More

Criminal Litigation

Our Criminal Litigation Team has in the past assisted numerous clients involved in criminal investigations or prosecutions. We have defended clients in a wide array of criminal offences. Our service commences not from the day the client was charged but from the time the client becomes aware that he may be charged. We pride ourselves in possessing deep knowledge of the criminal law and procedure and, more importantly, we pay meticulous attention to every detail of client’s case so as to formulate a most effective defence strategy. In helping clients with different circumstances and charges, we are able to draw upon our extensive experience and cater the clients’ needs. Any individual who is charged with an offence needs to know his or her rights, whether any rights were breached, what is the best way to tackle the situation and how to put forward a strong defence to the charge. We are always able to respond instantly and effectively to clients’ needs, which is a keystone of our firm’s criminal practice.

We have wide-ranging experience in dealing with different government authorities, including the Hong Kong Police Force, the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC), the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC), the Immigration Department, the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data and the Commercial Crime Bureau (CCB).

Our services include:

  • providing advice on criminal law and procedure before and after charge;
  • attending Police, ICAC, SFC, CCB and other law enforcement agencies with clients;
  • entering into plea bargaining for clients before or after charge;
  • application for bail before trial or pending appeal;
  • conducting investigation and evidence gathering before trial;
  • conducting defence at all levels of courts from Magistracy to the High Court;
  • conducting appeals at all levels of courts up to the Court of Final Appeal; and
  • conducting mitigation for clients.

If you would like to know more about our criminal litigation practice or how we can help you, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ldr@onc.hk .

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Is doxxing a criminal offence?
In a recent case of 香港特別行政區 訴 陳景僖DCCC 164/2020, the District Court held that unauthorised access of information available by virtue of employment may constitute dishonesty under the offence of“obtaining access to a computer with a view to dishonest gain for himself or another” (section 161 of Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200)) and was contrary to disclosing personal data obtained without consent from data users under section 64 of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486) (“PDPO”). This is the first doxxing case sentenced for contravention of the PDPO.
Helping out a friend in money transactions could land you in jail
In the commercial world, it is not uncommon for people to become business partners with friends and acquaintances who share similar visions and business ideas. However, one should always exercise caution when considering whether to accept business relations with another. In the recent case of HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344, the District Court (the “Court”) held a person “helping a friend out with his business” to be guilty of two money laundering charges.
Agents, brokers and intermediaries beware: When is it not a crime to receive commissions and rebates after you have helped someone?
On 1 June 2020, the Court of Final Appeal (the “CFA”) handed down its decision in HKSAR v Chu Ang FACC No. 6 of 2019 (on appeal from HCMA No. 119 of 2018 [2020] HKCFA 18) allowing the prosecution’s appeal and setting aside the lower courts’ previous rulings that there was no case for the Defendant to answer. The leave to appeal was granted on the basis that it was reasonably arguable that there had been a substantial and grave injustice in the misapplication of section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201) (“POBO”).
Back to top

更多

刑事訴訟

我們的刑事訴訟團隊過往曾協助不少牽涉刑事調查或刑事檢控的客戶,曾就各類不同的刑事罪行為客戶辯護。我們的服務並非在客戶被檢控當日開始,而是由客戶意識到有可能被檢控時已經開始。我們對刑事法及刑事程序具備深厚知識,更重要的是,我們對客戶個案的每一項細節均非常留意,務求為客戶訂立最有效的辯護策略。在協助面對不同狀況及控罪的客戶時,我們能夠憑藉豐富經驗,照顧客戶需要。任何人如被控觸犯某項罪行,均需知道自己應有的權利、是否有任何權利受到損害、最佳應對方案,及如何就控罪提出有力的抗辯。我們時刻能夠即時有效地回應客戶需要,而這亦正正是本所刑事業務的核心所在。


我們擁有與不同政府部門接觸的廣泛經驗,當中包括香港警務處、廉政公署、香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)、入境事務處、個人資料私隱專員公署及商業罪案調查科。


我們的服務包括:

  • 在落案前後就刑事法例及有關程序提供法律意見;
  • 陪同客戶前往警署、廉政公署、證監會、商業罪案調查科及其他執法機構;
  • 在落案前後替客戶與檢控當局在控罪方面商討酌情處理;
  • 在審訊前或等候上訴期間申請保釋;
  • 在審訊前進行調查及搜集證據;
  • 在裁判法院至高等法院的各級法院,為客戶進行辯護;
  • 在包括終審法院的各級法院,為客戶進行上訴;及
  • 為客戶求情和申請減刑

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的刑事訴訟業務或我們可如何為閣下提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 ldr@onc.hk 查詢

 

請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

起底是否刑事罪行?
最近在香港特別行政區 訴 陳景僖DCCC 164/2020一案中,區域法院裁定,未經授權取用因受僱而接觸到的資料,可構成香港法例第200章《刑事罪行條例》第161條下的「目的在於使其本人或他人不誠實地獲益而取用電腦」罪行,亦違反香港法例第486章《個人資料(私隱)條例》第64條下的「披露未經資料使用者同意而取得的個人資料」。這是法院首次就起底行為(即惡意搜尋並公開傳播私人或能夠辨識身份的資料)違反《私隱條例》而判刑的案件。
協助朋友處理金錢交易可能招致嚴重刑責
在商業世界中,不少人會與有著相似的願景及營商理念的朋友成為生意夥伴。然而,在考慮是否與他人建立業務關係時,應時刻審慎行事。最近在 HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344 一案中,區域法院裁定一名聲稱「協助朋友處理業務」的人觸犯兩項洗黑錢罪。
代理人、經紀人及中介人注意: 在甚麼情況下就協助他人而收受佣金及回扣會構成罪行?
2020年6月1日,終審法院就香港特別行政區 訴 趙鶯 (終審法院刑事上訴2019年第6號;[2020] HKCFA 18)(原高等法院裁判法院上訴2018年第119號)一案頒下裁決,裁定控方上訴得直,並撤銷下級法院較早前指被告人無須答辯的裁決。終審法院乃基於以下理由而給予上訴許可:由於香港法例第201章《防止賄賂條例》(「該條例」)第9條被錯誤應用,故本案有可能存在實質及嚴重的不公平情況。
Back to top