More

Contentious Regulatory

We understand the difficulty you face when you or your business is under investigation. At ONC Lawyers, we assist our clients in investigations by regulatory authorities including the Securities and Futures Commission, the Independent Commission Against Corruption, the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Hong Kong Police Force. We also keep our clients accompanied and prepared during interviews and dawn raids to ensure that their rights are safeguarded throughout the entire process.

  • AML

As an international financial centre, Hong Kong attaches significance to safeguarding the integrity of our financial systems by implementing international standards on anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) to deter and detect inward and outward flows of illicit funds. A number of legislations have been put in place to underpin the implementation of the AML/CFT regime in Hong Kong. At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

      • representing and advising clients on AML/CFT related investigations, enquires, interviews, document production and raids brought by the designated relevant authorities including Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Insurance Authority, Securities and Futures Commission and Customs and Excise Department.
      • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615), Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance (Cap. 405), Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455), United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (Cap. 575), United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537), Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526), Import and Export Ordinance (Cap. 60) and Cross-boundary Movement of Physical Currency and Bearer Negotiable Instruments Ordinance (Cap. 629).
      • advising clients on the statutory obligations of reporting suspected money laundering activities to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit.
  • Insider dealing

The definition of insider dealing under the law is complicated. Yet in broad terms, insider dealing takes place when a person buys or sells shares in a listed company when he or she possesses inside information, or information about that listed company which the general public does not have and which, if known to the public, would have an impact on the price of the shares of that company. In light of the severe potential civil sanctions and criminal penalties for contravening the insider dealing provisions, it is vitally important to take due care in every steps to be taken once insider dealing is allegedly to have taken place.  At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:advising clients on investigations and interviews by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC);assisting clients with the handling of search warrants;assisting clients to deal with issues relating to legal professional privilege;advising and acting for clients in both civil and criminal proceedings commenced by the SFC; andadvising and acting for clients who are SFC licensees in disciplinary proceedings commenced by the SFC.

      • advising clients on investigations and interviews by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC);
      • assisting clients with the handling of search warrants;
      • assisting clients to deal with issues relating to legal professional privilege;
      • advising and acting for clients in both civil and criminal proceedings commenced by the SFC; and
      • advising and acting for clients who are SFC licensees in disciplinary proceedings commenced by the SFC. 
  • Anti-bribery & corruption

Corruption occurs when an individual abuses his/her authority for personal gain at the expense of other people. Corruption erodes fairness and the rule of law, and in some cases, puts lives and property at risk. At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

      • advising and representing clients in relation to ICAC investigations, potential criminal liabilities and criminal prosecutions;
      • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap.201);
      • advising companies and individuals of the best practice in respect of anti-bribery and corruption; and
      • advising clients in relation to the establishment of anti-bribery and corruption policies and procedures.
  • Fit and proper / market misconduct investigations

In Hong Kong, different regulatory and enforcement authorities have varying powers to conduct investigations and interviews including dawn raids. When the authorities conduct unannounced inspections at your offices, it is important that their powers are duly exercised. We are able to assist you to respond to any adverse and immediate market conduct events and enforcement activities.  At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team consists of members having worked in in-house roles within both regulators and global financial institutions. In addition, we possess sophisticated document handling software in order for us to search and analyse all the necessary documents and critical information in a prompt manner.                   

Our team has extensive experiences in advising clients on sensitive regulatory investigations, which would put the company or the individual at reputational risk:

      • advising individuals in investigations by the Hong Kong Stock Exchange and/or the Securities and Futures Commission involving market misconduct and corporate governance issues;
      • advising banks and financial institutions in relation to regulatory investigations;
      • advising clients on investigations relating to the presentation of false and misleading information at initial public offerings;
      • attending interviews by the Securities and Futures Commission; and
      • representing clients to make submissions to the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, the Securities and Futures Commission and the Market Misconduct Tribunal. 

