More

China Law

China has become the largest and fastest-growing market in the world in many areas and aspects. At ONC Lawyers, we are poised to provide “one-stop” China legal services for our clients in Hong Kong and any part of the world to develop their business in China.

Our China Practice team has unrivalled experience in handling corporate governance matters, transactions, intellectual property rights and dispute resolutions in China. We understand clients’ concerns about PRC and cross-border legal issues and identify solutions to them, assisting them in achieving their important business goals.

China is a complex, ever-changing market with local variations. Having maintained strong ties with established law firms in medium and large cities in China, our China Practice team is well-positioned to work with senior local lawyers who are conversant with local laws to tackle the legal issues for our clients expediently at different locations, in different industries and fields, even in complicated cases with unique local issues. We have vast experience in advising clients on legal issues in doing business in China. The China Practice services mainly include:

  • providing legal services on China investment for foreign investors;
  • handling due diligence matters related to cross-border mergers and acquisitions;
  • annual retainer for foreign companies in corporate governance, daily management and operation;
  • protecting clients’ intellectual property rights and dealing with IP infringement cases;
  • dispute resolution in PRC-related matters; and
  • procuring the recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments and arbitral awards in the PRC. 

Our clients range from listed companies, multinational corporations, renowned brands, institutional investors, financial institutions to real estate developers and contractors and international trading and logistics companies. Our lawyers are conversant with Putonghua, Cantonese and English. To find out more about how we can assist you in your PRC business, please feel free to contact us.

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Lawrence Yeung
Lawrence Yeung
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner

Recommended Posts

Essential features of the first individual bankruptcy regulation in China
China enacted its nationwide Enterprise Bankruptcy Law in 1986, but it is only for the insolvency of enterprises and does not cover the bankruptcy of natural persons. The Regulation of Shenzhen Special Economic Zone on Individual Bankruptcy (the “Regulation”), the first of its kind in China, was enacted on 31 August 2020 and has come into effect on 1 March 2021. The drafting of the Regulation has made reference to similar laws in jurisdictions with a relatively mature market economy, such as the United Kingdom, the United States, Germany, Japan, Hong Kong and Taiwan. The Regulation aims at constructing a complete and modern bankruptcy system and providing a way out for honest but unfortunate individuals saddled with debts they are unable to repay.
Legal issues to be considered by the Greater Bay Area property investors
In recent years, various measures have been introduced in the development plan of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (“Greater Bay Area”) in order to facilitate Hong Kong citizens to purchase properties in the mainland cities of the Greater Bay Area. For example, the loan procedures are simplified and Hong Kong residents will be treated as local residents in purchasing properties in the mainland cities of the Greater Bay Area. It means that in most cases they will no longer be required to provide evidence of their duration of residence, study or employment, or meet the conditions on the payment of individual income tax and social security. Whilst the new policies have attracted more Hong Kong residents to purchase properties in the Greater Bay Area, more property scam cases are reported. Some purchasers were attracted by the high “guaranteed rental return” which was later found to be unachievable. Other property scam cases mainly concerned with incorrect description of the properties or even the non-existence of the so-called property project. In light of the growing trend of purchasing properties in the Greater Bay Area, this article discusses some legal issues in relation to review of property certificate and permit and contract for sale of property that property investors are reminded to be cautious of in order to minimise their risks when making investment in the Greater Bay Area property market.
Complying with antitrust law in China
On 10 April 2021, the State Administration of Market Regulation of China (the “SAMR”), imposed a highest-ever monetary penalty in an amount of over RMB18.2 billion on the Chinese e-commerce giant, Alibaba Group Holding Ltd (“Alibaba”), following an investigation on the alleged abuse of its market dominance. This is just one of the high-profile enforcement actions that have been taken by the SAMR recently. On 30 April 2021, the SAMR announced to impose administrative sanctions on a number of companies in the Internet sector for not properly reporting their past acquisitions and investments to the authorities for antitrust reviews. In view of the strengthened enforcement of the antitrust law and regulations in China, foreign investors that make investments and do business in China should ensure an adequate understanding of China’s antitrust regime and improve their antitrust compliance management.
Back to top

