More

Authorised Funds & Products

The SFC has established measures to protect investors and one of the key measures is authorisation of funds and products. Funds and similar products must be authorised by the SFC before they can be marketed to the public in Hong Kong such that investment funds and products meet the regulatory requirements and provide adequate information in the product offering document for investors to make informed investment decisions.

With over 2,000 retail investment funds authorised by the SFC, Hong Kong is an important asset management and fund distribution centre. Our Asset Management & Funds team has strong experience to assist our clients to obtain SFC’s authorisations by helping to ensure funds are complied with the requirements contemplated in the SFC Handbook for Unit Trusts and Mutual Funds, Investment-Linked Assurance Schemes and Unlisted Structured Investment Products. We assist our clients by providing them with a proper structure, well-defined investment guidelines and restrictions, ongoing disclosure requirements and other requirements related to the fund’s daily administration.

If you would like to know more about our Asset Management & Funds practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at cc@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

SFC provides licensing guidance for private equity firms and family offices
In Hong Kong, there is a lack of specific licensing requirements for both private equity firms (“PE firms”) and family offices. The Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571, the “SFO”) provides for an activity-based licensing regime for entities and persons carrying on regulated activities (“RAs”). Whether specific licenses are required for carrying on the activities of any given PE firm or family office will depend on the scope of business and the power conferred on the management of the entity. In response to the enquiries from industry participants and their professional advisers, the Securities and Futures Commission (the “SFC”) has recently issued two circulars on the licensing obligations of PE firms and family offices, respectively, when conducting business in Hong Kong. Two separate email enquiry mailboxes have also been set up by the SFC to handle enquiries in relation to the licensing of PE firms (at enquiry.pefirm@sfc.hk) and family offices (at enquiry.familyoffice@sfc.hk). In the circular to PE firms, the SFC provides guidance on the licensing requirements for general partners of PE firms’, investment committee members and fund marketing activities. This circular also clarifies how the SFC assesses PE firms’ discretionary investment authority and investments in securities of private companies as well as the industry experience requirements for their responsible officers. On the other hand, in the circular to family offices, the SFC provides guidance on how its licensing regime applies to family offices carrying out asset management or other services in Hong Kong. Further, this circular explains the application of the SFC’s licensing regime for both single and multi-family offices.
SFC’s response to initial coin offerings in Hong Kong
On 19 March 2018, the Securities and Futures Commission (the “SFC”) published a press release in relation to its regulatory action taken against Black Cell Technology Limited (“Black Cell”), an Initial Coin Offerings (“ICO”) issuer. As a result of the action taken, Black Cell has halted its ICO and undertaken not to devise, set up or market any scheme that constitute collective investment scheme (“CIS”) as defined under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571) (the “SFO”) without complying with the relevant statutory requirements. The SFC has again reminded investors for the risk of investing in ICO and digital tokens.
SFC unveils new regulatory framework for investments in virtual assets
Under existing regulatory remits in Hong Kong, market for virtual assets is not subject to the oversight of the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (the “SFC”) if the virtual assets fall outside the ambit of the definition of “securities” or “futures contracts” under section 2 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”). On 1 November 2018, the SFC issued the “Statement on regulatory framework for virtual assets portfolios managers, fund distributors and trading platform operators” (the “Statement”) and the accompanying “Circular to intermediaries – Distribution of virtual asset funds” (the “Circular”) in light of a growing investor’s interest in virtual assets investment and the inadequacy of the existing regime under the SFO to protect the investors from risks associated with investing in virtual assets, namely valuation, volatility and liquidity risks, accounting risk, cybersecurity risk, risk of money laundering and fraud etc.. A more robust approach in dealing with regulations on virtual assets market is set out in the Statement and the Circular in the hope of providing the investors with stronger protections from the risks associated with virtual assets investment. The Statement delineates the regulatory standard expected of virtual asset portfolio managers and virtual assets fund distributors and outlines the conceptual framework for licensing and regulating virtual asset trading platform operators.
Back to top