If you would like to know more about our regulatory & compliance practice or how we can help you or your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at regcom@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

SFC seeks restoration orders against company and director for misleading prospectus
On 19 June 2020, the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) commenced proceedings in the Market Misconduct Tribunal (“MMT”) against Tianhe Chemicals Group Limited (“Tianhe”) (Stock Code: 1619) and its executive director, Wei Xuan (“Wei”), under section 277 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”) for allegedly issuing Tianhe’s listing prospectus in which the company’s revenue was overstated. The s.277 proceedings are being conducted in parallel with an earlier application made by the SFC on 2 June 2020 under section 213 of the SFO to seek orders from the Court of First Instance to restore all the public shareholders of Tianhe to the position before their subscriptions or purchases of Tianhe’s shares (the “Restoration Proceedings”). By way of background, Tianhe was a company listed on the Main Board of Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (“SEHK”) engaged in the manufacture and sale of chemical products. Morgan Stanley Asia Limited, UBS AG, UBS Securities Hong Kong Limited and Merrill Lynch Far East Limited (the “Sponsors”) were the joint sponsors of the initial public offering (“IPO”) of Tianhe in Hong Kong. Last year, the SFC reprimanded and fined the Sponsors for their failure to conduct due diligence. For details regarding the IPO of Tianhe and the SFC’s action against the Sponsors, please refer to our newsletter published in April 2019. By way of commencing the present MMT proceedings and Restoration Proceedings, the SFC is also seeking to penalise Tianhe and Wei by paying damages to the public shareholders.
Seizing personal digital devices and demanding passwords: To what extent is the SFC entitled to do so?
Introduction In five recent judicial review applications, the Court of First Instance held that the Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) is entitled to seize and retain digital devices during search operations and investigations into suspected breaches of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (“SFO”). The Applicants argued that the SFC’s seizures and continued retention of the digital devices and the notices issued by the SFC for the production of emails and passwords were unlawful, beyond the power of the SFC and interfered with the Applicants’ right to privacy under the Basic Law (“BL”) and the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (“BOR”). The Applicants also sought to challenge the search warrants issued by two Magistrates on the basis that they were unlawful or invalid for want of specificity. The SFC has power, under the SFO, to require production of documents and information, to apply for search warrants and to issue notices to compel a person to attend an interview and to answer questions (with the right to silence abrogated).
How to Deal with the Regulatory Three “C”s Dawn Raids?
Introduction What do you do if someone knocks on your door or comes to your office early in the morning with a search warrant to enter and search your premises? The Independent Commission Against Corruption (“ICAC”), Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) and Competition Commission (“CC”) have the power to gain entry and search premises for investigations. Any company or individual might be subject to a “dawn raid” if the raiding authorities have reasonable grounds to believe or suspect that such a company or individual has contravened particular laws, such as the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201), Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap 571) and the Competition Ordinance (Cap 619).
Back to top

更多

爭訟性的監管事宜

我們明白當客戶或其業務受到調查時所面對的困難。我們能夠協助客戶應對監管機構進行的調查,包括證券及期貨事務監察委員會、廉政公署、香港聯合交易所及香港警務處。我們亦會在執法部門的會面和突擊搜查中陪同客戶,協助客戶做好準備,確保客戶的權益在整個調查過程中獲得保障。

  • 打擊洗錢

作為國際金融中心,香港非常重視金融制度的健全,因此政府依循國際打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的標準,以阻嚇及偵測不法資金的進出。香港設有多項法例,以配合香港的打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資制度。我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

      • 就香港金融管理局、保險業監管局、證券及期貨事務監察委員會以及海關等指定部門進行的打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資調查、查問、會面、索取文件及突擊搜查,代表客戶行事及為客戶提供意見。
      • 就打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的相關法例下的潛在法律責任及義務為客戶提供意見;該等法例包括香港法例第615章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》、第405章《販毒(追討得益)條例》、第455章《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》、第575章《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》、第537章《聯合國制裁條例》、第526章《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》、第60章《進出口條例》以及第629章《實體貨幣及不記名可轉讓票據跨境流動條例》。
      • 就向聯合財富情報組舉報涉嫌洗錢活動的法定責任為客戶提供意見。
  • 內幕交易

內幕交易的法律定義相當複雜,但概括而言,若任何人在買賣上市公司股份時掌握內幕消息,或關于該上市公司而不爲一般公衆所知、但假如爲公衆所知將影響該公司股價的消息,即構成內幕交易。由于違反內幕交易規定可導致嚴重的民事及刑事後果,一旦被指進行了內幕交易,就必須非常謹慎處理。我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,爲客戶提供以下服務:

      • 就證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)調查及會面爲客戶提供意見;
      • 協助客戶處理搜查令;
      • 協助客戶處理關于法律專業保密權的事宜;
      • 在證監會提出的民事及刑事程序中爲客戶提供意見及代表客戶行事;及
      • 在證監會提出的紀律程序中爲證監會持牌人提供意見及代表他們行事。 
  • 防止賄賂及貪污

