More

Real Estate

At ONC Lawyers, we put our clients first and commit to deliver attentive, client-focused services wherever and whenever needed.  Our Real Estate Department handles:

  • Project Development;
  • Private Equity Real Estate;
  • Real Estate Transactions;
  • Real Estate Finance;
  • Real Estate Management Issues;
  • Real Estate Dispute & Litigation;
  • Landlord & Tenant; and
  • Other property related matters.

If you would like to know more about our real estate practice or how we can help you or your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at property@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

 


Our People

Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner

Recommended Posts

COVID-19 tenancy termination and rent abatement issues
The World Health Organization classified the outbreak of COVID-19 as a pandemic on 11 March 2020. The Hong Kong Government has been implementing a series of control measures, including travel and border restrictions and compulsory quarantine for 14 days, to curtail the number of infections and combat the ongoing outbreak. As a consequence, business disruptions with a reduced need for office and shop spaces, and a significant and abrupt business slowdown affect a lot of business tenants in Hong Kong. The key issues for a business tenant to consider are whether in an outbreak a tenant can use that as a ground to early terminate the tenancy agreement or request for a rent abatement until the situation gets better. This article will focus on the application of force majeure clauses and the doctrine of frustration with regards to the possible early tenancy termination and rent abatements.
Both the Homebuyers Who Purchase Residential Properties in the Name of Others in Order to Pay Lower Stamp Duty and the HKPR Who Provided Their Names Are Subject to Criminal Liabilities and Other Risks
Introduction In order to cool down the property market in Hong Kong, in November 2016, the Hong Kong Government increased the ad valorem stamp duty (AVD) rates for all residential property transactions to a flat rate of 15% of purchase price, irrespective of the amount or value of the consideration of the residential property with an exemption that a Hong Kong Permanent Resident (HKPR) acquiring a residential property where he/she is acting on his/her own behalf and does not own any other residential property in Hong Kong at the time of acquisition will be subject to lower rates (i.e. AVD at Scale 2 rates) (the “Exemption”). It might be tempting for a non-HKPR and/or a HKPR who already owned other residential properties in Hong Kong (collectively the “homebuyer”) to purchase residential properties using the names of other HKPRs who do not own any residential property in Hong Kong in order to save stamp duty. The homebuyer might agree or make an arrangement with a HKPR who does not own any residential property in Hong Kong to use the name of the HKPR as the buyer of the residential property (the “Transaction”). However, both the homebuyer and HKPRs who provided their names might be subject to criminal offences and other risks and liabilities under such circumstances.
What Can I Do If I Wish to End the Co-ownership of My Property?
Introduction Partition is one of the ways which ends the co-ownership of properties and thus each co-owner becomes the sole owner of the land allotted to him. It is different from severance of a joint tenancy, which merely leads to co-owners remaining in co-ownership as tenants in common. Partitions may be done voluntarily by execution of deed. Where there is no voluntary agreement, co-owners may bring an action for partition or sale under the Partition Ordinance (Cap 352) (the “Ordinance”). In Silver Wealth Capital Investment Limited v Lai Wai Cheun & Lai Kam Cheung (HCMP 512/2013), the Plaintiff made an application to court pursuant to the Ordinance, seeking an order for the sale of a property located at Shanghai Street (the “Property”). The question which the court had to decide was whether to make an order for sale or to maintain the status quo of the co-ownership among the parties.
Back to top

更多

房地產

ONC 柯伍陳律師事務所以客戶為先致力提供最能顧及客戶各種需要的服務。我們的房地產部門處理的交易包括:

  • 項目發展;
  • 股本資金房地產;
  • 房地產交易;
  • 房地產融資;
  • 房地產管理事宜;
  • 房地產爭議及訴訟;
  • 業主與租客;及
  • 其他物業相關事宜。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的房地產業務或我們可如何為閣下或閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 property@onc.hk  查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

 



律師團隊

葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人
葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人

推薦文章

肺炎疫情下終止租約及減租的可能性
世界衞生組織於2020年3月11日宣布將2019冠狀病毒列為全球大流行。香港政府實施了一系列防疫措施,包括旅遊及邊境管制,以及對入境人士強制檢疫14日,以減低感染人數和防止疫情持續爆發。香港不少商戶由於業務停滯而對辦公室及店鋪需求下降,加上生意銳減,經營大受影響。商業租客主要關注的問題是,他們能否以疫情為理由而提早終止租約,或要求減租直至疫情緩和。本文將探討租客可如何根據不可抗力條款及合同受挫失效原則要求提早終止租約和減租。
借「人頭」購買住宅物業避印花稅, 置業人士及「人頭」均須負刑責及其他風險
簡介 為冷卻熾熱的香港樓市,政府在2016年11月提高了所有住宅物業買賣的從價印花稅,不論物業的價格或價值,均劃一徵收樓價的15%。但香港永久性居民如代表自己購買住宅物業、而且在購買之時在香港並無擁有任何其他住宅物業,則可申請豁免,納較低的稅率(即從價印花稅第2標準稅率)(「首置豁免」)。 對於非香港永久性居民及/或已在香港擁有住宅物業的香港永久性居民(統稱「置業人士」)而言,為了節省從價印花稅,借用其他在香港沒有擁有住宅物業的香港永久性居民的名義(俗稱借「人頭」)來置業可能是個很吸引的做法。置業人士可能與「人頭」作出協定或安排,使用「人頭」的名義作為住宅物業的買方(「交易」)。如是者,置業人士及「人頭」的行為均可能構成刑事罪行及須負上其他風險及責任。
怎樣才可終止我在物業中的共有權?
簡介 分劃(partition)是終止物業共有權(co-ownership)的其中一種方法,令每名共有人(co-owner)成為其獲分配之土地財產的唯一業主。這與聯權共有權(joint tenancy)的劃分不同,後者只會令共有人變成分權共有人(tenants in common),但仍然共同擁有物業。分劃可以透過自願簽立契據進行;如共有人之間無法達成共識,則可根據香港法例第352章《分劃條例》(「該條例」)提出訴訟,要求分劃或出售物業。 在Silver Wealth Capital Investment Limited v Lai Wai Cheun & Lai Kam Cheung (HCMP 512/2013) 一案中,原告人根據該條例向法院申請,要求頒令出售一項位於上海街的物業(「該物業」)。法院需決定應頒令出售物業還是維持各方現狀(即共有人關係)。
Back to top