More

Bribery, Fraud & Corruption

Corruption occurs when an individual abuses his/her authority for personal gain at the expense of other people. Corruption erodes fairness and the rule of law, and in some cases, puts lives and property at risk.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our corporate and commercial team to provide the following services:

  • advising and representing clients in relation to ICAC investigations, potential criminal liabilities and criminal prosecutions; 
  • advising clients on potential liability and obligations arising from AML/CFT related legislations, including the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap.201);
  • advising companies and individuals of the best practice in respect of anti-bribery and corruption; and
  • advising clients in relation to the establishment of anti-bribery and corruption policies and procedures.

If you would like to know more about our commercial crime practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at criminal@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

The risk of applying for a prestigious club membership via an intermediary or broker - Membership consultancy firm operator jailed for bribery over Jockey Club’s membership application
In Hong Kong, there are membership consultancy firms that assist applicants to subscribe for memberships of renowned clubs and associations. In the case HKSAR v Wai Jun-feng Vincent (香港特別行政區 訴 韋駿鋒) [2019] HKDC 1715, the Defendant who operated a membership consultancy firm was convicted of one count of conspiracy for an agent to accept an advantage, contrary to Section 9(1)(a) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance and Section 159A of the Crimes Ordinance, indicating that providing assistance in the subscription of such memberships may attract criminal liabilities in certain circumstances. There is a risk that customers who apply for such memberships via broker or intermediary companies might also incur criminal liabilities.
Offering client’s son a job to get a deal – is that bribery?
A Hong Kong logistics group went public in December 2013 but behind the scene, there was an alleged bribery involving the former managing director (the “Defendant”) of an international financial institution (“JPM”) and the son of the director of a company (“K Holdings”) in getting the IPO deal. It was not until February this year did the Court hand down judgment in acquitting the Defendant of the charge of offering an advantage to an agent.
Agents beware: When will accepting an advantage mean trouble?
The recent District Court decision of HKSAR v Cheung Ling Chu Sally and Another (DCCC 920/2019) [2021] HKDC 188 shed light on when it would be an offence under section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap 201)(“POBO”) when an advantage is accepted “in relation to the affairs or business of the principal”.
Back to top

更多

賄賂、欺詐及貪污

貪污是指有人濫用權力謀取私利,從而引致他人利益受損。貪污會損害社會公平和法治,在嚴重的情況下,更可能令市民的性命財產受到威脅。

我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門與公司及商業部門緊密合作,為客戶提供以下服務:

  • 就廉政公署的調查、潛在刑事責任及刑事檢控為客戶提供法律意見及代表客戶行事;
  • 就打擊洗錢/恐怖分子集資的相關法例(包括香港法例第201章《防止賄賂條例》)下的潛在法律責任及義務為客戶提供法律意見;
  • 防止賄賂及貪污的最佳實務守則為公司及個人客戶提供法律意見;
  • 就制訂防止賄賂及貪污的政策及程序為客戶提供法律意見。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的商業罪行業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 criminal@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

透過中介人或經紀申請高級會所會籍的風險: 會籍顧問公司經營者就馬會會籍申請行賄罪成入獄
在香港,有些會籍顧問公司專門協助客人申請某些高級會所及機構的會籍。在香港特別行政區 訴 韋駿鋒 [2019] HKDC 1715一案中,經營會籍顧問公司的被告人被裁定一項串謀代理人接受利益罪,違反《防止賄賂條例》第9(1)(a) 條及《刑事罪行條例》第159A條。這顯示在某些情況下,協助他人申請會籍可能招致刑事責任,而透過經紀或中介公司申請會藉的客人亦同樣可能招致刑事責任。
向客戶的兒子提供職位以取得業務是否賄賂?
一家香港物流集團於2013年12月上市,但背後牽涉一宗涉嫌賄賂,當中涉及一家國際金融機構(「JPM」)的前常務董事(「被告人」)被指向一家公司(「K Holdings」)董事的兒子作出賄賂以取得首次公開招股的業務。法院今年2月才頒下裁決,裁定被告人向代理人提供利益的罪名不成立。
代理人注意:在甚麼情況下接受利益會惹來麻煩?
最近在HKSAR v Cheung Ling Chu Sally and Another (DCCC 920/2019) [2021] HKDC 188一案中,區域法院探討了在甚麼情況下「就主事人的事務或業務」接受利益,會構成香港法例第201章 《防止賄賂條例》(「該條例」)第9條下的罪行。
Back to top