More

General Employment Advice

Hong Kong’s economy has been well supported by a comprehensive framework of labour legislation, which is a major factor why so many companies choose to conduct business in Hong Kong.  It offers certainty with regard to the rights and duties of employers and employees whilst enabling great flexibility for parties to negotiate employment contracts.  While leveraging the protection from labour legislation, make sure that you do not overlook that employment law is highly dynamic and sometimes agonistic.  Whether you are an employer or employee, comprehensive advisory services are what you need in order to develop your business or career goals safely within the law. 

At ONC Lawyers, we help you tackle the various facets of employment law that may often be overlooked by both employees and employers before, during and after the employment relationship.  We have extensive experience advising international corporations, small and medium-sized enterprises, individual employers and employees, including senior executives, on all aspects of employment law issues, from negotiating and reviewing employment contracts to resolving complex employment disputes promptly and amicably.  The expertise of our employment specialists together with our excellent understanding of the local business environment and companies’ day-to-day business needs makes us the go-to law firm when you experience workplace issues. 

Our employment practice provides the following professional services:

  • drafting and reviewing employment contracts, consultancy agreements, staff handbooks and human resources polices;
  • advising on statutory and contractual entitlements;
  • advising on confidentiality issues and protection of trade secrets;
  • advising on post-termination restraints such as non-solicitation, non-compete and non-dealing clauses;
  • advising on termination of employment and severance packages;
  • advising on employee misconducts and disciplinary actions;
  • advising on discrimination complaints and investigations;
  • advising on defamation, privacy and harassment claims;
  • advising on employment law issues arising from redundancy situations, company reorganizations; and
  • advising on employment law implications in the context of mergers and acquisitions and commercial transactions.

Credentials of our lawyers in this area include:

  • prepared template employment contracts and employee handbook for a newly listed company.
  • advised a Chinese medicine clinic group on its employment contracts.
  • advised client on its bonus scheme eligible to all of the staff of its Hong Kong office.

If you would like to seek advice on general employment issues, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at employment@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Can employer be held vicariously liable for employee fraud?
In our previous newsletters, “Employer’s Liability Towards Unauthorized Act of Employees” and “Employer Found Vicariously Liable for Assault Committed by Their Employees”, we discussed the “close connection” test in relation to an employer’s vicarious liability for employee’s unauthorized act. Time and again, the “close connection” test has been applied and affirmed by Hong Kong courts. In the recent case of Luk Wing Yan v CMB Wing Lung Bank Limited (previously known as Wing Lung Bank Limited) [2021] HKCFI 279, the Court of First Instance (“CFI”) discussed whether the “close connection” test serves as a blanket principle that is applicable in all circumstances.
Can an employer dismiss an employee who is on long-term sick leave?
Under the Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57), save for summary dismissal, it is unlawful for an employer to dismiss an employee who is on paid statutory sick leave. This does not apply during periods of unpaid sick leaves, where an employer dismisses an employee by paying the normal compensation for termination, and in addition, any statutory sickness allowance to which the employee is entitled. However, in both circumstances, an employer may encounter the risk of disability discrimination claims. In the recent decision of Lee Chi Bun v Novartis Pharmaceuticals (HK) Ltd [2021] HKDC 1101, the District Court considered this position.
Employees working under a roster: How are their statutory holiday pay and annual leave pay calculated?
Under the Employment Ordinance (Cap. 57) (“EO”), an employee is entitled to statutory holidays. An employee having been employed under a continuous contract for not less than 3 months immediately preceding a statutory holiday is entitled to holiday pay. An employee is also entitled to annual leave with pay after having been employed under a continuous contract for every 12 months. An employee’s entitlement to paid annual leave increases progressively from 7 days to a maximum of 14 days according to his length of service. Generally speaking, the daily rate of statutory holiday pay and annual leave pay is a sum equivalent to the daily average wage (“DAW”) earned by the employee in the preceding 12 months immediately before the statutory holiday and annual leave (as the case may be). In the recent case of Mackinlay Andrew Antony v Hong Kong Dragon Airlines Limited [2020] HKDC 64, DCCJ 2228/2016, the District Court gave an insight on how these statutory holiday pay and annual leave pay are to be calculated where the employee concerned works on a roster.
Back to top

