More

Wills, Probate & Trusts

The work of this department is divided into two parts: non-contentious and contentious.

 

The non-contentious part involves advice and assistance to clients in planning the use and disposal of their personal and family assets. The services we provide seek to ensure that the assets of clients could be best protected and used in a way that accords with their intention and properly provide for the welfare of those entitled to the assets. Services provided include:

  • advice on inheritance, bankruptcy and family laws and procedures;
  • drafting wills, will trusts;
  • drafting trust deeds and related documents such as letters of wishes, deeds of assignments;
  • assist in setting up trusts for various purposes, such as assets protection, succession planning, charity, religion, disability protection etc; and
  • application for grant of administration or probate or re-sealing of overseas grant, and distribution of assets thereafter.

On the contentious side, we handle matters such as:

  • making/defending application for dependant persons, children or widows under the Inheritance (Provisions for Family and Dependants) Ordinance;
  • challenging/defending validity of wills, or their interpretation;
  • claiming/defending entitlements of illegitimate children, concubines and unmarried couples; and
  • aking/defending actions for improper administration of estate or trust assets by executors, administrators or trustees.

If you would like to know more about our wills, probate & trust practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at probate@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner

Recommended Posts

How to Handle the Hong Kong Assets of a Deceased Person Domiciled Overseas?
Many people (local or foreigners) possess various kinds of properties in Hong Kong. When they pass away, the Executor or Administrator of the Deceased’s estate will have to handle the Deceased’s assets (e.g. shares, real properties and bank accounts) in Hong Kong in accordance with the laws of Hong Kong.
Challenging a Will: The Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Ordinance
Where a deceased has by his Will, or by the effects of intestacy, failed to provide properly for his spouse, children, relatives or dependants, the court may order reasonable provision to be made out of the deceased’s net estate for the maintenance of them. Everyone enjoys a “testamentary freedom”, i.e. freedom to leave your property to whomever you wish in your Will. However, after a loved one has passed away, very often we see disappointment among those who feel that they were unfairly disinherited by the Will, or that their inheritance is less than what were originally expected. This leaves considerable stress and distress within the family circle. The Wills in high-money cases like Nina Wang Kung Yu-sum’s are of course prone to challenge. Poor estate planning may also expose a Will to attack. Since people are now generally living longer and often decide to change their Wills later in life without the assistance of a solicitor, family members may be omitted in the Wills. In addition, it is not uncommon for a Hong Kong man to have a “second wife”, who may lose dependency upon the death of the man in the absence of a Will in her favour. More often, a testator may fail to execute another Will upon remarriage, depriving the former spouse and children of reasonable provision. In these cases, the distressed family members or dependants may be left with no option but to challenge the Wills or make a claim in the estates.
Will trust asset form part of “financial resources” under the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance?
Under section 4(1) of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance (Chapter 192 of the Laws of Hong Kong) (the “Ordinance”), the court may, on grating a decree of divorce or at any time thereafter, make a number of orders including an order that either party to the marriage shall make to the other such periodical payments and for such term as may be ordered by the court. In deciding whether to make such order, the court is imposed with the duty under section 7 of the Ordinance to take into account, among other things, the income, earning capacity, property and other financial resources which each of the parties to the marriage has or is likely to have in the foreseeable future (the “Financial Resources”). Among the disputes that often arise as to what kind of assets would form part of the Financial Resources of the parties to the marriage, the court is often tasked with determining whether assets subject to discretionary trust (and often family trust) shall be regarded as part of the Financial Resources. The general principles governing such issue are laid down in the judgement by the Court of Final Appeal in Kan Lai Kwan v Poon Lok To Otto [2014] HKCFA 66 (the “Kan Case”).
Back to top

更多

遺囑、遺產處理及信託

本部門的工作主要分為非爭訟性事務及爭訟性事務。

非爭訟性的事務包括在客戶計劃運用和分配個人與家族資產方面提供意見及協助。我們提供的服務力求確保客戶的資產受到最佳保障,並按他們的意願有效運用,妥善照顧資產承受人的福祉。我們提供的服務包括

  • 就繼承、破產和家事法律及程序提供意見;
  • 草擬遺囑及遺囑信託;
  • 草擬信託契據及相關文件(例如意願書和轉讓契據);
  • 協助成立各種不同目的的信託,例如資產保護、承傳規劃、慈善、宗教及殘疾保障等;
  • 申請遺產管理書、遺囑認證書或申請為境外遺產承辦書重新蓋章,並處理其後的資產分配。

爭訟性事務方面,我們能為客戶處理的事宜如下:

  • 按照《財產繼承(供養遺屬及受養人)條例》,替依靠死者供養的人士、子女及遺孀申請使用有關遺產或進行相關的辯護;
  • 就遺囑的效力或解釋提出訴訟或辯護;
  • 就非婚生子女、妾侍及未婚伴侶的遺產繼承權提出訴訟或辯護;
  • 就遺囑執行人、遺產管理人或受託人不恰當地處理遺產或信託提出訴訟或辯護。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的遺囑、遺產處理及信託業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至probate@onc.hk查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

如何處理以外地為居籍的死者在香港的資產?
很多人(不論本地或外地人)在香港都擁有不同種類的財產,他們一旦去世,其遺囑執行人或遺產管理人便需根據香港法律處理死者在香港的資產,例如股份、物業及銀行帳戶。
反對遺囑:《財產繼承(供養遺屬及受養人)條例》
假如根據遺囑或根據無遺囑者繼承規則,死者的配偶、子女、親屬或受養人並未得到適當的給養,法院可以頒令從死者的淨遺產中向這些人士作出合理的給養。每個人都享有訂立遺囑的自由,可按照自己的意願在遺囑中將財產遺留給任何人。可是,我們時常看見死者的親人因為分配不到遺產或所得較預期少,而認為遺囑不公平及感到失望,這種事情會對整個家庭造成很大的壓力和痛苦。像龔如心那樣涉及巨額遺產的遺囑,當然很容易產生爭端。但即使是普通的遺產,如果計劃有欠周詳,也容易令遺囑備受爭議。由於現代人類的壽命越來越長,隨著年月過去,立遺囑人或會決定在沒有律師協助下自行更改遺囑,以致遺囑中可能遺漏了某些家人。此外,「包二奶」的情況在香港相當常見,若男方去世而遺囑中沒有分配財產給情婦,情婦便可能頓失所依。另一個更常見的情況是立遺囑人在再婚後沒有另訂新的遺囑,以致前配偶及子女得不到合理的給養。在這些情況下,受影響的家人或受養人只好反對遺囑,或向遺產提出申索。
信託資產是否構成《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》所指的「經濟來源」?
根據香港法例第192章《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》第4(1) 條,法院在批予離婚判令時或在其後的任何時候,可在作出多項命令,包括命令婚姻的任何一方按命令所指明的期間向另一方作出命令所指明的定期付款。在決定是否作出上述命令時,法院有責任依照該條例第7條的規定,顧及婚姻雙方各別擁有的或在可預見的將來相當可能擁有的收入、謀生能力、財產及其他經濟來源。哪些資產構成各方的經濟來源,是婚姻訴訟案件時常發生的爭議,法院往往須判斷全權信託(或家庭信託)下的資產應否被視為經濟來源的一部份。在 Kan Lai Kwan v Poon Lok To Otto [2014] HKCFA 66一案中,終審法院訂下了處理這個問題的一般原則。
Back to top