More

Family & Matrimonial

ONC Lawyers advises on all aspects of family laws.  We are experienced in handling a large variety of situation, from simple to complex, pre-marriage to divorce, local to international. Whether it is pre or post nuptial agreement, maintenance and variation of maintenance application, dissipation of assets, sole or joint custody argument, injunction application for non-removal of children, we all aim at securing the best possible outcome for our client and children through both negotiated settlement or in court.

  •     Marriage

Getting married is exciting. A lot of preparation has to be done prior to marriage. A growing number of couples nowadays enter into pre-nuptial or post-nuptial agreement in order to prepare for any unexpected event in future. ONC Lawyers is experienced in drafting and negotiating pre-nuptial agreements and post-nuptial agreements that involve personal, family and corporate assets worldwide. We can assist our client in preparing a tailor-made agreement whether its scope is limited to one single country multi-jurisdictional. We understand the importance of bringing our client peace of mind when entering into marriage. Having an adequately drafted agreement can save a lot of stress, time and future legal costs in case a relationship breaks down and any dispute arises. We advise both the financially stronger party and the intended spouse or partner for the following services:

      • Drafting of pre-nuptial agreement;
      • Drafting of post-nuptial agreement;
      • Declaration of status of marriage; and
      • Registration of customary and modern marriages.
  •     Divorce

Divorce is unpleasant but not necessarily painful and time consuming if you have the right advisor standing by your side. ONC Lawyers always endeavor to assist our client in choosing the optimal method to resolve the divorce in a quick and amicable way so that our clients can start a new chapter of life. Our abilities to quickly understand the situation and design practical and realistic solutions in light of clients’ objectives distinguish our firm in the competitive family law arena.

For clients separating on amicable terms with their partners, ONC lawyers is experienced in working together with the other parties in reaching reasoned solutions which maximize the interests of our clients while recognizing the interests of the other party.  We aim for “solution, not complication”.

Our services include: 

      • Preparation of separation deed;
      • Judicial separation; and
      • Separation order.
  •     Litigation

The breakdown of a relationship is stressful. Getting the right advice in a timely manner is crucial.

Finances and children are two major concerns involved in family law litigation. ONC Lawyers understand that every case is unique and we accompanies our clients to navigate through this process and embark on a new journey by providing practical tailored-made solutions to minimize the impacts involved. Depending on the complexity of each case, we often work closely with other professionals, such as accountants, surveyors, private investigators, child psychologists, mediators and family counsellors.

Our services include:

      • Divorce;
      • Application for ancillary relief;
      • Variation of maintenance;
      • Application for custody / guardianship / wardship / relocation / adoption for legitimate or illegitimate children;
      • Domestic violence injunction;
      • Injunction against abduction of children; and
      • Other proceedings.

Credentials of our lawyers in this area include:

      • Successfully acting for a mother seeking sole care and control of 2 children involving complicated access and other arrangements;
      • Successfully acting for a father seeking care and control of 2 daughters to stay away from the mother’s physical and emotional abuse;
      • Successfully acting for a mother seeking to increase court ordered maintenance payments for the children;
      • Acting for a client on prenuptial agreement and advising her on pre-marital wealth protection;
      • Successfully acting, with support from professional forensic accountants, for a wife to prevent asset dissipation by the husband during divorce proceedings;
      • Successfully acting for a wife to invite her parents-in-law to join as a party to the divorce proceedings as most of the family assets legally belonged to her parents-in-law;
      • Acting for a husband to prepare a deed of separation and settlement arrangements with a view to achieving an amicable divorce;
      • Acting for a mother in a hostile divorce against the father who pursued criminal charges against her for the sake of obtaining custody, care and control of 2 young children; and
      • Successfully acting for a father seeking an injunction to restrain the Korean mother from removing the children from Hong Kong to Korea.

If you would like to know more about our family & matrimonial practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at family@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ray Lee
Ray Lee
Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ray Lee
Ray Lee
Partner

Recommended Posts

Wardship proceeding: Can an unmarried parent seek return of his / her child from another country?
A wardship order can be applied to allow an unmarried parent to have all the rights and authority that the law will allow him or her as a parent as if a child was legitimate and return the child to Hong Kong. In the recent case of BGPB v KSW [2021] HKCU 1575, a child who was born out of wedlock (the “Child”) was brought overseas by his mother (the “Mother”) without the consent of his father (the “Father”). The Father applied for a wardship order in the Court of First Instance (the “CFI”) to make the Child a “ward of the court” and ordered the return of the Child.
Can you obtain litigation funding from your spouse in a divorce suit?
In matrimonial cases, it is not uncommon for one party with insufficient means to ask for litigation funding from the other party by filing an application for maintenance pending suit. According to section 3 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance, the Court may make orders as it thinks fit requiring one party in a marriage to pay maintenance for the other party from the date of the presentation of the petition for divorce until the date of the determination of the suit. However, under what circumstances can a party seek such funding? What will such funding cover? A recent Court of Appeal case WW v LLN [2020] HKCA 178 has provided valuable guidance.
Legal parenthood of a child born via surrogacy
With the advance in medical technology, the process of in vitro fertilization enables a child to be born through a surrogate mother using the eggs and sperm of the intended parents (“Commissioning Couple”). Some couples who are infertile, past childbearing age or physically unfit for childbearing may see surrogacy as their last hope of having genetically connected children. However, hurdles remain for Hong Kong couples who intend to arrange for surrogacy.
Back to top

