More

AML/ CFT

As an international financial centre, Hong Kong attaches significance to safeguarding the integrity of our financial systems by implementing international standards on anti-money laundering and counter-financing of terrorism (“AML/CFT”) to deter and detect inward and outward flows of illicit funds. A number of legislations have been put in place to underpin the implementation of the AML/CFT regime in Hong Kong.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services: 

  • representing and advising clients on AML/CFT related investigations, enquires, interviews, document production and raids brought by the designated relevant authorities including Hong Kong Monetary Authority, Insurance Authority, Securities and Futures Commission and Customs and Excise Department;
  • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615), Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance (Cap. 405), Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455), United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (Cap. 575), United Nations Sanctions Ordinance (Cap. 537), Weapons of Mass Destruction (Control of Provision of Services) Ordinance (Cap. 526), Import and Export Ordinance (Cap. 60) and Cross-boundary Movement of Physical Currency and Bearer Negotiable Instruments Ordinance (Cap. 629); and
  • advising clients on the statutory obligations of reporting suspected money laundering activities to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit.

If you would like to know more about our regulatory & compliance practice or how we can help you or your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at regcom@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The Role of Company Secretaries and Directors in Anti-Money Laundering Compliance
Millions of dollars come into and go out of Hong Kong every day, legitimate or not, as Hong Kong is an international financial centre with no exchange controls. In the last few years, huge sums have flown out from countries around Hong Kong to or via Hong Kong for tax, funds control or investment reasons. This creates issues and risks of money laundering. There have also been numerous business email scams, or cases of impersonation of C-suite officers, where companies from overseas were deceived into wiring large sums of money to bank accounts in Hong Kong. Such wire transfers and movement of funds via “money mules” are also money laundering as the funds are the proceeds of crime. As a member of the Financial Action Task Force (“FATF”), an independent inter-governmental body that promotes policies against money laundering and terrorist financing, Hong Kong is obliged to implement the anti-money laundering (“AML”) requirements promulgated by the FATF.
Money-Laundering: Adverse Inference Drawn Following Defendant's Failure to Substantiate His Position
As a sequel to our January newsletter on money laundering, this newsletter will discuss another recent judgment of the Court of Appeal, which relates to dealing with shares in a listed company. Mr. Cheung Chun (“Cheung”) was charged with one count of dealing in property known or believed to represent proceeds of indictable offence, in particular 10,991,000 shares in Hisense Kelon Electrical Holdings Company Limited. Cheung was tried in the District Court. He pleaded not guilty and chose not to give evidence. Cheung was acquitted after trial and the Secretary for Justice appealed to the Court of Appeal by way of case stated pursuant to section 84 of the District Court Ordinance (Cap 336). The appeal was allowed, whereby the Court of Appeal reversed the verdict and directed the trial be resumed[1]. The District Court followed the decisions of the Court of Appeal and Cheung was convicted and sentenced to 5 years and 9 months imprisonment. Cheung made an application for leave to appeal against the conviction and sentence[2].
Navigating the money laundering minefield – the Court of Appeal dismissed the constitutional challenge against the “no consent” regime
In Interush Ltd v Commissioner of Police [2019] HKCA 70, the Court of Appeal (“CA”) has rejected an argument that two money laundering offences, namely sections 25 and 25A of the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455) (“OSCO”) under the so called “no consent regime” or “informal freezing” of assets, infringe the property rights and access to Court rights under the Basic Law and the Hong Kong Bill of Rights.
Back to top

更多

打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資

香港作為國際金融中心,向來極為重視維護本港金融體系的廉潔穩健。為此,香港根據國際標準實施打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的措施,從而阻嚇及偵測不法資金進出本港金融體系。香港已制訂多項法例,以配合打擊洗錢及恐怖分子集資的制度。


我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

  • 香港金融管理局、保險業監管局、證券及期貨事務監察委員會及香港海關等指定部門進行的打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的調查、查問、會面、索取文件及突擊搜查,代表客戶行事並提供法律意見。我們亦協助客戶處理香港警隊及廉政公署等執法機關就打擊洗錢進行的調查。
  • 就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的相關法例可能引致的法律責任及義務為客戶提供法律意見;該等法例包括香港法例第615章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》、第405章《販毒(追討得益)條例》、第455章《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》、第575章《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》、第537章《聯合國制裁條例》、第526章《大規模毀滅武器(提供服務的管制)條例》、第60章《進出口條例》及第629章《實體貨幣及不記名可轉讓票據跨境流動條例》
  • 就向聯合財富情報組舉報涉嫌洗錢活動的法定責任為客戶提供意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的金融及證券規管業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 regcom@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

公司秘書及董事在反洗黑錢合規事宜中的角色
香港是不設外匯管制的國際金融中心,每日都有數以百萬元的資金經合法或非法途徑進出香港。過去數年,出於稅務、資金管制或投資原因而從香港鄰近國家流入香港或經香港進入其他國家的款項不計其數,造成洗黑錢疑慮及風險,而且近年亦有大量商業電郵騙案或冒充公司高層人員的騙案,欺騙海外公司將大筆資金匯入香港的銀行帳戶。這種匯款及透過「錢騾」(money mules)轉移資金的活動亦屬洗黑錢活動,因涉及的資金是犯罪得益。 香港作為財務行動特別組織(一個推動打擊洗黑錢及恐怖分子集資政策的獨立跨政府組織)的一員,有責任實施財務行動特別組織頒布的反洗黑錢規定。
洗黑錢案的被告人若無法提出證明,將被作出不利的推論
繼上期探討洗黑錢的文章後,本文將討論上訴法院近期另一宗涉及處理上市公司股份的案件。張俊被控一項處理已知或相信為代表可公訴罪行得益的財產罪,涉及海信科龍電器股份有限公司的10,991,000股股份。張俊在區域法院受審,他否認控罪及選擇不作供。經聆訊後法院裁定他罪名不成立,律政司司長根據香港法例第336章《區域法院條例》第84條,以案件呈述的方式向上訴法庭上訴,結果上訴得直,上訴法庭撤銷原審判決並下令案件發還原審法官繼續處理。區域法院按上訴法庭的指示裁定張俊罪名成立,並判他監禁5年9個月。張俊申請就定罪及判刑上訴。
慎防誤墮洗黑錢法網:上訴庭駁回就「不同意處理書」違憲而提出的司法覆核
在Interush Ltd v Commissioner of Police [2019] HKCA 70一案中,上訴人認為香港法例第455章《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(「該條例」)第25及25A條關於兩項洗黑錢罪行的條文(即所謂「不同意處理書」及「非正式凍結資產」)侵犯了《基本法》及《香港人權法案》所保障的財產權及向法院提起訴訟的權利。
Back to top