More

Data Protection & Privacy

Nowadays, data protection and privacy are critical considerations for companies, employees and customers. Sensitive information commonly stored or accessible by companies, be that employee records, customer details, system access passwords, transaction records, intellectual property, or trade secrets, needs to be protected from unauthorized access and misuse.  In addition, incompliance with data protection and privacy laws can be costly and leave yourself open to reputational damages, civil as well as criminal liabilities. 

ONC is the go-to firm for data protection and privacy matters.  We have notable expertise in the retail, financial services, healthcare, technology and communications sectors and have handled various global compliance projects and regulatory litigation over recent years.  Whatever your business structure and problems, we provide on-time, pragmatic and up-to-date legal advice on a full spectrum of issues ranging from employment data protection, data security breaches to global data governance and compliance work.  We also have experience in interfacing with regulators at the local and international levels in areas ranging from data loss to cybersecurity issues.

Our services include the following areas:

  • Management of employee personal information and sensitive information for advertising and marketing;
  • Employee monitoring and suspected-target screening;
  • Data collection via whistleblower hotlines;
  • Data breaches and cyber incidents;
  • Cloud services and mobile privacy breaches;
  • Data protection and privacy policies for business groups and their websites;
  • Cross-border data transfer projects;
  • Handling regulatory inquiries and litigation;
  • Defending against enforcement actions by regulatory and law enforcement agencies;
  • Regulatory compliance in connection with local and international regulatory regimes;
  • Compliance projects and policies in collaboration with human resources and technology departments of business groups.

If you would like to seek advice on data protection and privacy issues, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at onc@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Can police search your mobile phone?
Mobile phone privacy is always a concern for the public. With the advancement of technologies, mobile phones have become a convenient work tool for us and we rely on various smartphone features such as internet, instant messenger, email, etc. to communicate, share digital files and photos, and complete work tasks. In a recent judicial review before the Court of First Instance (“CFI”), Sham Wing Kan v Commissioner of Police [2017] HKCU 2725, an important question of whether the police has power to search and examine without warrant the digital content of mobile phones and other personal digital communications devices found on the person arrested was raised.
Proposed public inspection regime to limit access to company directors’ data in Hong Kong – Potential shortcomings and our recommendations
Recently, the Government has begun its review as to whether personal data contained in the Companies Register (the “Register”) such as information pertaining to addresses of directors should be maintained with the Register. In response, the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (the “Bureau”) along with the Companies Registry (the “CR”) submitted a paper to the Legislative Council on 29 March 2021 (the “Proposal”), which proposed to bring into operation a new inspection regime (the “Regime”) that has been included the Companies Ordinance (“CO”) when the legislation was made in 2012.
Hong Kong amends personal data protection laws to combat doxxing
With an aim to combating doxxing acts that are intrusive to personal data privacy, the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau proposed amendments to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486) (“PDPO”) on 11 May 2021. The amendment bill was passed on 29 September 2021 and the Personal Data (Privacy) (Amendment) Ordinance 2021 (“Amendment PDPO”) has come into force on 8 October 2021. To facilitate implementation of the Amendment PDPO, the the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data (“Commissioner”) issued a guideline in October 2021 to provide guidance on the scope of doxxing offences and powers of the Commissioner regarding doxxing acts under the Amendment PDPO (“Guideline”).
Back to top

更多

資料保護及私隱

今時今日,保護個人資料及私隱是企業、僱員及顧客的關鍵考慮因素。企業一般儲存或查閱的敏感資料,不論是僱員紀錄、顧客詳情、系統登入密碼、交易紀錄、知識產權或商業機密,都必須加以保護,以防止被擅自存取及濫用。此外,不遵守個人資料保護及私隱法例可能導致聲譽受損或面臨民事及刑事責任,代價非常高昂。

柯伍陳律師事務所是協助閣下處理個人資料保護及私隱事宜的不二之選。我們在零售、金融服務、保健、科技及通訊等行業擁有豐富經驗,近年亦曾處理多項大型的全球合規項目及監管事宜訴訟。無論閣下的業務架構及問題如何,我們都會在不同範疇合時提供務實而最新的法律意見,包括僱員資料保護、違反資料安全、全球資料管治以及合規工作。我們在聯絡本地和國際監管者以處理資料遺失、網絡安全等事宜方面亦素有經驗。

本所的服務範圍包括:

  • 管理僱員個人資料及用於廣告和市場推廣的敏感資料;
  • 個人資料外洩及網絡事故;
  • 雲端及流動服務侵犯私隱;
  • 企業及其網站的個人資料保護及私隱政策;
  • 個人資料跨境轉移;
  • 處理監管機構的查詢及訴訟;
  • 就監管及執法部門的執法行動進行抗辯;
  • 遵守本地及國際監管制度;及
  • 與企業的人力資源部門及技術部門合作處理合規項目及制定政策。

若閣下希望就個人資料保護及私隱事宜徵詢法律意見,歡迎致電 (852) 2810 1212或電郵至 onc@onc.hk 與我們聯絡。

請參閱「法律專欄」內之文章

推薦文章

警務人員可搜查市民的手機嗎?
手機私隱一直備受公眾關注。隨著科技進步,手機成為方便工作的好工具。我們利用智能手機的互聯網、即時通訊、電郵等各種功能溝通、分享數碼文件及照片,以及完成各種工作。近期原訟法庭在一宗司法覆核案件Sham Wing Kan v Commissioner of Police [2017] HKCU 2725審理了一個重要問題——警務人員是否有權在沒有手令的情況下搜查及審查被捕人士身上的手機及其他個人數碼通訊設備上的數碼內容?
當局擬收緊公眾查閱香港公司董事資料的範圍——潛在問題及建議
政府早前開始檢討公司登記冊(「登記冊」)所載的個人資料(例如董事的地址)是否應備存於登記冊內。財經事務及庫務局連同公司註冊處於2021年3月29日向立法會提交文件(「該方案」),建議實施現行《公司條例》於2012年訂立時已包括的新查閱制度(「新制度」)。
香港修訂個人資料保護法以打擊起底行為
為打擊侵犯個人資料私隱的起底行為,政制及內地事務局於2021年5月11日建議修訂《個人資料(私隱)條例》(香港法例第486章)(《私隱條例》)。修訂條例草案於2021年9月29日獲通過,而《2021年個人資料(私隱)(修訂)條例草案》(「修訂條例」)已於2021年10月8日生效。為配合修訂條例的實施,個人資料私隱專員公署(「私隱專員」)於2021年10月發出了指引(「該指引」),說明起底罪行的範圍以及私隱專員在修訂條例下就起底行為的執法權力。
Back to top