更多

中國法律服務

中國在眾多領域中已經成為全球增長最快及最大的市場。我們為客戶提供一站式的中國法律服務,協助香港本地以至世界各地的客戶在中國境內發展業務。

我們的中國律師在處理中國境內相關的公司治理、買賣交易、知識產權及糾紛處理事宜等方面均素有經驗。我們瞭解客戶所關注的中國與跨境法律問題並提供解決方案,協助客戶實現重要的業務目標。

中國市場環境複雜多變並且存在地域性差異,我們與中國各大中城市的具規模律師事務所建立了良好的合作關係,即使是複雜並且具有地方特色的法律業務亦可由我們的中國律師與熟識當地地方法律環境的資深律師合作,迅速地為客人處理不同地方、不同行業、不同領域的法律事務。我們在協助客戶處理在中國內地營商時遇到的法律問題上具有豐富的經驗,我們的重點中國法律服務範疇包括:

  • 為境外投資者提供在中國投資的法律服務;
  • 處理就跨境收購合併與盡職審查相關事務;
  • 就外資企業治理、日常管理與經營提供常年法律顧問服務;
  • 為客戶跟進知識產權保護事務、處理涉及知識產權侵權案件;
  • 承辦與中國有關之爭議解決業務;
  • 安排境外判決與裁決在中國內地的承認與執行。

我們的主要服務對象包括上市公司、跨國企業、知名品牌、機構投資者、金融機構、房地產開發與建設工程行業、以至國際物流及貿易公司。我們的律師精通普通話、廣東話及英文,如欲瞭解我們可如何協助處理閣下的中國內地業務,歡迎聯絡我們。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

張昊
張昊
合夥人
張昊
張昊
合夥人

推薦文章

中國首部個人破產法規的要點
中國於1986年頒布《企業破產法》。《企業破產法》屬全國性法律,但只適用於企業清盤,並不涵蓋自然人破產。中國首部個人破產法規《深圳經濟特區個人破產條例》於2020年8月31日頒布,並已於2021年3月1日生效。當局在草擬該條例時,參考了多個市場經濟發展較為成熟的司法管轄區的法律,例如英國、美國、德國、日本、香港及台灣。該條例旨在建立完整的現代化破產制度,讓誠實而不幸的債務人能夠從債務危機中解脫出來。
大灣區置業人士須考慮的法律問題
近年,當局就粵港澳大灣區發展規劃推出了多項措施,方便香港市民在大灣區的內地城市置業,例如簡化貸款程序,港人在大灣區的內地城市置業時將被視為當地居民,這表示他們在大多數情況下將不再需要提供其居住、留學或就業期間的證明,或滿足繳納個人所得稅及社保的條件。然而,在上述新政策吸引了更多港人在大灣區置業的同時,物業騙案數目亦隨之增加。例如,有人受到高「保證租金回報」的吸引而購買物業,惟其後才發現無法達致聲稱的回報率,其他物業騙案則主要涉及物業描述失實,甚至聲稱的物業項目根本不存在等一系列問題。鑒於港人在大灣區置業日趨普遍,本文將探討多項有關產權證、許可證及物業買賣合約的法律問題,投資者在大灣區物業市場作出投資時應多加留意,以減低風險。
遵守中國的反壟斷法
中國國家市場監督管理總局早前就中國電商巨擘阿里巴巴集團控股有限公司涉嫌濫用市場支配地位進行調查,其後於2021年4月10日對阿里巴巴罰款超過人民幣182億元,屬歷來金額最高的罰款。這只是市監總局近期高調執法的其中一宗行動。2021年4月30日,市監總局宣佈對互聯網行業的多家公司實施行政制裁,理由是它們沒有妥為向有關當局匯報過去的收購事項及投資以供反壟斷審查。鑒於中國加強執行反壟斷法及監管,在中國投資及經營業務的外國投資者應確保對中國的反壟斷制度有充分認識,並加強遵守反壟斷法規。
Back to top