More

Real Estate Transactions

Acquisitions and disposals of industrial, residential, office, retail and commercial properties in Hong Kong.  Services include :

  • drafting, negotiating, advising and commenting on tender documents and conditions of sale, auction agreements and other ancillary documents;
  • investigating title and advising on title issues, and issuing title certificates;
  • advising on illegal structures and impact on marketability;
  • applications and grant of lease modifications and land exchange;
  • advising on legal mechanism of sub-division of floors and units including drafting of sub-deeds of mutual covenant;
  • advising on prevailing law and statutory requirements on compulsory sale under Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance (Cap.545); and
  • advising on corporate restructuring and internal transfer under section 45 of Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap.117).

Our Real Estate lawyersacted for local and PRC corporate investors, listed companies, property developers, trust funds and joint venture consortium.

Major transactions handled include, amongst others :

  • acquisition of a whole floor of a commercial property at No.151 Gloucester Road (now known as AXA Centre);
  • acquisition of a whole floor of a commercial property at No.66 Gloucester Road (now known as Pico Tower);
  • disposal of two office units of Lippo Centre; and
  • acquisition of an industrial building in Kwai Chung at the consideration of HK$255,000,000.

If you would like to know more about our real estate practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at property@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Both the Homebuyers Who Purchase Residential Properties in the Name of Others in Order to Pay Lower Stamp Duty and the HKPR Who Provided Their Names Are Subject to Criminal Liabilities and Other Risks
Introduction In order to cool down the property market in Hong Kong, in November 2016, the Hong Kong Government increased the ad valorem stamp duty (AVD) rates for all residential property transactions to a flat rate of 15% of purchase price, irrespective of the amount or value of the consideration of the residential property with an exemption that a Hong Kong Permanent Resident (HKPR) acquiring a residential property where he/she is acting on his/her own behalf and does not own any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition will be subject to lower rates (i.e. AVD at Scale 2 rates) (the “Exemption”). It might be tempting for a non-HKPR and/or a HKPR who already owned other residential properties in Hong Kong (collectively the “homebuyer”) to purchase residential properties using the names of other HKPRs who do not own any residential property in Hong Kong in order to save stamp duty. The homebuyer might agree or make an arrangement with a HKPR who does not own any residential property in Hong Kong to use the name of the HKPR as the buyer of the residential property (the “Transaction”). However, both the homebuyer and HKPRs who provided their names might be subject to criminal offences and other risks and liabilities under such circumstances.
Raising Requisitions in the Context of Discrepancies Found in Provisional and Formal Agreements
Introduction In several of our past newsletters, we have discussed issues relating to the sale and purchase of properties involving unauthorised building works. In general, the existence of unauthorised building works in a property affects its vendor’s ability to fulfil its obligation of showing good title to such property. As such, in relation to such transactions, it is not uncommon to see clauses in the sale and purchase agreement which preclude the purchaser from raising requisitions regarding specific unauthorised building works found in the property. However, where the wordings of such clauses in a provisional agreement are different from that in the subsequent formal agreement, there may be significant impact on the extent of requisitions to which the purchaser of the property is entitled to raise. This principle is well illustrated in a recent Hong Kong Court of First Instance decision.
Can a Vendor Avoid Challenge on Title When Selling a Property with Unauthorized or Illegal Feature(s)?
Introduction In Hong Kong, it is not uncommon that some parts of a property may have unauthorized or illegal structures or alterations. When such property is sold, it is often in the vendor’s interest to insert provisions into the sale and purchase agreement to limit the extent of its duty to show and give title to the property. In Channel Green Ltd v Huge Grand Ltd CACV 174/2013, the Defendant vendor successfully relied on a contractual provision to bar certain requisitions from the Plaintiff purchaser and forfeited the deposit paid under the sale and purchase agreement when the Plaintiff purchaser refused to complete the transaction.
Back to top

更多

房地產交易

處理香港工業、住宅、寫字樓、零售及商業物業收購及出售交易。本所提供的服務包括:

  • 草擬、磋商、評論招文件及銷售條件、拍賣協議及其他附帶文件,並就此提供法律意見;
  • 調查業權並就業權問題提供法律意見,及發出業權證明書;
  • 就非法構築物及其對物業銷售的影響提供法律意見;
  • 申請並取得地契修訂換地;
  • 樓層及單位分割的法律機制提供法律意見,包括草擬公契分契
  • 就香港法例第545章《土地(為重新發展而強制售賣)條例》下有關強制售賣的現行法例及法定規定提供法律意見;及
  • 就香港法例第117章《印花稅條例》第45條下的法團重組及內部轉讓提供法律意見。 

本所曾代表本地及內地機構投資者、上市公司、地產發展商、信託基金及財團行事

本所曾處理多宗大型交易,其中包括:

  • 收購告士打道151號(現稱安盛中心)一項商業物業層;
  • 收購告士打道66號(現稱筆克大廈)一項商業物業的層;
  • 出售力寶中心兩個寫字樓單位;及
  • 收購葵涌一幢工業大廈,交易作價為港幣2.55億元。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的房地產業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 property@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

借「人頭」購買住宅物業避印花稅, 置業人士及「人頭」均須負刑責及其他風險
簡介 為冷卻熾熱的香港樓市,政府在2016年11月提高了所有住宅物業買賣的從價印花稅,不論物業的價格或價值,均劃一徵收樓價的15%。但香港永久性居民如代表自己購買住宅物業、而且在購買之時在香港並無擁有任何其他住宅物業,則可申請豁免,納較低的稅率(即從價印花稅第2標準稅率)(「首置豁免」)。 對於非香港永久性居民及/或已在香港擁有住宅物業的香港永久性居民(統稱「置業人士」)而言,為了節省從價印花稅,借用其他在香港沒有擁有住宅物業的香港永久性居民的名義(俗稱借「人頭」)來置業可能是個很吸引的做法。置業人士可能與「人頭」作出協定或安排,使用「人頭」的名義作為住宅物業的買方(「交易」)。如是者,置業人士及「人頭」的行為均可能構成刑事罪行及須負上其他風險及責任。
臨時協議與正式協議出現差異時,可提出業權質詢嗎?
簡介 在過往的多篇文章中,我們討論過關於涉及違例建築工程(即「僭建物」)的物業買賣的問題。一般而言,物業如有僭建物,將影響賣家履行展示物業妥善業權的責任。因此,該等交易的正式買賣協議往往會加入條款,禁止買家對物業的具體僭建物提出業權質詢。 然而,倘若臨時協議中該等條款的字眼與其後的正式協議不同,則可能對買家有權提出質詢的範圍有重大影響。在香港近期一宗案件中,高等法院原訟法庭的裁決充分說明了這個原則。
出售有違例情況的物業時,賣家能否避免業權受質疑?
簡介 在香港,物業帶有未經授權或違例構築物或改建的情況並不罕見。出售這類物業時,買賣協議往往會加入條款,限制賣方證明及給予物業業權的程度,以保障賣方的利益。在Channel Green Ltd v Huge Grand Ltd CACV 174/2013一案中,被告人(賣方)成功倚賴一項合約條文拒絕原告人(買方)提出若干業權查詢,並在買方拒絕成交後沒收買方已根據買賣協議支付的訂金。
Back to top