More

Bribery, Fraud & Corruption

Corruption occurs when an individual abuses his/her authority for personal gain at the expense of other people. Corruption erodes fairness and the rule of law, and in some cases, puts lives and property at risk.

At ONC Lawyers, our regulatory & compliance team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

  • advising and representing clients in relation to ICAC investigations, potential criminal liabilities and criminal prosecutions;
  • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap.201);
  • advising companies and individuals of the best practice in respect of anti-bribery and corruption; and
  • advising clients in relation to the establishment of anti-bribery and corruption policies and procedures.

If you would like to know more about our regulatory & compliance practice or how we can help you or your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at regcom@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The CFA clarifies the relationship between “bribery” and “misconduct in public office” in Donald Tsang’s case
In our previous newsletter “Donald Tsang’s Conviction Sheds Light on the Offence of Misconduct in Public Office”, we discussed the conviction in February 2017 of Mr Donald Tsang Yam-kuen (“Tsang”), the former Chief Executive of Hong Kong (the “Chief Executive”), of the charge of misconduct in public office. Tsang first appealed to the Court of Appeal against his conviction and sentence, which allowed the appeal against sentence and reduced the sentence from 20 months to 12 months of imprisonment (a term of which has now been served). Tsang further appealed to the Court of Final Appeal (the “CFA”), which recently quashed the conviction against Tsang for misconduct in public office, bringing to an end the prolonged legal battle for Tsang.
The Role of Company Secretaries and Directors in Anti-Money Laundering Compliance
Millions of dollars come into and go out of Hong Kong every day, legitimate or not, as Hong Kong is an international financial centre with no exchange controls. In the last few years, huge sums have flown out from countries around Hong Kong to or via Hong Kong for tax, funds control or investment reasons. This creates issues and risks of money laundering. There have also been numerous business email scams, or cases of impersonation of C-suite officers, where companies from overseas were deceived into wiring large sums of money to bank accounts in Hong Kong. Such wire transfers and movement of funds via “money mules” are also money laundering as the funds are the proceeds of crime. As a member of the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”), an independent inter-governmental body that promotes policies against money laundering and terrorist financing, Hong Kong is obliged to implement the anti-money laundering (“AML”) requirements promulgated by the FATF.
Failing to comply with due diligence and know-your-client requirements
Introduction The recent decision handed down by the Hong Kong Court of First Instance, Arrow ECS Norway AS v M Yang Trading Ltd and Others [2018] HKCU 1479, illustrates situations where a financial institution may not rely on the change of position defence for breaches in anti-money laundering and know your client legislation.
Back to top

更多

賄賂、欺詐及貪污

貪污是指有人濫用權力謀取私利,從而引致他人利益受損。貪污會損害社會公平和法治,在嚴重的情況下,更可能令市民的性命財產受到威脅。


我們的金融及證券規管團隊與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

  • 就廉政公署的調查、潛在刑事責任及刑事檢控為客戶提供法律意見及代表客戶行事;
  • 就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的相關法例(包括香港法例第201章《防止賄賂條例》)下的潛在法律責任及義務為客戶提供法律意見;
  • 防止賄賂及貪污的最佳實務守則為公司及個人客戶提供法律意見;及
  • 就制訂防止賄賂及貪污的政策及程序為客戶提供法律意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的金融及證券規管業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 regcom@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

終審庭在曾蔭權案中澄清「賄賂」與「公職人員行為失當」罪的關係
我們先前在〈曾蔭權罪成突顯公職人員行為失當罪的重要性〉一文中探討過,香港前特首曾蔭權於2017年2月被裁定公職人員行為失當罪成一事。曾蔭權首先就其定罪及判刑上訴,獲上訴法庭減刑,由監禁20個月減至12個月(現已服完刑期)。曾蔭權再上訴至終審法院,日前獲終審法院推翻其公職人員行為失當的罪名,為這宗漫長的官司劃上句號。
公司秘書及董事在反洗黑錢合規事宜中的角色
香港是不設外匯管制的國際金融中心,每日都有數以百萬元的資金經合法或非法途徑進出香港。過去數年,出於稅務、資金管制或投資原因而從香港鄰近國家流入香港或經香港進入其他國家的款項不計其數,造成洗黑錢疑慮及風險,而且近年亦有大量商業電郵騙案或冒充公司高層人員的騙案,欺騙海外公司將大筆資金匯入香港的銀行帳戶。這種匯款及透過「錢騾」(money mules)轉移資金的活動亦屬洗黑錢活動,因涉及的資金是犯罪得益。 香港作為財務行動特別組織(一個推動打擊洗黑錢及恐怖分子集資政策的獨立跨政府組織)的一員,有責任實施財務行動特別組織頒布的反洗黑錢規定。
銀行若未能遵守「認識你的客戶」規定可在電郵詐騙案中招致法律責任
簡介 高等法院原訟法庭最近在Arrow ECS Norway AS v M Yang Trading Ltd and Others [2018] HKCU 1479一案頒下的裁決,說明了金融機構在甚麼情況下不能以境況改變(change of position)作為違反禁止洗黑錢及認識你的客戶法例的抗辯理由。
Back to top