More

Intellectual Property Dispute & Litigation

Intellectual property rights reward creativity and human endeavor, which fuel the progress of humankind and can lead to breakthrough solutions to global challenges. Due to its value, it becomes important to safeguard and protect such rights from third parties who seek to ride on the reputation and rights of others for profit or other reasons.

Here at ONC, we have ample experience in assisting our clients to protect their intellectual property rights, especially in relation to new inventions over new technology. We have assisted clients in defending their rights in a wide array of matters, including trade mark infringement and passing off, company name infringement, copyright, patent and design infringement etc.

We recognize the importance of protecting the value of our client’s hard work and take a wide variety of approaches in assisting our clients to defend the same. We frequently work together with investigators, customs, and authorities in Hong Kong and PRC, and enforcement agencies worldwide in devising strategies to prevent infringement and counterfeiting.

Rest assured that ONC will vigorously assist you in protecting your rights.

Examples of our services include:

  • assisting one of China’s most renowned clothing companies in trade mark infringement matters in Hong Kong and PRC;
  • acting for a famous French wine company in trade mark infringement and passing off litigation in Hong Kong;
  • assisting a major tobacco company against counterfeits worldwide;
  • acting for a popular and reputable jewelry company against counterfeiting in the PRC;
  • advising two leading Hong Kong real estate agencies on infringement actions.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Heavy price for insufficient coverage? MUJI ordered to pay damages for trade mark infringement in China
The Japanese brand MUJI lost in a trade mark infringement case to a local Chinese company with an earlier registered mark which highly resembles the former’s well-known trade name. China’s Supreme People’s Court has ultimately ruled against MUJI in an appeal after the claims went on for close to a decade. On 4 November 2019, MUJI was ordered by the Beijing Municipal High People’s Court to pay damages of more than RMB 600,000 (USD 87,000) and publicly apologizing to the local company.
Comparative advertising – Are you allowed to mention a competitor's registered trademark in advertising?
It is not uncommon to see a company advertises its business by comparing its products/services with those of its competitors (“Comparative Advertising”). In fact, the use of a registered trademark belonging to others in one’s advertising may not necessarily constitute any trademark infringement if section 21 of the Trade Marks Ordinance (“Section 21”) is satisfied. The Court of First Instance provided the public with useful guidance on the interpretation of Section 21 in its ruling in Pccw-Hkt Datacom Services Ltd and Another v. Hong Kong Broadband Network Ltd [2018] 4 HKLRD 575 (“PCCW v Hong Kong Broadband”).
A blow to the giant – Adidas loses trademark battle against Shoe Branding Europe BVBA
On 19 June 2019, The European Union General Court (the “General Court”) dismissed the appeal application filed by Adidas and upheld the decision of European Intellectual Property Office (“EUIPO”)’s Second Board of Appeal that, among other things, Adidas’ signature mark of parallel equidistant stripes “” lacks the distinctiveness required for it to be qualified for trademark protection. This ruling effectively puts an end to Adidas’s attempt to defend its trademark in the European Union (“EU”).
Back to top

更多

知識產權的爭議及訴訟

知識產權回饋創意和努力,推動人類進步,並可帶來突破性的解決方案,以解決全球共同面對的難題。由於知識產權有重要價值,故此企業必須捍及保護其知識產權,防止有人意圖利用聲譽及權利謀取利潤或作其他用途。

 

本所在協助客戶保護知產權尤其是涉及新技術的新發明)方面經十分豐富。我們曾協助客戶處理廣事宜,包括侵犯及假冒商標、公司名稱侵權、版權、專利和外觀設計侵權等,竭力保障客戶的權益。

 

我們將保護客戶作品的價值視為己任,並採用不同方法協助客戶保護他們的作品。我們經常與香港和內地的調查人員、海關及政府部門以及世界各地的執法機關合作,從而訂定能阻止侵權及冒牌的策略,客戶可安心交託本所竭力保障其權益。

 

本所曾處理的案件包括:

  • 協助一家著名內地服裝公司在香港和內地處理商標侵權事宜
  • 代表一家國際著名法國紅酒公司在香港處理商標侵權及假冒訴訟事宜;
  • 協助一家大型煙草公司打擊世界各地的冒牌產品;
  • 代表一家廣受歡迎和聲譽良好的公司打擊內地的冒牌活動;及
  • 為兩家香港大型地產代理就侵權訴訟提供法律意見

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律」內之

推薦文章

商標註冊範圍不足的代價沉重:無印良品商標侵權案敗訴被中國法院命令賠償
中國一家本地企業的在先註冊商標與日本品牌無印良品的著名商用名稱非常相似,前者就此提起商標侵權訴訟,無印良品被判敗訴。經過長達接近10年的官司,中國最高人民法院作出最終裁決,駁回無印良品的上訴。2019年11月4日,北京市高級人民法院命令無印良品向上述中國企業支付損害賠償超過人民幣600,000元(87,000美元)及公開道歉。
比較式廣告:我可以在廣告中提及競爭對手的註冊商標嗎?
不少企業在推廣其業務的廣告中,都會以其競爭對手的產品/服務作比較。事實上,只要符合《商標條例》第21條,在廣告中使用屬於他人的註冊商標也不一定構成侵犯商標。在Pccw-Hkt Datacom Services Ltd and Another v Hong Kong Broadband Network Ltd [2018] 4 HKLRD 575一案的裁決中,原訟法庭就第21條的解釋為公眾提供了指引。
Adidas在歐盟的商標爭奪戰敗訴
2019年6月19日,歐盟普通法院(「普通法院」)駁回了Adidas(「上訴人」)的上訴申請,並維持歐盟知識產權局第二上訴委員會的裁決,包括裁定上訴人標誌性的平行等距條紋商標「」欠缺所需的顯著性,不符合獲得商標保護的資格。該項裁決實際上為上訴人在歐盟地區保護其商標的訴訟劃上句號。
Back to top