More

Emerging Technologies & Cybersecurity

Hong Kong is one of the leading technology hubs Globally. Known for the high degree of technology adoption in her infrastructure, we understand the importance of synchronizing our client’s technical innovativeness with the latest legal developments. ONC’s Emerging Technologies and Cybersecurity Team is uniquely poised to help deliver the most efficient solutions to exciting and complex finance and tech-related matters where we use our expertise to advise medical device manufacturers, pharmaceutical companies, providers and funders of medical technology, trade associations and intermediaries in this sector.

With practitioners being drawn directly from fields of healthcare informatics, artificial intelligence (AI) and law enforcement agencies (prior to their respective entry into their respective legal practices), ONC’s team is in a unique position to deliver industry-centric solutions unavailable at traditional pure law practices.

Here at ONC, we understand that technology is ever changing at groundbreaking speed. What is today’s invention will quickly become the standard of tomorrow, and quick action is essential.

ONC’s perspective of the lawyer’s role in emerging technology is a unique one and our multidisciplinary team is industry natural, whether it is tied to med-tech, or cybersecurity and blockchain related technologies focused on protecting the confidentiality, privacy, authentication and integrity of data exchange, our experienced team provides assistance and knowledge across the comprehensive product and business development lifecycles.

The technology industry presents a myriad of challenges and our team can help our client navigate such challenges in the following area:

  • Communications and Information Technology
  • Consumer data protection
  • Critical infrastructure cybersecurity
  • Data breach preparedness and response plans
  • Employee Data Privacy
  • Financial data protection
  • Government contracting advice
  • Health Information Privacy and Security
  • International cybersecurity, privacy and data protection
  • Technology centric litigations

Our team has experience advising and/or representing a wide range of clients. These includes:

  • Tech Start-Ups
  • Financial and Institutions
  • Regulated/Statutory Bodies
  • Medical Device Manufacturers and Pharmaceutical Companies
  • Multi-National Conglomerates
  • Listed Companies
  • Virtual Assets Trading Platforms

Our team of lawyers have acted in a number of novel matter within the FinTech/MedTech realm. Some highlights of the past experiences of our practitioners includes:

  • Representing one of the world’s largest crypto-exchanges in Hong Kong’s first litigation involving cryptocurrency transactions
  • Representing a multi-national healthcare equipment provider before the Review Body on Bid Challenges under the WTO Government Procurement Agreement in a tender dispute.
  • Advising various clients on a number of novel tokenization projects including but not limited to Initial Coin Offerings (“ICO”), Security Token Offerings (“STO”) and Initial Exchange Offerings (“IEO”).
  • Monitoring and supervising the compliance of international electronic sports (“e-Sport”) tournament.
  • Assessing and advising multi-national corporation’s cybersecurity integrity in the context of regulatory (SFC) concerns.
  • Advising multi-national corporation on e-commerce tax planning and representing on their behalf before the Inland Revenue Department.
  • Representing medical practitioners in healthcare related litigations.
  • Advising manufacturers regarding advertising, product information, packaging, safety, recall, liaising with regulatory authorities and managing customer communications.

If you would like to know more about our Emerging Technologies and Cybersecurity practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at techcyber@onc.hk

 Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner
Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner

Recommended Posts

The regulatory trend for cross-border data transfers: A (temporary) step away from globalisation?
When Australia and Hong Kong entered into a landmark bilateral free trade agreement back in 2019, one of the cornerstone features of the agreement includes both respect jurisdictions declaration of commitments to the policy of free flow of data. Such policies reflect the growing importance of services and investment to trade where the liberalization of trade is no longer just about tariffs, but also has a digital emphasis with the impact of data flows for trading services (e.g. e-commerce) and investing in foreign markets gaining ever greater importance. Suffice it to say, much has happened since the early months of 2019 and with nations around the world backtracking away from globalization (for the time being at least) owing to political intrigues, such divides are echoed in some reversals of cross-border data transfer policies.
Understanding how Blockchain’s immutability actually makes it more AML compliant than cash
The banning of cryptocurrency trading in China can be traced back to as early as June 2019 during which Mainland authorities cited “potential” money laundering concerns as the rationale for their decision. Despite the ban however, the possession of cryptocurrency was still very much legal in China, leading to a continuation of trade via various online services despite the earlier ban. Recently, with the largely anticipated launch of e-RMB being within sight, a further crackdown against cryptocurrency (many believing it to be a competition to the new e-RMB) can be seen with CITIC Bank of China issuing a statement prohibiting their clients from using their accounts for Bitcoin transactions.
At the forefront of the future for collectibles-related fundraising: An exclusive face-to-face with Co-Founder of Coinllectibles
When Elon Musk announced earlier this year that Tesla will start accepting Bitcoins as payment for its vehicles, the announcement took the crypto-market by the storm with value of Bitcoins and other cryptocurrency skyrocketing for a second time in history. It was also during this same period that Non-Fungible Tokens (“NFTs”) began to mainstream. It is therefore with great pleasure that our firm is able to provide our readers with first-hand information from one of the pioneer of NFTs in Hong Kong. Seasoned securitisation veteran Julian So is pioneering the effort to thrust the use of blockchain and non-fungible tokens (“NFTs”) into the scene for collectibles and other related asset classes in Hong Kong and Asia. In a recent move, Julian has co-founded a blockchain company seeking to redefine and improve market practices in arts and collectibles with law and technology. His vision is simple yet ambitious: to apply the tools offered by blockchain to real world assets in order to solve real-world problems.
Back to top

