More

Commercial Crime

At ONC Lawyers, our experienced team advises clients and represents their interests in investigations by regulatory authorities and in related civil and/or criminal proceedings.       

Our key types of work relating to commercial crime include:

If you would like to know more about our commercial crime practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at criminal@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Dominic Wai
Dominic Wai
Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner

Recommended Posts

Agents, brokers and intermediaries beware: When is it not a crime to receive commissions and rebates after you have helped someone?
On 1 June 2020, the Court of Final Appeal (the “CFA”) handed down its decision in HKSAR v Chu Ang FACC No. 6 of 2019 (on appeal from HCMA No. 119 of 2018 [2020] HKCFA 18) allowing the prosecution’s appeal and setting aside the lower courts’ previous rulings that there was no case for the Defendant to answer. The leave to appeal was granted on the basis that it was reasonably arguable that there had been a substantial and grave injustice in the misapplication of section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201) (“POBO”).
Offering client’s son a job to get a deal – is that bribery?
A Hong Kong logistics group went public in December 2013 but behind the scene, there was an alleged bribery involving the former managing director (the “Defendant”) of an international financial institution (“JPM”) and the son of the director of a company (“K Holdings”) in getting the IPO deal. It was not until February this year did the Court hand down judgment in acquitting the Defendant of the charge of offering an advantage to an agent.
Helping out a friend in money transactions could land you in jail
In the commercial world, it is not uncommon for people to become business partners with friends and acquaintances who share similar visions and business ideas. However, one should always exercise caution when considering whether to accept business relations with another. In the recent case of HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344, the District Court (the “Court”) held a person “helping a friend out with his business” to be guilty of two money laundering charges.
Back to top

更多

商業罪案

我們的團隊素有經驗,曾為眾多客戶就不同監管機構的調查和相關民事及/或刑事訴訟提供法律意見及代表他們行事。

我們就商業罪案提供的主要服務範疇包括:

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的商業罪行業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 criminal@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
衞紹宗
衞紹宗
合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
衞紹宗
衞紹宗
合夥人

推薦文章

代理人、經紀人及中介人注意: 在甚麼情況下就協助他人而收受佣金及回扣會構成罪行?
2020年6月1日,終審法院就香港特別行政區 訴 趙鶯 (終審法院刑事上訴2019年第6號;[2020] HKCFA 18)(原高等法院裁判法院上訴2018年第119號)一案頒下裁決,裁定控方上訴得直,並撤銷下級法院較早前指被告人無須答辯的裁決。終審法院乃基於以下理由而給予上訴許可:由於香港法例第201章《防止賄賂條例》第9條被錯誤應用,故本案有可能存在實質及嚴重的不公平情況。
披露利益衝突的持續責任及重要性
在香港特別行政區 訴 劉文建 [2021] HKCFI 3078一案中,原訟法庭審理了一宗來自裁判法院的上訴案,案件涉及普通法的公職人員行為失當罪。本案說明了如何應用在Sin Kam Wah v HKSAR (2005) 8 HKCFAR 192這宗重要案例中重新制定的原則。
協助朋友處理金錢交易可能招致嚴重刑責
在商業世界中,不少人會與有著相似的願景及營商理念的朋友成為生意夥伴。然而,在考慮是否與他人建立業務關係時,應時刻審慎行事。最近在 HKSAR v Man Yiu Pun [2020] HKCA 344 一案中,區域法院裁定一名聲稱「協助朋友處理業務」的人觸犯兩項洗黑錢罪。
Back to top