More

Employment Disputes & Litigation

Disputes can arise at any workplace.  They can be between business partners, directors, employers and employees/former employees.  Resolving workplace disputes does not have to be stressful, costly and complicated.  In many cases, engaging the right legal advisors with industry knowledge and the right expertise can help you choose the most effective method of dispute resolution and manage disputes in an efficient and economical manner. 

We take a practical and commercially minded approach to all employment disputes and help you resolve your dispute and/or seek redress of grievances effectively.  We help you with your most challenging contentious (whether local or cross-border) matters.  Leveraging our litigation expertise, our team of employment lawyers offers responsive advice and effective case management across the full gamut of contentious employment matters relating to breaches of fiduciary duties, disclosure of trade secrets, enforcement of restrictive covenants, team moves, bonus and profit-sharing arrangements, whistleblowing and allegations of discrimination.  In addition to pursuing claims to fight for what our clients deserve and defending frivolous claims in courts, we explore alternative methods of dispute resolution to resolve contentious matters and strategically achieve business goals of our clients.

Our team provides the following services:

  • dealing with labour tribunal claims, court proceedings in Magistrates’ Courts, District Court and High Court, and disciplinary proceedings;
  • advising on breach of employment contracts;
  • advising on enforcement of confidentiality and non-disclosure agreements;
  • advising on enforcement of post-employment restrictions such as non-solicitation, non-compete and non-dealing clauses;
  • making and defending injunction applications;
  • advising on allegations of serious misconducts of employees and whether they are serious enough to warrant summary dismissal;
  • handling complaints of discrimination lodged with the Hong Kong Equal Opportunities Commission; and
  • advising on claims brought under the anti-discrimination laws before Hong Kong courts.

Credentials of our lawyers in this area include:

  • assisted a NGO in successfully defending a highly litigious wrongful dismissal claim by a former employee at the Labour Tribunal and the subsequent appeal at the Court of First Instance; and successfully applied for the dismissal of the former employee’s application for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeal;
  • advised on breaches of confidentiality, contractual duties, fiduciary duties, and duty of fidelity, and infringement of client’s proprietary rights over client’s data by a former senior employee, who had joined a competitor.  Assisted client in swiftly settling the matter;
  • advised client on the summary dismissal of an employee based on dishonesty and breach of trust.  The former employee threatened to commence proceedings against client at the Labour Tribunal for wrongful dismissal.  Assisted client in settling the matter swiftly without client paying a penny to the former employee; and
  • advised client on dismissal of a senior executive who had threatened to bring claims against client for unreasonable dismissal, breach of good faith and rationality implied term of her employment contract, and discrimination including disability discrimination, sex and/or marital status discrimination, and family status discrimination.

If you would like to seek advice on employment litigation issues, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at employment@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Can employers bring a claim against employees for wrongful conduct during employment in the Labour Tribunal?
In Hong Kong, the Labour Tribunal offers a quick, informal and inexpensive way of settling monetary disputes between employers and employees. However, it does not cover all disputes that arise in the employment context. In the recent case of Lee Yiu Hong v Well-in Hotel Supplies Company Limited 2020 HKCFI 2760, the Court of First Instance (“CFI”) reiterated that claims in tort, including mixed claims founded in both contract and tort fall outside the exclusive jurisdiction of the Labour Tribunal (“Tribunal”).
Whether All Employment-related Claims Must Be Lodged with the Labour Tribunal?
The Hong Kong Labour Tribunal (“LT”) is established for the purpose of assisting employers and employees to resolve their disputes (e.g. unpaid wages and other statutory payments) quickly and cost-effectively without the need to go through the formal legal procedures of the court.
Employment dispute concerning payment of contract-end gratuity arising from inappropriate statements made at forum
Previously in “Can an Employer Consider an Employee’s Work Performance in Deciding Whether to Pay Contract-end Gratuity to the Employee?”, the application of a contractual term in relation to whether gratuity payment can be subject to the employer’s opinion of an employee’s “satisfactory completion” of an employment contract is discussed in light of the case in Chok Kin Ming v Equal Opportunities Commission HCLA 42/2015. Following the decision of the Court of First Instance, the case was remitted back to the Labour Tribunal (“Tribunal”) for determination. At the second trial, the Tribunal ruled in favour of the Equal Opportunity Commission (“EOC”), the employer. Mr Chok Kin Ming (“Claimant”), the employee concerned, appealed against the Tribunal’s decision to the CFI.
Back to top

