More

Professional Indemnity

  •     Professional Disciplinary Actions and Proceedings

Nowadays many professionals are highly regulated, such as the financial professionals, insurance agents, social workers and medical doctors. Whilst serious transgressions are dealt with by criminal law, more often than not, these professionals face problems with their regulatory bodies for alleged breaches of regulatory codes committed even out of inadvertence. Our firm has in the past years been actively engaged in advising and representing clients before regulatory authorities such as:

      • The Securities and Futures Commission
      • The Law Society of Hong Kong
      • The Confederation of Insurance Brokers
      • Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants
      • The Social Workers Registration Board

Disciplinary actions by these regulatory authorities could have serious consequences to the professionals concerned and we keep this in mind when supplying clients with our advice and assistance so as to minimise any adverse impact.

 

  •     Alternative Dispute Resolution

Litigation is not the only way to resolve disputes nowadays. From our experience, in appropriate circumstances even the most contentious disputes can be resolved by way of other less litigious modes of dispute resolution such as arbitration, mediation, expert determination or valuation. These other options, collectively known as Alternative Dispute Resolution (“ADR”), are widely recognised as being less confrontational, less formal and less time-consuming and therefore, are more cost-effective. In addition, all the proceedings are held in private and do not attract media attention.

We have both arbitrators and accredited mediators within our team of experienced lawyers. Wherever necessary and desirable, we will advise our clients to make use of ADR to their best advantage and to save costs and time.


If you would like to know more about our professional indemnity practice or how we can help you, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ldr@onc.hk .

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Take Alternative Dispute Resolutions and Settlement Seriously
Personal Injuries claims are civil claims. Given limited judicial resources, parties to civil claims have long been encouraged to settle their disputes or switch to ways of dispute resolutions other than going to court for trial. Examples are settlement negotiations and mediation. After the Civil Justice Reform (“CJR”) in 2009, rules of civil procedures have been amended to create incentives for parties to resolve civil disputes by reaching settlement before trial, mainly by imposing adverse costs order against those who fail to consider settlement sufficiently and seriously.
Can solicitors rely on the defence of illegality when being sued for professional negligence in relation to an unlawful transaction?
In its recent judgment of Stoffel & Co. v Grondona [2020] UKSC 42, the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom (“Supreme Court”) examined the defence of illegality in the context of a professional negligence claim. The Supreme Court held that the true rationale of the defence of illegality is that recovery should not be permitted if it would result in inconsistency and disharmony in the law, and so cause damage to the integrity of the legal system.
Whether a Sanctioned Offer Made Subject to a Condition Precedent is Still Valid?
In the recent Court of First Instance case Ryder Industries Ltd v Timely Electronics Co Ltd HCA 2358/2007 & 109/2009, the Court held that the existence of a condition precedent in an otherwise compliant sanctioned offer did not preclude it from being a valid sanctioned offer.
Back to top

更多

專業彌償訴訟

  •      專業紀律處分程序及聆訊

現今,許多專門行業例如金融專業、保險代理、社工及醫生等均受到高度的監管。嚴重的違規行為固然觸犯刑事法例,但更多時候,專業人士即使偶一不慎,便會被指違反專業守則,需要面對監管機構的紀律調查或聆訊。本所律師在協助客戶面對紀律調查和聆訊方面素有經驗。我們在過往曾經代表客戶出席不同監管機構的紀律聆訊,包括:

·      證券及期貨事務監察委員會

·      香港律師會

·      香港保險顧問聯會

·      香港會計師公會

·      社會工作者註冊局


這些監管機構的紀律聆訊對有關的專業人士來說,可以有極嚴重的後果,而我們為客戶提供意見及協助時亦緊記這一點,務求減低客戶受到的  負面影響。

 

  •     非訴訟調解爭議機制(ADR

如今,訴訟並非解決糾紛的唯一方法。根據我們的經驗,即使是極具爭訟性的糾紛也可以透過其他對抗程度較低的爭議調解模式來解決,例如仲裁、調解、專家裁決或估值。這些解決模式統稱為非訴訟調解爭議機制,現已獲廣泛認同為對抗程度較低、形式上的規定較少,並可縮短所需時間,因而達到更大的成本效益。此外,此類法律程序不用公開進行,因此不會引起傳媒關注。

我們經驗豐富的律師團隊中包括仲裁員和認可調解員。在有需要和適當的情況下,我們會建議客戶採用非訴訟爭議調解機制,使他們獲得最大利益,並節省成本和時間。


如閣下希望進一步了解本所的專業彌償訴訟業務或我們可如何為閣下提供協助,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 ldr@onc.hk 查詢

 


請參閱「法律專」內之文

推薦文章

認真考慮替代排解方法及和解
人身傷害申索屬民事申索。由於司法資源有限,法院一直鼓勵民事申索各方透過和解或循訴訟以外的途徑(例如和解協商及調解)解決爭議。自2009年實施民事司法制度改革之後,民事程序規則作出了修訂,主要透過對沒有充分及認真考慮和解的一方發出不利訟費令,以提供誘因,令民事糾紛各方在審訊前達成和解。
律師如在涉及違法交易的案件中被控專業疏忽, 可否以對方作出「違法行為」作抗辯理由?
最近在 Stoffel & Co. v Grondona [2020] UKSC 42 一案中,英國最高法院審視了在被控專業疏忽時以對方作出「違法行為」作抗辯理由這個做法。最高法院認為,容許以「違法行為」作抗辯理由的真正理據在於:若追討賠償會導致與法律抵觸及衝突,並因而損害法律制度的穩健性,則法院不應批准有關索償。
「附帶條款和解提議」若受制於先決條件,是否仍然有效?
最近高等法院原訟法庭在Ryder Industries Ltd v Timely Electronics Co Ltd HCA 2358/2007 & 109/2009一案中裁定,一項已符合規定的「附帶條款和解提議」,即使有先決條件,仍屬有效。
Back to top