更多

科技

香港是全球領先的科技樞紐之一創新的科技廣泛應用於各項基建建設ONC 柯伍陳律師事務所明白協助客戶的創新科技符合最新法規的重要性我們的科技團隊具備獨有優勢能為客戶的複雜金融及科技項目提供高效的解決方案運用我們的專業知識為醫療設備生產商、藥廠醫療科技供應商及投資者貿易商會及業內中介人提供法律意見

我們的律師在投身法律行業前,曾任職於醫療信息人工智能領域及執法機構因此我們比一般律師能更針對行業的需要為客戶提供適切的解決方案

我們明白科技發展不斷推陳出新今天的新發明,明天已成普及事物因此企業的行動必須迅速在新興科技領域律師擔當著獨特角色而我們的律師團隊來自不同學科對不同範疇均有深入認識不論是著重保持機密私隱鑒證及完整數據交換的醫療科技網絡安全或區塊鏈技術我們經驗豐富的團隊均能在整個產品及業務發展周期提供協助和專業知識

科技行業面對的挑戰繁多ONC 柯伍陳律師事務所能協助客戶在以下範疇解決各種難題

  • 通訊及資訊科技
  • 顧客資料保護
  • 關鍵基建的網絡安全
  • 資料洩漏的預防及應變計劃
  • 僱員資料私隱
  • 財務資料保護
  • 政府合約提供法律意見
  • 醫療資料私隱及安全
  • 國際間的網絡安全、私隱及資料保護
  • 科技事宜的訴訟

我們曾為來自眾多不同領域的客戶提供意見經驗豐富我們的客戶包括

  • 初創科技公司
  • 金融機構
  • 監管/法定機構
  • 醫療設備生產商及醫藥公司
  • 跨國集團
  • 上市公司
  • 虛擬資產交易平台

我們的律師團隊曾代表客戶處理金融科技醫療科技領域的嶄新事務我們經驗包括

  • 在香港首宗涉及加密貨幣交易的訴訟中代表全球最大的加密貨幣交易所之一
  • 就一宗世貿政府採購協議下的投標糾紛代表一間跨國醫療設備供應商出席投標投訴審裁組織的聆訊
  • 為不同客戶就新的代幣化項目提供意見包括但不限於首次代幣發行ICO)、證券型代幣發行STO及首次交易所發行IEO)。
  • 監察及監督國際電競比賽遵守法規
  • 為跨國公司評估監機機構證監會所關注的網絡安全問題並提供意見
  • 為跨國企業就電子商貿的稅務規劃提供意見並代表他們與稅務局聯絡。
  • 代表醫療人員處理醫療相關訴訟
  • 為生產商提供關於廣告產品資料包裝安全回收等事宜的意見並與監管機構聯絡及管理與顧客的溝通

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的新興科技及網絡安全業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至techcyber@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

衞紹宗
衞紹宗
合夥人
衞紹宗
衞紹宗
合夥人

推薦文章

數據跨境轉移的監管趨勢:(暫時)遠離全球化的一步?
澳洲與香港於2019年簽署了一項標誌性的雙邊自由貿易協議,其中一項重要特點是雙方均發出承諾數據自由流動政策的聲明。此政策反映了服務和投資對貿易的重要性日益增加,貿易自由化不再只是與關稅有關,而且更著重數據流動對貿易服務(例如電子商務)和投資海外市場日益重要的影響。自2019年初以來的眾多事件反映出許多國家基於政治形勢而在全球化問題上正在走回頭路(至少目前如此),而這種分歧亦反映於跨境數據轉移的政策方面。
單憑碳信用能否令交易變得環保?| ISDA 白皮書 | 負碳排加密貨幣時代來臨
Tesla(特拉斯)於2021年3月破天荒地宣布接受以比特幣買車的計劃,但不到兩個月,便表示由於擔心比特幣耗用大量能源,對環境造成負擔,因而撤回計劃。然而,創辦人馬斯克(Elon Musk)在公告中補充指,假如能解決環保問題,Tesla會考慮重新接受比特幣付款。
獨家專訪Coinllectibles的聯合創辦人:開拓以收藏品集資的模式
今年較早時候,伊隆 ∙ 馬斯克(Elon Musk)宣佈將接受以比特幣付款購買特斯拉(Tesla)汽車,引起加密貨幣市場哄動,比特幣和其他加密貨幣的價值歷來第二次飆升。同一期間,非同質化代幣(non-fungible token,「NFT」)開始進入主流。我們很榮幸能訪問香港其中一位NFT先驅,為讀者提供第一手資料。 在資產證券化領域經驗豐富的蘇漢明律師,正率先推動在香港和亞洲的收藏品及其他相關資產類別使用區塊鏈及NFT。最近,蘇律師與他人共同創辦了一家區塊鏈公司,希望藉著法律及科技重新定義及改善藝術品和收藏品市場的慣例。他的願景簡單而宏大:將區塊鏈提供的工具應用於現實世界的資產,以解決現實世界的問題。
Back to top