More

Intellectual Property in China

Intellectual property protection is a crucial cross-jurisdictional issue, especially for companies entering the PRC market. All companies, regardless of their size, need to protect, maintain and enforce their intellectual property rights. Companies constantly face many legal issues from development to protection and utilization of their intellectual property rights.

Our lawyers possess technical know-how in various fields such as engineering, internet and technology, and employ an multi-disciplinary approach to handle complicated technical matters for our clients. In fact, we are not only familiar with the intellectual property laws of Hong Kong and Mainland China, but also specialized in practical commercial applications. In addition to recognizing a variety of IP-related risks and issues, we provide practicable solutions and legal advice for clients with our experience in the PRC market and industries. Our services focus on trade mark and patent protection, and also cover IP legal services in related sectors such as copyrights, technology contracts, IP consultation, infringement investigations and administrative investigations and prosecutions, undue competitions and domain names disputes. Our clients include a wide range of industries, including international brands, tobacco and wine, cosmetics, aesthetic medicine and pharmaceutical technology, real estate, automobile, foodstuff, internet, software, entertainment and showbiz, etc.

We offer a wide array of PRC-related IP services, including:

  • providing PRC legal opinions on IP-related brand management issues. We help clients to protect their IP rights and realize their business goals by working with them to develop IP protection plans, including IP due diligence, risks assessment, internal management system, restrictions on trade secrets, employment arrangements, registration of proprietary rights and formulation of market surveillance and IP protection plans;
  • assisting clients in handling IP-related administrative procedures in the PRC, including filing registration applications and protecting clients’ intellectual property rights in trade marks, patents, designs, copyrights, etc. In particular, we offer a full array of legal services related to trade mark registration in the PRC, including handling trade mark enquiries from authorities such as China Trademark Office, Trademark Review and Adjudication Board and courts, filing trade mark applications, reviews, oppositions, cancellations and invalidations as well as trade mark confirmation;
  • acting for clients to file civil claims and administrative complaints for trade mark infringement and passing off, liaising with relevant government authorities for taking enforcement actions, obtaining recordation with the PRC customs, as well as coping with raids conducted by customs and local industrial and commercial authorities. Our China Practice team acts on behalf of our clients as plaintiffs and defendants in claims related to patent, trade mark and copyright infringement, unfair competition, false advertisements, theft of trade secrets and IP-related antitrust violations. Our professional lawyers have participated in and managed major IP litigations in the PRC and worldwide, commenced legal proceedings against domestic and foreign shadow companies to protect IP rights, as well as commenced and managed actions against counterfeit products; and
  • acting as counsel for companies or projects in general licensing, cooperation, merger and acquisition transactions; advising on cross-border licensing of the IP rights, enforcement and supervision of contract as well as IP laws and regulations in Hong Kong and Mainland China; and advising on IP ownership strategies. 

We have been well-trusted by our clients for taking initiatives to communicate with, remind and assist them to protect their IP rights. 

If you would like to know more about our China Law practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at china@onc.hk

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Will the newly amended PRC Trademark Law tackling bad faith registration and counterfeiting help protect your trademarks?
Trademark squatting has long been one of the top concerns to the brand owners both in China and overseas. The squatters usually file the trademark registrations soon after the new brands are launched and then wait to offer them to the brand owners. In order to enhance the IP protection to brand owners, on 23 April 2019, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress approved the Fourth Amendment to the PRC Trademark Law which will become effective on 1 November 2019.
Significance of implementing customs protection of intellectual property rights in PRC
China Customs has established a well-rounded system to facilitate the recordal and enforcement of intellectual property rights (“IPR”) over goods entering and leaving China in recent years. However, many IPR owners neglected the importance of applying for customs protection in China, which would easily give IPR trespassers the opportunity to take advantage of IPR owners. PRC General Administration of Customs (“GAC”) would cooperate with customs of other countries to tackle infringement actions. For instance, it cooperated with the Russian customs during March to June 2018 targeting at counterfeits infringing the trademarks owned by FIFA and its sponsors. The customs authority detained more than 190,000 shipments of suspected counterfeits in 2017.
Heavy price for insufficient coverage? MUJI ordered to pay damages for trade mark infringement in China
The Japanese brand MUJI lost in a trade mark infringement case to a local Chinese company with an earlier registered mark which highly resembles the former’s well-known trade name. China’s Supreme People’s Court has ultimately ruled against MUJI in an appeal after the claims went on for close to a decade. On 4 November 2019, MUJI was ordered by the Beijing Municipal High People’s Court to pay damages of more than RMB 600,000 (USD 87,000) and publicly apologizing to the local company.
Back to top