任何人若濫用其權力令他人受損以換取個人利益,即屬貪污。貪污會損害社會公平和法治,甚至可能令性命及財產受到威脅。我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

      • 就廉政公署的調查、潛在刑事責任及刑事檢控為客戶提供意見及代表客戶行事
      • 就打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資相關法例(包括香港法例第201章《防止賄賂條例》)下的潛在法律責任及義務,為客戶提供意見;
      • 就防止賄賂及貪污的最佳實務守則為公司及個人提供意見;及
      • 就制定防止賄賂及貪污的政策及程序為客戶提供意見。
  • 適當人選及市場失當行為調查

在香港,不同的監管及執法部門具有不同的權力,能進行調查及會面,包括進行突擊搜查。在突擊搜查客戶的辦事處時,有關部門必須妥當行使其權力。我們能協助客戶應對任何不利的突發市場行為事件及執法行動。我們的訴訟及調解爭議團隊成員曾於監管機構或國際金融機構擔任法律顧問。此外,我們亦有先進的文件處理軟件,能夠迅速搜尋和分析一切所需文件和關鍵資料。企業或個人一旦受到監管機構調查,便可能聲譽大受打擊;我們的團隊對於處理這類敏感情況具有豐富經驗,能為客戶提供意見:  

      • 為被指涉及市場失當行為及企業管治問題而受到香港聯合交易所及/或證券及期貨事務監察委員會調查的個人客戶提供意見;
      • 為銀行及金融機構就監管機構的調查提供意見;
      • 為被指在首次公開發售提供虛假及具誤導性資料而受到調查的客戶提供意見;
      • 出席證券及期貨事務監察委員會的會面;及
      • 代表客戶向香港聯合交易所、證券及期貨事務監察委員會及市場失當行為審裁處陳詞。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的金融及證券規管業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 regcom@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

證監會尋求法院對刊發具誤導性招股章程的公司及董事發出回復原狀令
2020年6月19日,證券及期貨事務監察委員會根據《證券及期貨條例》第277條在市場失當行為審裁處對天合化工集團有限公司(股份代號:1619)及其執行董事魏宣展開研訊程序,指天合刊發的上市招股章程誇大了公司收入。除以上程序外,證監會較早前亦於2020年6月2日根據《證券及期貨條例》第213條作出申請,尋求原訟法庭頒令將天合所有公眾股東回復至他們在認購或購買天合股份之前的狀況。天合是一間在香港聯合交易所有限公司主板上市的公司,從事化工產品的生產及銷售業務。天合在香港進行首次公開發售時,由摩根士丹利亞洲有限公司、UBS AG、UBS Securities Hong Kong Limited及Merrill Lynch Far East Limited擔任聯席保薦人。去年,證監會已因該等保薦人沒有進行盡職審查對其作出譴責並處以罰款。有關天合首次公開發售及證監會對該等保薦人採取行動的詳情,請參閱本所2019年4月份的通訊。在審裁處程序及回復程序中,證監會亦尋求天合及魏宣被判向公眾股東支付損害賠償,以作懲罰。
證監會檢取個人數碼裝置及索取密碼的權限
在最近五宗司法覆核申請案件中,原訟法庭裁定,在進行搜查行動和調查涉嫌違反《證券及期貨條例》的行為期間,證券及期貨事務監察委員會有權檢取及扣押數碼裝置。 申請人指,證監會檢取並持續扣押他們的數碼裝置以及發出通知要求他們交出電郵和密碼,是不合法、越權和侵擾了他們在《基本法》及《香港人權法案》下享有的私隱權。申請人亦尋求反對兩名裁判官發出的搜查令,理由是有關搜查令因欠缺具體詳情而不合法或無效。根據《證券及期貨條例》,證監會有權要求交出文件和資料、申請搜查令,及發出通知強制要求任何人士出席會面並回答問題(凌駕其緘默權)。
若監管機構突擊上門搜查,應如何應對?
簡介 假如有人清早持有搜查令來到你的住所或辦事處,要求入內搜查,你會怎樣做?廉政公署(「廉署」)、證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)及競爭事務委員會(「競委會」)擁有進入處所搜查的權力,如果搜查部門有合理理由相信或懷疑某公司或個人違反了特定法例,例如《防止賄賂條例》(香港法例第201章)、《證券及期貨條例》(香港法例第571章)及《競爭條例》(香港法例第619章),該公司或個人便可能被「突擊搜查」。
Back to top