More

Recognition & Enforcement of Judgment and Arbitral Award in China

Within two decades since the return of Hong Kong’s sovereignty to China, the courts of Hong Kong and Mainland China have handled more than 20,000 judicial assistance cases in accordance with various arrangements and respective local legislations. The establishment of mutual legal assistance system has protected the litigants’ legitimate interests, facilitating the social exchanges and economic development between the two jurisdictions.

We assist Hong Kong companies in enforcing court judgments and arbitral awards obtained in the PRC and Hong Kong by virtue of the “Arrangement on Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region”, the “Arrangement on Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Civil Judgments in Matrimonial and Family Cases by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” and the “Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards Between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region”, etc.

Our China Practice team can represent Hong Kong companies in litigations and arbitrations in the PRC and assist them in enforcing judgments and arbitral awards in the PRC. We can also assist clients in obtaining injunctions and other interim measures in the PRC pursuant to the “Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region”, pending the determination of the arbitration in Hong Kong.

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Opposing the Enforcement of PRC Arbitral Award on Public Policy Ground? Not as Easy as You Think!
Introduction Pursuant to the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, subject to certain conditions, Hong Kong courts shall enforce arbitral awards made by recognized PRC arbitral authorities; and vice versa, the designated PRC courts shall enforce Hong Kong arbitral awards. One of the conditions under which Hong Kong courts may refuse to enforce a PRC arbitral award is where the enforcement of the award would be contrary to public policy. The Court of Appeal decision Gao Haiyan & Anor v Keeneye Holdings Ltd & Anor [2012] 1 HKC 335 illustrates the Court’s narrow and stringent interpretation of the public policy ground for refusal of enforcement of arbitral award.
When Can a Person be Prosecuted in Hong Kong for a Cross-border Crime?
In modern times, with the advancement of technologies, some crimes are no longer restricted by geographic or territorial limits. A person does not necessarily have to be physically present in the place where the crime is intended to take place. A crime can also be committed in a place where the intended results occur elsewhere. In such kind of cross-border crimes, do Hong Kong Courts have jurisdiction to try the crimes? This article explores the extra-territorial criminal jurisdiction of the Courts in Hong Kong.
Updates on the mutual enforcement of arbitral awards between the PRC and the HKSAR
Prior to the transfer of sovereignty over Hong Kong in 1997, mutual enforcement of arbitral awards between the PRC and Hong Kong was carried out pursuant to the New York Convention (the United Nations Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards). However, as Hong Kong then became a Special Administrative Region of the PRC in 1997, such an arrangement ceased to apply as it is only applicable between sovereign states. Without the New York Convention in place, there had been a period when it was difficult to enforce PRC arbitral awards in Hong Kong and vice versa before the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the “Arrangement”) came into effect in February 2000. Pursuant to the Arrangement, enforcement of PRC arbitral awards in Hong Kong and enforcement of Hong Kong arbitral awards in the PRC are again made possible. Yet, the Arrangement contains several limitations which had, in the past, led to some applications for enforcing arbitral awards prone to being refused by the PRC and Hong Kong Courts.
Back to top

更多

內地判決與裁決之承認與執行

在香港主權回歸國的首20年,兩地法院依據各項安排和各自本地立法已經辦理了司法協助案件2萬多件,兩地司法協助制度的建立維護了當事人的合法權益,促進了兩地的社會交流與經濟發展。

我們根據《關於內地與香港特別行政區法院相互認可和執行民商事案件判決的安排》、《關於內地與香港特別行政區法院相互認可和執行婚姻家庭民事案件判決的安排》及《關於內地與香港特別行政區相互執行仲裁裁決的安排》等之的規定,協助香港公司執行其在內地及香港取得的法庭判決及仲裁裁決。

我們的中國律師可代表香港公司在內地進行訴訟及仲裁,並可協助他們及後在內地執行有關法庭判決及仲裁裁決。我們亦能夠根據《關於內地與香港特別行政區法院就仲裁程序相互協助保全的安排》協助客戶在等候香港仲裁裁決期間,在內地取得禁制令及其他臨時措施。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

以公共政策為理由反對執行內地仲裁裁決?並非想像中容易
簡介 根據「關於內地與香港特別行政區相互執行仲裁裁決的安排」,除某些情況外,香港法院須執行內地認可仲裁機構作出的仲裁裁決,反過來,內地指定法院亦須執行香港的仲裁裁決。 香港法院其中一個可拒絕執行內地仲裁裁決的理由,是執行該仲裁裁決會違反公共政策。上訴法庭在Gao Haiyan & Anor v Keeneye Holdings Ltd & Anor [2012] 1 HKC 335一案的裁決顯示,法院會狹義及嚴格地解釋拒絕執行仲裁裁決的公共政策理由。
甚麼情況下可在香港檢控觸犯跨境罪行的人?
隨著現代社會科技進步,有些罪行不再受地理或地域限制。犯罪者可以策劃某罪行在某地發生,但他不一定要身處該地;罪行亦可以在一個地方犯下,而犯罪的結果卻在另一個地方發生。對於這類跨境罪行,香港法院是否有審理案件的司法管轄權?本文將會探討香港法院的境外刑事司法管轄權。
中港兩地相互執行仲裁裁決的最新安排
在1997年香港主權移交前,中港兩地是根據《紐約公約》(即《聯合國承認及執行外國仲裁裁決公約》)相互執行仲裁裁決安排的。但《紐約公約》只在主權國之間適用,隨著香港於1997年成為中國的特別行政區,上述安排不再適用。其後一段時間,要在香港執行內地仲裁裁決或在內地執行香港仲裁裁決,都有一定困難,直至《關於內地與香港特別行政區相互執行仲裁裁決的安排》於2000年2月生效,中港兩地才可再次相互執行仲裁裁決。然而,《安排》的若干限制導致部分執行仲裁裁決申請難以獲內地及香港法院批准。
Back to top