More

Intellectual Property

In this high-tech era, it is unavoidable for us to be involved with intellectual property in one way or another. Novelties, say a bladeless fan, a smart phone or disinfectants, are the fruit of a much research and development that cumulated in patents. While sharing or using information on social media, we could inadvertently also become an infringer if we do not keep a vigilant eye.

Here at ONC, we understand how intellectual property contributes enormously both to technology advancement and economic development. Without adequate protection to intellectual property rights, entrepreneurs could not reap the full benefits of their investment and might become unwilling to innovate. Consumer confidence would also be undermined as the safety and quality of products lack guarantee.

Our Intellectual Property Department offers a wide array of services both in Hong Kong, China and other parts of the world, including both contentious and non-contentious IP work.

We assist our clients in a wide array of IP services, including advising on protection strategies, determining the scope of protection, the registration, exploitation and protection of their intellectual property rights in copyright, trade marks, patents, registered designs, rights in confidential information and other related legal rights, brand management, IP transactions etc., for their products and services.

We represent some of the most world-renowned brands in various industries such as media/entertainment, luxury goods, fashion, electronics and consumables products etc., including many brands that have been identified as the World’s Most Valuable Brands by Forbes and Interbrand.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner

Recommended Posts

How could your FinTech be protected by intellectual property laws in Hong Kong?
The FinTech industry is a highly competitive one driven by innovative ideas and it is essential to devise a comprehensive strategy to protect the products of your innovation and hard work from an early stage. If your FinTech product or service is rooted in ideas and innovation, have you ever think of – How and what extent could your FinTech be protected by Intellectual Property (“IP”) rights? If your business activities involve FinTech, you may need to consider whether and how your interests can be protected in the realm of IP law. In this article, we will start with exploring possible IP protection available to your FinTech, in particular patent protection, followed by protection by copyright for those not patentable parts. After which, protection for your company’s name or your FinTech product or service’s name under the trademark regime will be discussed. Finally, we will share some thoughts regarding possible protection for certain confidential information in relation to your trade, consisting of “know-how” and/or “skills”, which is not typically protected under the patent nor copyright regimes.
Do I infringe others’ copyright by using stream-ripping or file sharing websites?
In the recent cases of Young Turks Recordings Ltd & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 410 (Ch) (“Young Turks”) and Capitol Records & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 409 (Ch) (“Capitol Records”), the UK High Court found that the operators and users of a major stream ripping website and various main cyberlocker (i.e. file hosting/sharing websites) websites (the “Sites”) have infringed the copyright of musical records owned by the claimant record companies. These two cases are the first cases where the UK court has granted orders requiring internet access providers (“ISPs”) to block access to the stream ripping and cyberlocker websites pursuant to section 97A of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988.
Intellectual property issues of non-fungible tokens
On 11 March 2021, Everydays: the First 5000 Days, a non-fungible token (“NFT”) made with a combination of 5000 digital images created by a digital artist known as Beeple was sold for US$69.3 million in an auction house. As with everything related to blockchain technology and cryptocurrency, NFTs have gained huge popularity in recent years, especially among art collectors, graphic artists and musicians. In this article, we will explore possible intellectual property rights issues in NFTs, focusing on the difference between the ownership of NFTs and the copyright ownership of the in the underlying asset in which copyright subsists.
Back to top

更多

知識產權

在這個高科技年代,知識產權與我們的日常生活息息相關:很多新事物,例如無葉風扇或智能手機、消毒水,當中的專利就是大量研發的成果;我們在社交媒體分享或使用資訊時,一不小心,也可能侵犯了別人的知識產權。

 

所深明知識產權對於推動科技進步和經濟發展有著莫大貢獻,要是知識產權得不到充分保護,企業將因為無法完全獲得投資利益而不願創新,而產品的安全和質素也有可能欠缺保證,繼而削弱消費者的信心。

 

我們的知識產權部門在香港內地以及世界各地提供的服務範圍廣泛,包括處理各類爭訟性及非爭訟性知識產權事宜

 

我們為客戶提供的知識產權服務範圍十分廣泛,包括:提供保護策略意見、草擬保護範圍、協助客戶為其產品或服務業務提出註冊申請、應用及保障他們在版權、商標、專利、註冊外觀設計中的知識產權、資料保密權利及其他關的法律權利、品牌管理及知識產權交易等。

 

我們的客戶包括傳媒/娛樂、奢侈品、名牌時裝、電子及消耗品等行業的國際知名品牌,當中不少更是名列《福布斯》及Interbrand全球百大品牌的企業

如閣下希望進一步了解本所以及我們提供的服務,歡迎與我們聯絡,我們非常樂意提供協助。

 

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

律師團隊

伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
楊先恒
楊先恒
合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
楊先恒
楊先恒
合夥人

推薦文章

你的金融科技是否獲得香港知識產權法的保障?
金融科技業是一個由創意帶動的高競爭行業,因此應制定全面策略,及早開始保護你的發明及作品。若你的金融科技產品或服務涉及創新及發明,你有否想過:金融科技如何及多大程度上受到知識產權保護?假如你的業務活動涉及金融科技,你或需考慮你的權益是否及如何受到知識產權法律的保護。在本文中,我們會先講解金融科技可享的知識產權保護(特別是專利保護),以及不受專利保護的金融科技可獲得的版權保護。然後,我們會探討公司名稱、金融科技產品或服務名稱在商標制度下享有的保護。最後,我們將就若干在專利或版權制度下一般不受保護的商業秘密資料(包括「技術訣竅」及/或「技巧」)提出一些想法。
使用串流擷取或檔案共享網站,會否構成侵犯他人版權?
近期在Young Turks Recordings Ltd & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 410 (Ch)及Capitol Records & Ors v British Telecommunications plc & Others [2021] EWHC 409 (Ch)兩宗案例中,英國高等法院裁定,一個大型串流擷取(stream ripping)網站及多個主要網絡貯存平台(cyberlocker,即檔案寄存/共享網站)的營運商及用戶侵犯了索償人唱片公司擁有的音樂錄音版權。在這兩宗案件中,英國法院首次引用《1988年版權、外觀設計及專利法》第97A條,頒令要求網絡服務供應商封鎖涉案的串流擷取網站及網絡貯存平台。
非同質化代幣的知識產權問題
於2021年3月11日,由數碼藝術家Beeple以5000幅數碼圖像組合創造而成,名為「每天:最初的5000天」(Everydays: the First 5000 Days)的非同質化代幣(non-fungible token,「NFT」),在拍賣中以6,930萬美元成交。正如一切與區塊鏈技術及加密貨幣有關的事物一樣,NFT近年越來越受歡迎,在藝術收藏家、平面藝術家及音樂家的圈子尤甚。在本文中,我們將探討NFT的潛在知識產權問題,並集中討論NFT擁有權與相關版權資產的版權擁有權兩者的分別。
Back to top