More

Patents

The majority of successful world class companies hold large number of patents. For instance, IBM earned a record of approximately 9,100 U.S. patents in 2018, Samsung placed second with 5,850, whereas other tech giants such as Microsoft and Apple also placed in the top ten, with over 2,000 patents each.

Therefore, failure to recognize the existence or importance of patents or to handle patents issues in your business could lead to substantial loss or incur legal liability with astronomical financial consequence. For example, in 2018, Apple was awarded over US$533 million in damages for Samsung’s infringement of three of Apple’s design patents, covering various designs of the famous iPhone and iPad respectively. It is important to note that you may infringe a patent not only by making a patent product, but also selling and even using it.

We have assisted our clients in drafting over 180 patent specifications in a wide range of different sectors, including network transmission system, method of generating energy, automatic folding fan, battery adaptor, an automatic motor-output-redirection system, lead acid battery, civil engineering method, garment strength enhancement, tailoring method, chemical method for disinfection, face ID method, etc. We have also prosecuted the relevant patents in various countries including the US, Europe, PRC, South Korea, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and others.

Some of our recent work include:

  • Advising and assisting a major conglomerate in applying for and obtaining patent protection over new technologies in relation to the construction and engineering sector;
  • Filing and prosecution of patent applications in the U.S. for a local Hong Kong company in its innovative research and creations in relation to ion batteries; and
  • Drafting and filing patent PCT, EU, and New Zealand patent applications for local entrepreneurs and companies, including leading companies in environmental sciences. 

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

How Can an Employer Claim Against Former Employee for Making Similar Patent Applications?
In Acron International Technology Limited v Chan Yiu Wai & Anor HCA 1709/2010 (date of judgment: 25 January 2016), the Court of First Instance delivered the first-ever judgment on section 57(1) of the Patents Ordinance. The Plaintiff succeeded in its claim against one of its former employees who had made a patent application which is similar to a technology developed by the Plaintiff after their termination of employment with the Plaintiff.
Can I continue shipping products if I am being sued for patent infringement? A summary of the Court’s considerations
In Illumina Cambridge ltd v MGI Tech Co., Ltd and Others [2021] HKCFI 3264, the Plaintiff claimed against the Defendants on the ground that the Defendants’ products and services (the “Products and Services”) infringed the Plaintiff’s Hong Kong patent (the “Patent”). The Court of First Instance rejected the Plaintiff’s application to disallow the Defendants from continuing with the transhipment of the Products and Services to their overseas customers (“Overseas Customers”) pending trial and seek disclosure of the customers and suppliers of the Defendants.
Is an Invention in Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research Patentable?
The ethics in the use of stem cells in research remains one of the most controversial aspects in the development and application of biological science. The recent decision of International Stem Cell Corporation v Comptroller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (Case C-364/13) by the Court of Justice of the European Union in December 2014 marks an important development in European law on the issue of whether such invention is patentable. This article examines the CJEU’s decision in this case and explains its significance.
Back to top

更多

專利

大多數業務成功的世界級公司均持有大量專利權。例如,國際商業機器IBM2018年便取得破紀的約9,100項美國專利,三星以5,850項專利緊隨其後,而微軟及蘋電腦等大型科技企業亦名列前十位,各自持有逾2,000項專利。


企業如未意識到專利的存在或其重要性,或者未處理其專利問題,可能會招致嚴重的損失,甚至是須承擔相關侵權的法律責任,涉及的金錢損失可達天文數字。例如2018年,三星就因為侵犯蘋果電腦三項設計專利分別包括iPhoneiPad等受歡迎產品的設計外觀而須向蘋果電腦賠償超過5.33億美元。必須注意的是,侵犯專利並非僅指製造有專利的產品,出售及使用有專利的產品亦屬侵犯專利的行為。

我們曾協助客戶撰寫的專利說明書超過180涵蓋不同行業,包括網絡傳送系、產生能量的方法、自動摺合風扇、電池適配器自動馬達輸出換向系統、水電池、工程建築方法、服裝承托力改善方法、服裝訂造方法、化學消毒方法、人臉識別方法等等。我們亦在美國、歐洲、中國、南韓、日本澳洲、新西蘭等多個國家處理有關專利申請。


我們曾處理個案包括:

  • 為一家大財團提供法律意見,協助其就建築工程行業的新技術申請並取得專利保護
  • 為一家香港公司就其關於離子電池的創新研究和發明在美國提交及處理專利申請;及
  • 為本地多企業公司(包括大型環境科學企業草擬及提交國際、歐盟新西蘭專利申請。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

前僱員申請類似專利,僱主可如何追究?
在Acron International Technology Limited v Chan Yiu Wai & Anor HCA 1709/2010(裁決日期:2016年1月25日)一案中,原告人成功控告一名前僱員在終止受僱後,申請一項與原告人開發的技術相似的專利,這是原訟法庭首次就《專利條例》第57(1) 條作出裁決。
被控侵犯專利仍可繼續付運產品嗎?概述法院考慮的因素
在Illumina Cambridge Ltd v MGI Tech Co., Ltd and Others [2021] HKCFI 3264一案中,原告人控告被告人的產品及服務侵犯原告人在香港的專利(「該專利」),並申請於等候審訊期間禁止被告人繼續將其產品及服務轉運至其海外客戶(「海外客戶」),及要求披露被告人的客戶及供應商資料,但上述申請被原訟法庭駁回。
涉及人類胚胎幹細胞研究的發明是否可享專利?
幹細胞研究用途的道德問題,一直是生物科學發展和應用中最具爭議的課題之一。2014年12月歐洲聯盟法院審結的International Stem Cell Corporation v Comptroller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (Case C-364/13) 一案,是關於這類發明在歐洲法律下是否可享專利的重要案例。本文將審視歐盟法院在此案的裁決及闡釋其重要性。
Back to top