of First Instance (“CFI”) handed down a judgment (Tang Ho Hei v Chan Po Mei [2020] HKCFI 342) which held that the defendant is liable to the plaintiff for personal injuries when the miscellaneous articles placed at the common staircase outside the defendant’s flat obstructed the plaintiff’s escape path to the roof during a fire.
Can a paraplegic plaintiff claim the cost of an exoskeleton?
In personal injury cases, as a general principle, the court will award damages to the injured person in order to restore him, as nearly as possible, to the position the injured person would have been if he had not been injured. On 23 April 2020, the Hong Kong Court of First Instance (“CFI”) handed down a judgment (Lai Chi Wai v Tong Hung Kwok and Another [2020] HKCFI 628) which, for the first time in Hong Kong, ordered the defendant pay for the costs of an exoskeleton as part of the damages to a paraplegic Plaintiff in a personal injury claim.
What is the time limit for instituting a medical negligence claim?
Under section 27 of the Limitation Ordinance (Cap 347) (the “LO”), the limitation period for a plaintiff to make a claim for personal injury is three years from the date of the accrual of the cause of action or the date of knowledge, whichever is later. The key question is: when is the date of knowledge? In a recent medical negligence case of Momin Lok v Hospital Authority [2021] HKCA 1075, the Court of Appeal (the “CA”) revisited section 27 and section 30 of the LO and held that the knowledge requirement has been fulfilled when the Plaintiff had acquired the requisite knowledge that her injury was capable of being attributed to the anticoagulation medication and treatment. The Plaintiff’s misguided belief at that time in the precise manner in which the treatment resulted in injury was not so fundamental as to mean that she did not possess such requisite knowledge.
Back to top

更多

人身傷亡及醫療疏忽

受傷包括身體上的受傷和心理上的創傷無論是道路交通意外在地盤及其他工業場所的工業意外在工作場所的意外電梯及扶手電梯意外滑倒或被動物咬傷等各種意外本所均可就客戶的身體及心理創傷為客戶提供意見及追討賠償我們曾代表未成年人、精神上無行為能力的人及意外引致全身或半身不遂的受害人追討賠償亦曾為不少病人及醫人員就醫疏忽索償提供意見

我們提供的服務包括

  • 就客戶在普通法的人身傷亡索償下的權利及責任為客戶提供意見
  • 協助客戶探討和解方案
  • 就法律援助申請提供意見及協助;
  • 代表客戶出庭應訊,追討普通法的人身傷亡索償或進行抗辯;及
  • 根據精神健康條例提出申請

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的保險及人身傷亡業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至insurance_pi@onc.hk查詢。

 

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

 


推薦文章

火警時如通往私人地方的路線受阻以致我受傷, 我可否向註冊業主/佔用人索償?
2020年3月5日,香港原訟法庭(「原訟庭」)頒下裁決(Tang Ho Hei v Chan Po Mei [2020] HKCFI 342),裁定被告人因在其單位外的公共梯間放置雜物阻礙原告人在火警中的逃生路線而須為原告人的受傷負責。
就新型冠狀病毒疫症提出醫療疏忽索償時,可能遇到甚麼困難?
全球對抗新型冠狀病毒疫症至今已達一年,隨著疫苗面世,普及接種讓我們看到了黑暗盡頭的曙光。在疫症下,涉及公共衛生及臨床醫療疏忽的投訴可能有所增加。那麼,如欲就新型冠狀病毒疫症對醫護人員提出疏忽索償,需要證明甚麼?可能遇到甚麼困難?
就醫療疏忽提出索償的訴訟時限
根據香港法例第347章《時效條例》第27條,原告人就人身傷害提出索償的時限為訴訟因由產生日期或知悉日期(以較後者為準)起計3年。關鍵問題是:知悉日期是何時?最近在Momin Lok v Hospital Authority [2021] HKCA 1075一案中,上訴法庭(「上訴庭」)再次審視了《時效條例》第27及30條,並裁定當原告人知道她的受傷可以歸因於抗凝血藥物及治療的時候,便已符合知悉的要求。原告人當時對於有關治療實際上如何導致她受傷的錯誤想法,並非根本的因素,因此並不影響她的知悉。
Back to top