More

Defamation

Every business wishes to maintain a good reputation, which could also be its most valuable assets. Building a positive image among customers and the public may take years but to destroy it will only be done in one moment. This is especially true in a world where news travels rapidly and image could mean everything. The risks associated with the rise of digital publishing and social media have never been so tremendous. The extensive accessibility and use of such digital media has provided routes for anonymous people to repeatedly attack reputations and privacy of any individuals or organisations. Any insult on your name or that of your organisation can cause permanent damage.

Whether you are a print or online content provider or individuals or organisations who wish to seek redress for defamatory remarks made against them, ONC Lawyers is dedicated to counsel you on your rights and obligations in respect of reputational and privacy issues. Our experienced and knowledgeable lawyers act for both claimants and defendants in defamation actions. We advise clients on the most appropriate ways or legal tools to prevent and minimise the harm done by defamatory remarks.

We are experienced in dealing with claims with respect to defamation and reputation protection. The scope of our reputation and defamation services generally includes the followings:

  • defamation claims, including libel, slander and malicious falsehood;
  • persuading claimants to settle or back down the claims;
  • advising on advertising law, privacy and data protection law and regulations governing confidential information;
  • advising on strategies to help prevent disclosure of confidential information;
  • advising on media plans and policies; and
  • obtaining injunctions regarding defamatory remarks and comments.

If you would like to know more about our defamation practice or how we can help you, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ldr@onc.hk .


Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Defamation an Increasing Danger for Businesses in the Technological Age
The plaintiff, Golden Field Glass Works Company Limited (“GFGW”), was a company with a business of designing, manufacturing and installing glass furnishings and fittings, and had undertaken works for well-known brands. GFGW had been serving a company C (the client) as one of its main customers. The defendant was employed by GFGW as a glass installation worker since 2007. On 22 March 2010, the defendant sent an email message to C, which stated that GFGW had caused a great waste of resources, including glass pieces and manpower, leading to a rise in the cost of its products. GFGW alleged that such a message also suggested that GFGW needlessly increased its costs and thereby passed on the cost of the waste to its customers, implying C as one of them. It submitted that the message was false and defamatory, and that the defendant published it maliciously; GFGW was seeking compensation for the damages caused by it. The defendant claimed that much of the glass disposed of by GFGW due to being the wrong size could have been salvaged by machining. GFGW argued that the processed glass could withstand no further grinding as there was a risk of it becoming more fragile as a result. The defendant relied on the defence of justification (that the message was true in its natural and ordinary meaning), and qualified privilege, on the basis that the defendant and C had an interest in the information disclosed in the message. The defendant further challenged GFGW’s claim that the message caused its loss of business.
How Did Chan Mo-Po and His Wife Get Away With Defamation Suit? The Court of Appeal Explains the Law of Qualified Privilege
At common law, the defence of qualified privilege is available if the person communicating the defamatory statement has a legal, moral or social duty or interest in making it, and the recipient has a corresponding interest in receiving the same. However, the defence would fail if the maker of the statement is actuated by malice in making the statement.
Should an anonymous informant or the middleman of an informant in civil proceedings be protected by the defence of absolute privilege in a defamation case? (Part II)
In “Should an anonymous informant or the middleman of an informant in civil proceedings be protected by the defence of absolute privilege in a defamation case?”, we discussed the Court of First Instance (“CFI”) and the Court of Appeal’s decision on Chang Wa Shan v Esther Chan Pui Kwan [2018] HKCFA 29, which examined whether the application of absolute privilege should be extended to cover a novel category of anonymous informant or the middleman of an informant. The Court of Final Appeal (“CFA”) handed down judgment in late 2018 which clarified such position.
Back to top

