More

Commercial Fraud

Commercial fraud is on the rising trend and getting more complex across the world. The term “commercial fraud” covers a wide range of activities which may give rise to various causes of actions. Each fraud is unique and requires different approaches to achieve resolution. Typically, perpetrators of commercial fraud would swiftly remit and dissipate the funds lying in the bank account to which they were first remitted to other bank accounts. Therefore, commercial fraud and asset tracing are usually intrinsically related to each other. It is always essential to take prompt actions to identify and preserve the proceeds of fraud so as to mitigate loss and damage and maximize recovery.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works with our well-established network of professionals including forensic accountants and offshore law firms to provide the following services to actual or potential victims of and subjects of investigations relating to commercial fraud:

  • asset tracing;
  • apply for disclosure and gagging orders;
  • applying for Mareva or freezing injunctions;
  • preserving vital documents;
  • assisting in the conduct of forensic investigations;
  • recovering misappropriated assets;
  • advising clients on investigations by and liaising with regulatory authorities such as the Commercial Crime Bureau (CCB), the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC);
  • acting for corporations in conducting internal investigations of suspected fraud;
  • advising and acting for victims of commercial fraud to report to the relevant authorities; and
  • representing clients in any subsequent prosecution and/or court proceedings.

As one of the largest independent law firms in Hong Kong, ONC Lawyers also works as part of a larger team in matters involving multi-jurisdictional or cross-border commercial fraud.

If you would like to know more about our commercial crime practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at criminal@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Helping out a friend in money transactions could land you in jail
In the commercial world, it is not uncommon for people to become business partners with friends and acquaintances who share similar visions and business ideas. However, one should always exercise caution when considering whether to accept business relations with another. In the recent case of HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344, the District Court (the “Court”) held a person “helping a friend out with his business” to be guilty of two money laundering charges.
Non-disclosure of conflicts of interest may be a crime – procurement staff beware
In both public and private sectors, employees of different levels might be empowered to make decisions on engagement of suppliers and contractors etc. It might be very tempting for such employee to procure contracts to be awarded to entities which he or his family members have interests. However, if no proper declaration of interest was made, such employee might be liable for fraud, conspiracy to defraud and/or misconduct in public office (if the person is a public officer).
How to assess whether a series of complicated transactions entered into by a bankrupt were at an undervalue or with intent to defraud creditors?
In the recent case of Yeung Lui Ming and Lai Kar Yan v Tang Mo Lin, Irene and Cheong Tai International Holdings Limited [2019] HKCFI 1848, the Court scrutinized a series of complex transactions that disposed of the assets of a bankrupt and a company controlled by him. The transactions involved transfer of shares held by the bankrupt and sale of cemetery sites held by a company controlled by the bankrupt. The case is a good illustration of how such transactions would be assessed by the Court in the context of s.49 of the Bankruptcy Ordinance (Cap. 6) (“BO”) (transactions at an undervalue) and s.60 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) (“CPO”) (Voidability of dispositions to defraud creditors).
Back to top

更多

商業詐騙

商業詐騙在世界各地均有上升趨勢,而且案情日趨複雜。「商業詐騙」一詞涵蓋多種不同的行為,可能涉及不同的訴訟因由。每項詐騙均有其獨特之處,需採取不同方法來解決問題。一般而言,犯案者會將最初匯入銀行帳戶的資金迅速匯出並分散至其他銀行帳戶。因此,商業詐騙與資產追踪通常從本質上來說是相關的。最重要的是迅速採取行動,以識別及保存欺詐罪行的得益,從而減少損失以及盡可能追回損失。

我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與龐大的專業人士網絡緊密合作,包括法證會計師及離岸律師事務所,為商業詐騙的實際或潛在受害人以及調查對象提供以下服務:

  • 資產追蹤;
  • 申請披露及禁言令;
  • 申請資產凍結令或凍結強制令;保存重要文件;
  • 協助進行法證調查;
  • 追討被挪用資產;
  • 就商業罪案調查科、廉政公署及證券及期貨事務監察委員會等監管機構的調查為客戶提供法律意見,並與上述監管機構聯絡;
  • 代表公司客戶就涉嫌詐騙進行內部調查;
  • 為商業詐騙的受害人提供法律意見,並代表他們向有關當局舉報;
  • 在任何其後檢控及/或法庭程序中代表客戶行事。

本所是香港最大型的獨立律師事務所之一,亦會與其他相關人士合作,處理涉及不同司法管轄區及跨境商業詐騙的事宜。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的商業罪行業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 criminal@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

協助朋友處理金錢交易可能招致嚴重刑責
在商業世界中,不少人會與有著相似的願景及營商理念的朋友成為生意夥伴。然而,在考慮是否與他人建立業務關係時,應時刻審慎行事。最近在 HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344 一案中,區域法院裁定一名聲稱「協助朋友處理業務」的人觸犯兩項洗黑錢罪。
採購人員注意:不披露利益衝突可構成罪行
不論在公營或私營機構,各級僱員都可能獲授權決定選用哪些供應商及承辦商,僱員或會希望把合約批給與其本人或其親屬有利益的公司。然而,假如沒有適當地利益申報,有關僱員可能會觸犯欺詐、串謀詐騙及/或(如屬公職人員)公職人員行為失當的罪行。
如何評定破產人訂立的一連串複雜交易是否價格偏低或意圖詐騙債權人?
最近在Yeung Lui Ming and Lai Kar Yan v Tang Mo Lin, Irene and Cheong Tai International Holdings Limited [2019] HKCFI 1848一案中,法院審視了一名破產人及其控制的公司出售資產的一連串複雜交易。此等交易涉及轉讓該破產人持有的股份以及出售其控制的公司持有的墓地。本案清楚說明了法院如何根據香港法例第6章《破產條例》第49條(以低於一般價值而訂立的交易)及第219章《物業轉易及財產條例》第60條(為詐騙債權人而作出的產權處置可使無效)評定上述交易。
Back to top