更多

家事及婚姻

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所就家事法的所有範疇為客戶提供意見無論是處理簡單或複雜的件婚前事務辦理離婚本地或涉及外地的個案我們都有豐富的經驗我們擅長處理婚前協議婚後協議申請贍養費申請變更贍養費阻止耗散資產單獨或共同管養權爭議申請禁止遷移子女的禁制令。我們致力透過磋商及或法庭訴訟為客戶及其子女爭取最佳方案

  •     婚姻

結婚是人生大事婚前要做很多準備工夫。如今越來越多人選擇訂立婚前協議或婚後協議,以防萬一我們在草擬及磋商婚前協議及婚後協議方面素有經驗能為客戶在全球各地的個人家庭及公司資產作好安排無論涉及的資產位於一個或多個司法管轄區我們都能為客戶度身設計配合其需要的協議我們務求協助準備結婚的客戶消除後顧之憂而一份周全的協議就能減輕不少壓力將來一旦關係改變或發生爭議亦可減省不必要的時間和法律費用我們為準備結婚的客戶包括財力較豐厚的一方及其伴侶提供以下服務

      • 草擬婚前協議;
      • 草擬婚後協議;
      • 作出婚姻狀況聲明;及
      • 登記舊式或現代婚姻。
  •     離婚

離婚是不愉快的經歷,不過要是有適合的顧問從旁協助亦未必需要經歷漫長的痛苦過程ONC 柯伍陳律師事務所一直致力協助客戶選擇最適合的方法以快捷和睦地辦理離婚讓客戶可以展開人生新的一頁。我們迅速了解客戶情況配合客戶目的制定務實解決方案的能力令我們在競爭激烈的家事法範疇中脫穎而出。

對於與伴侶和平分手的客戶本所能夠與客戶及其伴侶共同磋商達致經深思熟慮的解決方案為客戶爭取最佳利益而同時顧及另一方的需要務求做到解難不添煩」。

    我們的服務包括

      • 擬備分居契約;
      • 申請裁判分居;
      • 申請分居令。
  •     訴訟

關係一旦破裂會令當事人承受巨大壓力因此,在適當時候尋求適當意見是非常重要的

財務及子女安排是家事訴訟的兩大重點我們明白每宗案件都有其獨特之處因此我們在過程中陪伴客戶提供務實度身設計的解決方案協助客戶展開人生的新一頁,減少受到的影響如有需要我們亦會與會計師測量師私家偵探兒童心理學家調解員及家事輔導員等其他專業人士合作處理複雜的情況

我們的服務包括

      • 辦理離婚;
      • 申請附屬濟助;
      • 申請變更贍養費;
      • 申請管養權監護權遷移令領養婚生或非婚生子女;
      • 申請禁止家庭暴力的禁制令;
      • 申請禁止擄拐兒童的禁制令;
      • 辦理其他法律程序。

我們在此範疇曾處理的案件包括

      • 成功協助一名母親申請兩名子女的單獨照顧及管束權當中涉及複雜的探視及其他安排;
      • 成功協助一名父親申請兩名女兒的照顧及管束權以遠離母親的身體及精神虐待;
      • 成功協助一名母親向法院申請增加子女的贍養費;
      • 協助一名客戶擬備婚前協議,及就其婚前財產保護提供意見;
      • 在專業法證會計師的支援下成功協助一名妻子阻止丈夫在離婚過程中耗散資產;
      • 成助協助一名妻子邀請其丈夫的父母加入為離婚程序中的一方,因為大部分家庭資產法律上屬於他們;
      • 代表一名丈夫據備分居契約及和解安排以期和平分手;
      • 在一宗敵意離婚案件中代表一名母親行事就其丈夫為取得兩名年幼子女的管養照顧及管束權而對她提出的刑事訴訟作出抗辯;
      • 成功代表一名父親申請禁制令阻止其韓籍妻子將子女由香港遷移到韓國。

如閣下希望進一步了解本所的家事及婚姻業務或我們可如何為閣下的業務提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 family@onc.hk 查詢。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

律師團隊

李展鵬
李展鵬
合夥人
李展鵬
李展鵬
合夥人

推薦文章

法院駁回在沒有重大情況變更下提出的更改單獨管養令申請
在香港,子女的管養、照顧及管束或探視令可以在發生重大的情況變更時予以更改。在NLC v YMF [2021] HKEC 4824 [2021] HKFC 203一案中,法院需決定是否將關於一名12歲男童的單獨管養令改為共同管養令。
你可以在離婚訴訟中向配偶索取訴訟資金嗎?
在婚姻訴訟案件中,經濟能力欠佳的一方往往會申請訟案待決期間的贍養費,藉此向對方索取訴訟資金。根據《婚姻法律程序與財產條例》第3條,法院可作出其認為合適的命令,要求婚姻的其中一方自提出離婚呈請當日起至案件審結日期向另一方支付贍養費。但是,一方在甚麼情況下才可索取訴訟資金?訴訟資金的涵蓋範圍為何?最近在WW v LLN [2020] HKCA 178 一案中,上訴法院提供了重要的指引。
在代孕安排中誕下的子女的合法父母權利
現代醫學昌明,希望成為父母的伴侶(「委託伴侶」)可透過體外人工受孕,將二人的卵子和精子結合後植入代母體內,從而誕下孩子。對於不育、懷孕年齡已過或身體狀況不宜懷孕的人士來說,代孕可能是他們擁有有血緣關係子女的最後希望。但在香港,希望安排代孕的人士仍需面對很多障礙。
Back to top