More

Company Name Squatting

It is not uncommon to see companies whose name or trade mark have been wrongfully registered by another entity. Such act, known as “squatting”, could be a headache to the genuine owner of company name or trade mark and cause confusion to the market. ONC Lawyers has successfully acted for hundreds of clients to challenge such shadow companies and have their name changed.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

How to win and repel trademark squatters in the PRC?
Foreign businesses are often vulnerable to trademark squatting in the PRC, where a “first-to-file” trademark system operates. In a “first-to-file” trademark system, trademark rights are awarded to the first applicant who applied for the relevant trademark as opposed to granting rights based on the legitimate use of the mark or an intent to use the mark. In a recent case, we have successfully assisted our client to repel a trademark squatter in the PRC.
Jenny Bakery: Some Tips for Fighting Trademark Squatters
Jenny Bakery, the Hong Kong bakery which has phenomenal sales and is famous for its “4 MIX” cookies packed in teddy bear tins, is struggling with trademark squatters allegedly registering its trademarks in Chinese.
Heavy price for insufficient coverage? MUJI ordered to pay damages for trade mark infringement in China
The Japanese brand MUJI lost in a trade mark infringement case to a local Chinese company with an earlier registered mark which highly resembles the former’s well-known trade name. China’s Supreme People’s Court has ultimately ruled against MUJI in an appeal after the claims went on for close to a decade. On 4 November 2019, MUJI was ordered by the Beijing Municipal High People’s Court to pay damages of more than RMB 600,000 (USD 87,000) and publicly apologizing to the local company.
Back to top

更多

搶註公司名稱或商標

不少的企業也曾遇到自己的公司名稱或商標被其他人搶註為另一家公司的公司名稱,造成企業營運上不少困擾以及市場混淆。所也成功處理超過數百案件,成功將這些專門搶註公司名稱或商標的影子公司的名稱予以變更。


如閣下希望進一步了解本所的知識產權業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至ip@onc.hk 查詢。


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

如何擊退內地商標搶註者?
中國內地採用「申請在先」的商標註冊制度,最早將商標註冊者(而非正當或有意使用商標者)將獲授予商標權,因此外國企業在內地往往很容易被搶註商標。在最近一宗案件中,本所成功協助客戶從內地搶註者手上奪回商標。
珍妮小熊餅店:應付商標搶註行為的小貼士
以小熊鐵罐包裝的「4 MIX」四味曲奇聞名的珍妮小熊餅店,近日因懷疑其中文商標遭人搶先註冊,而捲入了一場商標爭奪風波。
商標註冊範圍不足的代價沉重:無印良品商標侵權案敗訴被中國法院命令賠償
中國一家本地企業的在先註冊商標與日本品牌無印良品的著名商用名稱非常相似,前者就此提起商標侵權訴訟,無印良品被判敗訴。經過長達接近10年的官司,中國最高人民法院作出最終裁決,駁回無印良品的上訴。2019年11月4日,北京市高級人民法院命令無印良品向上述中國企業支付損害賠償超過人民幣600,000元(87,000美元)及公開道歉。
Back to top