更多

中國知識產權保護

尤其是對進入中國市場的企業來說,知識產權權益保護是一個跨法域的大事情。無論是大、中、小型公司,均需要對知識產權權資產進行保護、維護及執行。一直以來,企業在知識產權資產的開發、保護以至利用過程中都面臨許多的法律問題。

我們的律師擁有工程、互聯網與科技等技術知識,工作上採取多學科手法處理各類複雜的技術事宜。事實上,我們不僅熟悉香港與中國內地的知識產權權法,還精通實際的商業應用。我們不僅識別各種知識產權有關的風險和問題,更借助自身對中國市場和行業的經驗為客戶提供切實可行的解決方案的法律意見。我們以商標與專利之保護為核心,同時涵蓋著作權、技術合同、知識產權諮詢服務、侵權調查及行政查處、不正當競爭、域名名稱等關聯領域的知識產權法律事務。我們的客戶服務對象包括國際品牌、煙酒、化妝品、醫美與醫藥科技、房地產、汽車、食品、互聯網、軟件和娛樂演藝等行業。

我們提供與中國內地有關知識產權方面的業務範圍廣泛,包括: 

  • 為企業品牌與知識權權益有關管理提供中國法律意見。我們擅長與客戶合作,以保護其知識產權及實現商業目標為目的,就保護知識產權資產制定計劃,包括知識產權盡職調查、風險評估、內部管理制度、商業秘密規定、雇傭安排、權益註冊登記、以及制定市場監察與維權計劃等;
  • 協助客戶辦理在中國內地知識產相關行政手續,包括提出註冊申請、保障客戶在商標、專利、外觀設計、著作權等中的各項權利。其中我們提供在中國內地商標註冊等相關法律服務,包括在中國商標局、商標評審委員會和法院等處理商標查詢、各類申請、複審、異議、撤銷及無效,以及各類確權之處理;
  • 接受客戶委託處理與商標侵權和假冒行為並提出的民事索賠、行政申訴、聯絡相關政府部門要求進行執法、向中國海關備案以及應對海關與地方工商機關的搜查等。我們的中國律師代理客戶作為原告或被告,處理涉及專利、商標及版權侵權、不公平競爭、虛假廣告、盜用商業秘密以及知識產權權相關的反壟斷違規案件。我們的專業律師曾參與及管理大型內地以至全球性的知識產權維權訴訟,及向境內外之影子公司開展法律維權程序,開展與管理俗稱“打假”的反假冒產品維權行動;及
  • 在一般許可、合作、合併、收購等交易中擔任企業或項目的法律顧問,就其中涉及的知識產權跨境使用、合約執行與監督、以至中港兩地知識產權權相關法律法規提供法律意見,以及知識產權權所有權策略方面提供法律服務。

我們一向積極地與客戶互動,主動提醒協助客戶保護其知識產權權益,深受客戶信賴。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的中國法律服務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 china@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

《中國商標法》關於打擊搶註及假冒的最新修訂能否保護你的商標?
商標搶註一直是中外商標擁有人最關注的問題之一,搶註者往往在新的品牌推出後,迅即申請註冊有關商標,伺機出售予真正的品牌擁有人。為加強對品牌擁有人的知識產權保護,中國全國人民代表大會常務委員會於2019年4月23日通過了《中國商標法》(《商標法》)的第四次修訂,將於2019年11月1日生效。
中國海關對知識產權實施保護的重要性
中國海關近年建立了一套全面的制度,加強對中國進出口貨物的知識產權的備案和執法。然而,許多知識產權擁有人忽視了申請中國海關保護的重要性,以致侵權者有機可乘,可輕易地侵犯知識產權擁有人的利益。中華人民共和國海關總署與其他國家的海關合作打擊侵權行為,例如在2018年3月至6月期間與俄羅斯海關合作,共同打擊侵犯國際足協及其贊助商擁有的商標的冒牌產品,並於2017年扣留了超過190,000批涉嫌冒牌產品。
商標註冊範圍不足的代價沉重:無印良品商標侵權案敗訴被中國法院命令賠償
中國一家本地企業的在先註冊商標與日本品牌無印良品的著名商用名稱非常相似,前者就此提起商標侵權訴訟,無印良品被判敗訴。經過長達接近10年的官司,中國最高人民法院作出最終裁決,駁回無印良品的上訴。2019年11月4日,北京市高級人民法院命令無印良品向上述中國企業支付損害賠償超過人民幣600,000元(87,000美元)及公開道歉。
Back to top