More

Preventive Planning and Training

Prevention is always better than cure.  As companies grow, so does the number of legal risks confronting their businesses.  Formulating the right human resources policies can minimize potential claims against companies and protect them from workplace malpractice. 

Our employment team helps employers with preventive planning and offers practical training regarding ways to avoid costly and protracted legal proceedings.  We regularly review workplace polices of business groups and offer day-to-day advice on a full range of employment issues that may give rise to potential liabilities.  Leveraging our broad understanding of various industries, we are well known for our corporate support work and conduct bespoke employment and regulatory trainings for business groups and human resources professionals tailored to the respective needs of companies from various sectors.  We help international conglomerates, small and medium-sized enterprises, and startup companies to ensure ongoing compliance with employment laws and regulations and reduce risk of employee lawsuits.

Our professional services include:

  • reviewing employment contracts, employee handbooks and human resources policies;
  • providing training to the management, senior executives and Human Resources departments on the latest developments in employment laws;
  • providing seminars to employees on employment issues such as discrimination and harassment at workplace;
  • advising multinational organizations on employment law issues involved in overseas expansion plans; and
  • advising on employment law issues arising from cross-border mergers and acquisitions and business transactions.

If you would like to seek advice on preventive planning and training, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at employment@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Employer’s statutory and common law duties to ensure employees’ safety and health at work during the Novel Coronavirus epidemic
As of 4 February 2020, there were 20,438 reported cases of Novel Coronavirus infection in Mainland China[1] and 15 reported cases in Hong Kong.[2] Hong Kong also confirmed its first death from the Novel Coronavirus on 4 February 2020. The statistics between 24 January and 3 February 2020 show that the number of reported cases is increasing at a fast pace.[3] On Chinese New Year’s Day (25 January 2020), the Government escalated the response level to Emergency[4] and has launched a series of measures to reduce the risk of any Novel Coronavirus outbreak in the community. On 28 January 2020, the Government announced that Government employees (except those staffs or departments providing emergency and essential public services) would work from home from 29 January to 2 February 2020, and on 31 January 2020, has extended the work from home arrangement to 9 February 2020. It has also appealed to private sector organisations to make similar arrangements as far as practicable. Employers need to be alert and responsive to the situation. In this article, we will discuss the employers’ statutory duty as well as their common law duty to ensure their employees’ safety and health at work in light of the recent spread of the Novel Coronavirus.
Can an employee decline an accepted job offer before commencement? The importance of careful drafting
Employment contracts are usually signed prior to commencement of employment. Can an employee who has signed an employment contract back out of the accepted offer before employment commences? The Court of First Instance (“CFI”) had recently dealt with a Labour Tribunal appeal case, Law Ting Pong Secondary School v Chen Wai Wah [2019] HKCFI 2236, where the appellant employee, Chen Wai Wah (“Teacher”), backed out of his accepted offer of appointment from the employer, Law Ting Pong Secondary School (“School”), as the School’s teacher before his employment commenced. In the proceedings below, the Labour Tribunal ruled that the Teacher had breached the employment contract between the School and the Teacher (“Employment Contract”) and ordered the Teacher to pay to the School HK$139,593.20 as payment in lieu of notice. The Teacher appealed against the Labour Tribunal’s decision.
When will terminal payments be subject to salaries tax?
It is not uncommon for the employment contracts of senior executives or employees to provide that they be paid a considerable amount of terminal payments upon the termination of their employment. The fundamental test on whether or not such terminal payments are subject to salaries tax is thoroughly analysed and affirmed recently by the highest appellate court of Hong Kong, the Court of Final Appeal (“CFA”), in its judgment of a hotly contested appeal case of Commissioner of Inland Revenue v Poon Cho Ming John [2019] HKCFA 38.
Back to top

更多

預防措施及培訓

防患未然總勝於亡羊補牢。隨著企業壯大,其面對的法律風險亦會越來越多。制訂合適的人力資源政策可降低企業被僱員索償的可能性,以免誤墮法網。

本所僱傭部門的團隊致力協助僱主制訂預防措施,並會提供實用培訓,建議僱主如何避免冗長而費用高昂的法律訴訟。我們定期審閱企業的工作場所政策,就各類可能引致潛在法律責任的僱傭事宜提供日常法律諮詢。憑藉我們對各行各業的廣泛認識,我們以提供企業支援服務而聞名,能為企業和人力資源專家定制切合不同行業需要的僱傭及監管培訓。我們亦會為國際財團、中小企及初創公司提供協助,確保他們持續遵守僱傭法律及規例,減低僱員提出訴訟的風險。

我們提供的專業服務包括:

  • 審閱僱傭合約、員工手冊及人力資源政策;
  • 就僱傭法的最新發展為管理層、高級行政人員及人力資源部門提供培訓;
  • 就工作場所的歧視及騷擾等僱傭問題為僱員提供講座;
  • 就海外業務擴展計劃涉及的僱傭法律問題為跨國機構提供法律意見;及
  • 就進行跨境併購及業務交易引起的僱傭法律問題提供法律意見。

如閣下希望就預防措施及培訓徵詢法律意見,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至employment@onc.hk聯絡我們。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

新型冠狀病毒疫情下,僱主確保在工作中的 僱員的安全及健康的法定和普通法責任
截至2020年2月4日,中國內地感染新型冠狀病毒的報告個案為20,438宗,而香港為15宗。2020年2月4日,香港亦出現首宗因新型冠狀病毒引致的死亡個案。2020年1月24日至2月3日期間的統計數字顯示,報告個案數目正急遽上升。農曆年初一(2020年1月25日)起,香港政府將應變級別提升至「緊急」,並推出連串措施以減低新型冠狀病毒在社區爆發的風險。政府於2020年1月28日宣布,除提供緊急或必須公共服務的人員或部門外,政府僱員在2020年1月29日至2月2日期間將留在家中工作;2020年1月31日,政府再將上述在家工作的安排延長至2020年2月9日。政府亦呼籲私營機構在切實可行的情況下作出類似安排。僱主需要密切留意及回應最新情況。在本文中,我們將探討在近期新冠狀病毒蔓延的情況下,僱主確保其在工作中的僱員的安全及健康的法定責任以及普通法責任。
僱員可否在上任前悔約?仔細草擬僱傭合約的重要性
雇員通常在開始受雇前便與雇主簽訂雇傭合約。雇員如已簽署雇傭合約接受聘任要約,可否在上任前反悔?香港特別行政區高等法院原訟法庭最近審理了一宗勞資審裁處上訴案件Law Ting Pong Secondary School v Chen Wai Wah [2019] HKCFI 2236,案中的上訴人雇員陳偉華接受了雇主羅定邦中學的教師聘約,但到了履新前才反悔。勞資審裁處裁定上訴人違反了其與答辯人簽訂的雇傭合約,並命令上訴人向答辯人支付港幣139,593.20元作為代通知金。上訴人其後就勞資審裁處的判決提出上訴。
僱員在甚麼情況下須就終止僱傭金繳付薪俸稅?
不少高級行政人員或僱員的僱傭合約都會列明僱主在終止僱傭關係時必須向他們支付一筆相當可觀的終止僱傭金。香港終審法院最近就Commissioner of Inland Revenue v Poon Cho Ming John [2019] HKCFA 38上訴案頒下判詞,深入分析並確認關於僱員是否必須就終止僱傭金繳付薪俸稅的基本驗證方法。
Back to top