更多

誹謗

我們的刑事訴訟團隊過往曾協助不少牽涉刑事調查或刑事檢控的客戶,曾就各類不同的刑事罪行為客戶辯護。我們的服務並非在客戶被檢控當日開始,而是由客戶意識到有可能被檢控時已經開始。我們對刑事法及刑事程序具備深厚知識,更重要的是,我們對客戶個案的每一項細節均非常留意,務求為客戶訂立最有效的辯護策略。在協助面對不同狀況及控罪的客戶時,我們能夠憑藉豐富經驗,照顧客戶需要。任何人如被控觸犯某項罪行,均需知道自己應有的權利、是否有任何權利受到損害、最佳應對方案,及如何就控罪提出有力的抗辯。我們時刻能夠即時有效地回應客戶需要,而這亦正正是本所刑事業務的核心所在。


我們擁有與不同政府部門接觸的廣泛經驗,當中包括香港警務處、廉政公署、香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)、入境事務處、個人資料私隱專員公署及商業罪案調查科。


我們的服務包括:

  • 在落案前後就刑事法例及有關程序提供法律意見;
  • 陪同客戶前往警署、廉政公署、證監會、商業罪案調查科及其他執法機構;
  • 在落案前後替客戶與檢控當局在控罪方面商討酌情處理;
  • 在審訊前或等候上訴期間申請保釋;
  • 在審訊前進行調查及搜集證據;
  • 在裁判法院至高等法院的各級法院,為客戶進行辯護;
  • 在包括終審法院的各級法院,為客戶進行上訴;及
  • 為客戶求情和申請減刑。 

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的誹謗業務或我們可如何為閣下提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 ldr@onc.hk 查詢

 


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

科技普及增商業誹謗風險
原告人金豐玻璃工程有限公司(「金豐玻璃」)從事設計、製造及安裝玻璃裝飾品及配件業務,曾承接多個工程。C公司(客戶)是金豐玻璃主要客戶之一。被告人自2007年起獲聘為玻璃安裝工人。他在2010年3月22日向C公司發出一個電郵訊息,指金豐玻璃浪費資源,虛耗玻璃碎片和人力,增加產品成本。原告人稱訊息提到金豐玻璃無必要地增加產品成本,並將有關成本轉嫁給客戶,暗示C為其中之一。原告人認為訊息內容虛假,構成誹謗,並就訊息造成的損害索償。被告人聲稱,金豐玻璃因尺寸錯誤而丟棄的大量玻璃可加工回收。原告人辯稱,經過加工的玻璃更易碎,無法再承受磨削。 被告人以「有理可據」為抗辯理由,指訊息內容真確,而且屬一般人理解到的意思。基於訊息內容涉及被告人本人和C公司的利益,被告人提出訊息「受約制特權」為抗辯理由。被告人更質疑金豐玻璃聲稱訊息損害業務的說法。
陳茂波夫婦如何開脫誹謗指控?上訴法庭解釋受約制特權的法律原則
在Jonathan Lu and Others v Paul Chan Mo-Po and Another [2016] HKCA 622一案中,上訴法庭全面審視了在誹謗申索中以「受約制特權」(qualified privilege)作為抗辯理由的法律原則,並提供了指引,說明甚麼情況才構成惡意,以致這項免責辯護無效。根據普通法,任何人如出於法律、道德或社會責任或利益而作出誹謗言論,且接收者在接收該等誹謗言論中擁有相應利益,誹謗者則可以「受約制特權」作為免責辯護。然而,假如誹謗者是出於惡意而作出誹謗言論,這項免責辯護則無效。
在誹謗案件中,民事訴訟的匿名提供消息者或其中間人應該受絕對特權保護嗎?(二)
在〈在誹謗案件中,民事訴訟的匿名提供消息者或其中間人應該受絕對特權保護嗎?〉一文中,我們探討過原訟法庭及上訴法庭在Chang Wa Shan v Esther Chan Pui Kwan [2018] HKCFA 29一案的裁決,當中檢視了絕對特權的適用範圍應否擴展至涵蓋匿名提供消息者或其中間人這個新的類別。終審法院於去年年底頒下了裁決,釐清了上述問題
Back to top