更多

一般僱傭諮詢

香港的繁榮經濟背後有賴一套全面的僱傭法例,清楚訂明僱主及僱員的權責,同時讓雙方在磋商僱傭合約時享有極大靈活性,這正是許多企業選擇在香港經營業務的一大主因。僱傭雙方在享有僱傭法例保障的同時千萬不要忽略僱傭法律可充滿變化甚至有時候出現針鋒相對的情況。無論你是僱主或僱員都需要全面的法律諮詢服務以確保以妥為遵守法律規定的方式發展公司業務或個人事業

本所能夠協助閣下處理僱員和僱主於僱傭期間及前後往往會忽略的各種僱傭法律問題。我們擁有豐富經驗,曾為眾多國際企業、中小企、個別僱主及僱員(包括高級行政人員)就各方面的僱傭問題提供法律意見,例如協助客戶磋商及審閱僱傭合約,以及迅速而平和地解決複雜的僱傭糾紛等等。我們的律師具備專門的僱傭法律知識,並且清楚了解本地營商環境及企業的日常業務需求,是協助閣下解決僱傭問題的首選律師事務所。

我們的僱傭部門提供以下專業服務:

  • 草擬及審閱僱傭合約、顧問協議、員工手冊及人力資源政策;
  • 就法定及合約權益提供法律意見;
  • 就保密事宜及保護商業機密提供法律意見;
  • 就禁止招攬客戶、禁止競爭及禁止買賣條款等離職後限制提供法律意見;
  • 就終止僱傭關係及遣散待遇提供法律意見;
  • 就僱員失當行為及紀律行動提供法律意見;
  • 就歧視投訴及調查提供法律意見;
  • 就誹謗、私隱及騷擾申索提供法律意見;
  • 就裁員及公司重組等情況引起的僱傭問題提供法律意見;及
  • 就僱傭法對併購及商業交易的影響提供法律意見。

我們在此範疇曾處理的案件包括

  • 為一家新上市公司編製僱員合約範本及僱員手冊;
  • 為一家中藥診所集團就其僱傭合約提供法律意見;
  • 為一名客戶就其香港辦事處所有職員合資格參加的花紅計劃提供法律意見

如閣下希望就一般僱傭事宜徵詢法律意見,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至employment@onc.hk聯絡我們。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

僱主是否須為僱員的欺詐行為負上轉承責任?
早前在〈僱員作出未經授權的行為,僱主是否須負責?〉及〈僱主被裁定須就僱員的襲擊行為負上轉承責任〉兩份通訊中,我們談論過用以判斷僱主是否須為僱員作出的未經授權行為負上轉承責任的「密切聯繫」測試。香港法院已多次運用及確認「密切聯繫」測試。最近在 Luk Wing Yan v CMB Wing Lung Bank Limited (previously known as Wing Lung Bank Limited) [2021] HKCFI 279 一案中,原訟法庭討論了「密切聯繫」測試是否適用於任何情況的通用原則。
僱主可以解僱正在放長病假的僱員嗎?
根據香港法例第57章《僱傭條例》,除即時解僱外,僱主不得解僱正在放法定有薪病假的僱員,否則即屬違法。但此規定不適用於正在放無薪病假的僱員,僱主只要向僱員支付正常的解僱補償,以及僱員應得的任何法定病假津貼,便可解僱僱員。然而,在上述兩種情況下,僱主均可能被控殘疾歧視。最近在Lee Chi Bun v Novartis Pharmaceuticals (HK) Ltd [2021] HKDC 1101一案中,區域法院便審視了這個問題。
僱主開除僱員須說明原因嗎?
僱主開除僱員是否必須說明原因?最近在Lam Siu Wai v Equal Opportunities Commission [2021] HKCU 4949一案中,原訟法庭澄清,僱主開除僱員並不需要說明原因,而僱傭關係隱含的互信責任並不涵蓋解僱情況。
Back to top