更多

認可基金及產品

基金及投資產品的認可制度是證監會為保障投資者而制定的主要措施之一。基金及類似的投資產品必須獲證監會認可,方可在香港向公眾銷售,從而確保投資基金及產品符合監管規定,並在產品銷售文件向投資者提供充足的資料,讓投資者作出有根據的投資決定。

香港是重要的資產管理及基金分銷中心,有超過2,000個獲證監會認可零售投資基金。我們的資產管理及基金團隊擁有豐富經驗,能協助客戶確保其基金符合《證監會有關單位信託及互惠基金、與投資有關的人壽保險計劃及非上市結構性投資產品的手冊》的要求,以取得證監會認可。我們能協助客戶制定適當的產品結構、清晰的投資指引及限制、遵守持續披露規定以及與基金日常行政有關的其他規定。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的資產管理及基金業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 cc@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

證監會提供適用於私募股本公司及家族辦公室的申領牌照指引
香港並無專為私募股本公司及家族辦公室而設的發牌制度。香港法例第571章《證券及期貨條例》為從進行受規管活動的實體及人士提供以活動為基礎的發牌制度,而一間私募股本公司或家族辦公室是否須就其從事的活動申領特定牌照,取決於其業務範圍和管理層獲授予的權力。因應業界人士及其專業顧問的查詢,證券及期貨事務監察委員會最近分別就私募股本公司及家族辦公室在香港經營業務時的申領牌照責任發出了兩份通函,並設立了兩個電郵地址,以便處理公眾就私募股本公司(enquiry.pefirm@sfc.hk)及家族辦公室(enquiry.familyoffice@sfc.hk)有關證監會牌照事宜的查詢。在致私募股本公司的通函中,證監會就私募股本公司的普通合夥人、投資委員會成員及基金推廣活動的發牌規定提供了指引。此通函亦澄清了證監會如何評估私募股本公司的酌情投資權及對私人公司證券的投資,以及適用於負責人員的行業經驗規定。而在致家族辦公室的通函中,證監會亦提供指引,說明其發牌制度如何適用於在香港進行資產管理或其他服務的家族辦公室。此通函還說明了證監會發牌制度對單一家族辦公室及多家族辦公室的適用情況。
證監會就香港的首次代幣發行作出回應
於2018年3月19日,證券及期貨事務監察委員會就其對首次代幣發行人Black Cell Technology Limited採取的監管行動發出新聞稿。因應證監會採取的行動,Black Cell停止在香港進行首次代幣發行,並承諾除非已符合相關法例規定,否則不會設計、訂立或推廣任何構成《證券及期貨條例》(香港法例第571章)所界定的「集體投資計劃」的計劃。證監會再次提醒投資者,須注意投資ICO及數碼代幣的風險。
證監會就虛擬資產投資制定新的監管框架
在香港現時的監管制度下,只要虛擬資產不屬於《證券及期貨條例》(「該條例」)第2條「證券」或「期貨合約」定義的範圍內,虛擬資產市場便不受證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)監管。 鑒於投資者對虛擬資產投資的興趣日漸增加,而現時該條例在投資虛擬資產的相關風險方面(即估值、波動性及流通性風險、會計風險、網絡保安風險、洗錢風險及欺詐等)為投資者提供保障並不足夠,證監會於2018年11月1日發出了「有關針對虛擬資產投資組合的管理公司、基金分銷商及交易平台營運者的監管框架的聲明」(「該聲明」)及伴隨的「致中介人的通函──分銷虛擬資產基金」(「該通函」),訂明了更有力的監管方針,以期就虛擬資產投資的相關風險為投資者提供更佳保障。 該聲明述明了虛擬資產投資組合的管理公司及虛擬資產基金分銷商應達到的監管標準,以及闡述了監管及發牌予虛擬資產交易平台營運者的概念性框架。
Back to top