更多

僱傭糾紛及訴訟

任何工作場所均可能發生糾紛,而涉事者可以是業務夥伴、董事、僱主及僱員/前僱員。要解決勞資糾紛,不一定需要劍拔弩張、花費高昂費用及牽涉繁複程序。很多時候,只要聘用熟識有關行業及具備所需專業知識的律師,便可協助閣下選擇最有效的爭議調解方案,迅速地以相宜的費用解決糾紛。

我們採取務實和從商業角度出發的方式協助閣下處理各類僱傭糾紛,有效地解決爭議及/或提出申訴,應對各種棘手的本地或跨境爭訟事宜。我們的僱傭部門律師在訴訟方面經驗豐富,可就各類有關違反受信責任、洩露商業機密、強制執行限制性契諾、集體跳槽、花紅及利潤分配安排、舉報違規事宜及涉嫌歧視的爭訟性僱傭事宜迅速提供法律意見,並妥善管理案件。除了在法院提出申索以為客戶爭取應得權益和就瑣屑無聊的申索抗辯外,我們也會探索替代的調解爭議方案,從而解決爭議,並有策略地實現閣下的業務目標。

我們的團隊提供以下服務:

  • 在勞資審裁處的申索、裁判法院、區域法院及高等法院的法律程序和紀律程序中代表客戶應訴;
  • 就違反僱傭合約事宜提供法律意見;
  • 強制執行保密協議提供法律意見;
  • 就禁止招攬客戶、禁止競爭及禁止買賣條款等離職後限制提供法律意見;
  • 申請及反對禁制令
  • 就僱員被指嚴重行為失當及有關行為的嚴重程度是否足以構成即時解僱的理由提供法律意見;
  • 協助客戶處理他人向香港平等機會委員會對客戶提出的歧視投訴;及
  • 就根據反歧視法例向香港法院提出的申索提供法律意見。

我們的律師在此範疇曾經處理的案件包括:

  • 協助一家非政府機構就其前僱員在勞資審裁處提出極具爭訟性的不當解僱申索以及其後在原訟法庭進行的上訴中成功抗辯,並成功向上訴法院申請駁回該前僱員提出的上訴許可申請;
  • 為客戶就其一名已加盟競爭對手的前高級僱員違反保密責任、合約責任、受信責任、忠誠責任侵犯客戶對其資料的專有權利事宜提供法律意見,最終協助客戶迅速解決事件;
  • 為客戶就其以不誠實及違反信託為由即時解僱一名僱員提供法律意見。該前僱員揚言入稟勞資審裁處控告客戶不當解僱本所最終協助客戶在無需向該前僱員作出任何賠償的情況下迅速解決事件;及
  • 為客戶就解僱一名曾威控告客戶無理解僱、違反其僱傭合約的真誠及理性隱含條款和歧視包括殘疾歧視、性別及或婚狀況歧視和家庭崗位歧視的高級行政人員提供法律意見

如閣下希望就僱傭訴訟事宜徵詢法律意見,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至employment@onc.hk聯絡我們。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

僱主可否就僱員在職期間的不當行為在勞資審裁處向僱員提出申索?
在香港,勞資審裁處能為勞資雙方解決金錢糾紛,不但程序簡單快捷,而且費用低廉。然而,審裁處的司法管轄權並不涵蓋所有僱傭糾紛。最近在 Lee Yiu Hong v Well-in Hotel Supplies Company Limited 2020 HKCFI 2760 一案中,原訟法庭重申侵權申索(包括同時基於合約和侵權的混合申索)超出審裁處的專屬司法管轄權範圍。
任何僱傭申索均需由勞資審裁處審理嗎?
勞資審裁處的設立,旨在協助僱主與僱員以低廉的費用,無需依循法院的正式訴訟程序快捷地解決糾紛(例如追討欠薪及其他法定付款)。
僱員若為了向僱主報復而傷害他人,僱主是否須向受害人承擔轉承責任?
在2020年4月的通訊〈僱員被僱主委聘的醫生性侵,僱主是否須承擔法律責任?轉承責任的最新發展〉中,我們探討了僱主是否須就非僱員的過失承擔轉承責任。簡言之,若符合以下兩項條件,僱主便須就僱員的疏忽或其他侵權行為承擔轉承責任:(1) 基於雙方的關係,法律上要求一方為另一方的過失作出賠償是恰當的;及 (2) 雙方的關係與侵權人(即犯過者)的過失之間有充分關連。在本文中,我們將探討僱主轉承責任的第二項條件:僱員犯下過失背後的動機與僱傭關係是否有密切關連?最近在 WM Morrison Supermarkets plc v Various Claimants [2020] UKSC 12 一案中,英國最高法院討論了相關法律原則。
Back to top