More

Internet & Domain Names

It is not uncommon for companies to find their trade marks registered by others as domain names since domain names are allocated on a first-come-first-served basis. The act of registering another company’s trade mark as domain names with a view to profiting from that company’s goodwill, often by offering to sell to that company or his competitor the registered domain names at an inflated price, is generally referred to as “cybersquatting”. A company’s trade mark may also be registered by competitors as a domain name for the purpose of disrupting the company’s business. Mechanisms of domain name dispute resolution are available in Hong Kong for trade mark owners to protect their rights against such bad-faith registration by cyber squatters, no matter whether the trade marks have been registered in Hong Kong or elsewhere.

Here at ONC, we offer a range of pro-active services to help our clients protect their trade marks from being misused as domain names, which would cause confusion and disruption to the market place. We assist our clients in monitoring the domain platforms for availability, applying for and registering domain names, advising on internet gaming and multimedia regulations; and data protection.

Examples of our work include:

  • assisting a major bank in obtaining domain name registrations;
  • arbitration to recover domain name for a major apparel company;
  • preparing domain name transfer agreements for a prominent cosmetics company;
  • advising a leading global gaming platform on regulations in relation to online streaming and data protection services; and
  • advising a leading property fund on its use of social media, advertising and development of online and mobile applications.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Cybersquatting: How to Reclaim Your Domain Names?
It is not uncommon that reputable companies find their trademarks registered by the others as domain names since domain names are allocated on a first-come-first-served basis. The act of registering another company’s trademark as domain names with a view to profiting from that company’s goodwill, often by offering to sell to that company or his competitor the registered domain names at an inflated price, is generally referred to as “cybersquatting”. A company’s trademark may also be registered by competitors as domain name for the purpose of disrupting the company’s business. Mechanisms of domain name dispute resolution are available in Hong Kong for trademark owners to protect their rights against such bad-faith registration by cyber squatters, no matter whether the trademarks have been registered in Hong Kong or elsewhere.
Online Advertising - Can I Sue Competitors for Copying My Trademark in Websites' Metatags (Source Code Tags) to Improve Rankings in Search Engines?
With the advancement of technology nowadays, companies are keen to promote their goods or services through the Internet. In particular, having a strong online presence is desirable for website owners as they always want their websites to appear as the first result at Google search when the keywords of their business interest are being searched for. A successful online presence would help consumers to easily identify their products so as to stand out from the crowd. Many companies adopt “search engine optimisation” strategies as their marketing tactics to attract online traffic. By doing so, website owners may rely on metatags to improve their rankings in the search engines’ result pages. However, it raises the question of whether a website owner would be infringing others’ rights if the metatags (the invisible data on their website) they have chosen are other’s registered trademarks? This article explores the potential liability of website owners in copying others’ trademarks as metatags for the purpose of achieving higher ranking in search engine results.
English Court of Appeal Affirms Injunctions Against ISPs for Websites Selling Counterfeits
As a follow up to our previous article, “Website Blocking Order – a Possible Remedy against Trade Mark Infringement on the Internet?”, we now revisit the topic as the English Court of Appeal handed down its decision in Cartier International AG & Ors v British Sky Broadcasting Limited [2016] EWCA Civ 658 in July 2016. The Court of Appeal affirmed the High Court decision, which is believed to have paved the way for trade mark owners to bring website blocking order actions against internet service providers (“ISPs”), forcing them to block their customers from accessing websites which contain infringing contents.
Back to top

更多

互聯網及網域名稱

由於域名是以先到先得的方式分配,不少公司會發現自己的商標一早已被他人註冊為域名。這種將其他公司的商標註冊為域名的行為通常被稱為「搶註域名」,此種搶註行為目的往往是企圖透過以高價方式向商標所有權人或其競爭對手出售搶註的域名,企圖從該公司的商譽中獲利。公司的商標亦可能會被競爭對手註冊為域名,以圖擾亂該公司的業務。不論其商標是否已在香港或其他地方註冊,香港為商標擁有人提供的域名爭議解決機制,均可保護商標擁有人的權利,防止域名搶註者的惡意註冊


本所提供多項主動支援服務,協助客戶保護商標,以免被濫用為域名,令公眾混淆以及擾亂市場秩序。我們能協助客戶處理多項事宜,包括監察平台域名的可利用性、申請及註冊域名、就網絡遊戲和多媒體條例提供法律意見以及個人資料保護等等。


我們曾處理個案包括:

  • 協助一家大型銀行取得網域名稱註冊
  • 為一家大型服裝公司提起仲裁程序以回域名;
  • 為一家著名化妝品公司草擬域名轉讓協議;
  • 為一家全球領先的遊戲平台就有關網上串流和個人資料保護的條例提供法律意見;及
  • 為一家大型的物業基金就其使用社交媒體、宣傳及開發網上和手機應用程式提供法律意見

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

域名搶註:如何取回你的域名?
由於域名是以先到先得的方式分配,不少知名公司會發現自己的商標已被他人註冊為域名。這種將其他公司的商標註冊為域名的行為通常被稱為「域名搶註」,此行為往往透過以高價向該公司或其競爭對手出售已註冊的域名,企圖從該公司的商譽中獲利。公司的商標亦可能會被競爭對手註冊為域名,以圖擾亂該公司的業務。不論其商標是否已在香港或其他地方註冊,香港為商標擁有人提供的域名爭議解決機制,均可保護商標擁有人的權利,防止域名搶註者的惡意註冊。
網上宣傳:我可否控告競爭對手在其網頁「元標籤」中使用我的商標來提高搜尋結果排行?
隨著互聯網不斷發展和普及,很多企業都力求在網上宣傳自己的產品和服務,更希望在谷歌搜尋其業務關鍵詞的時候,自己的網站會成為首個顯示的結果,增加網站的曝光率,因為成功的網上宣傳能令消費者留下印象,從而在一眾競爭對手中脫穎而出。 很多企業會採用「搜尋引擎優化」作為營銷策略,以吸引更多網絡使用者瀏覽自己的網站,因此網站擁有人需要使用「元標籤」(metatags,在網站不顯示的隱藏資料)來提高其網站在搜尋結果中的排行。但這樣會產生一個問題:如果網站擁有人採用了他人的註冊商標為元標籤,會否構成侵犯商標? 下文將探討網站擁有人為提高搜尋結果排行而使用他人商標為元標籤的潛在法律責任。
英國上訴法院維持頒令網絡供應商封鎖冒牌貨網站
承我們先前撰寫、題為《網站封鎖令是解決網上侵犯商標活動的可行辦法嗎?》的文章,隨著英國上訴法院在今年7月就Cartier International AG & Ors v British Sky Broadcasting Limited [2016] EWCA Civ 658一案作出裁決,我們將於本文再次探討商標擁有人請求法院對網絡服務供應商發出網站封鎖令這個問題。上訴法院維持高等法院的裁決,相信會為商標擁有人申請向網絡供應商發出網站封鎖令,以強制網絡供應商阻止客戶瀏覽載有侵權內容的網站鋪路。
Back to top