More

Trade Secrets & Confidential Information

Whilst confidential information and trade secrets are not made known to the public, they are extremely important and valuable assets to the success of your company. Examples could be formulas and procedures for the manufacturing of a product, the methodology, algorithm etc. Businesses nowadays are starting to recognize and take active steps to protect such trade secrets and confidential information, to ensure that competitors will not be able to gain access or knowledge of the same.

ONC understands the importance of trade secrets and confidential information. We actively work with our clients in order to understand the information that is crucial to our client’s success, and to strategize on how to protect such information, in terms of practical methods of protection, and also by written agreements to ensure the confidential information is not leaked to the general public or any competitors.

We have assisted our clients on the following:

  • acting on behalf of a Hong Kong education company against an ex-employee following the hacking of the company’s system;
  • advising an innovative IT company on the preparation of confidentiality agreements; and
  • assisting and advising a semiconductor company in setting up and obtaining trade secret qualification in the PRC.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

How could your FinTech be protected by intellectual property laws in Hong Kong?
The FinTech industry is a highly competitive one driven by innovative ideas and it is essential to devise a comprehensive strategy to protect the products of your innovation and hard work from an early stage. If your FinTech product or service is rooted in ideas and innovation, have you ever think of – How and what extent could your FinTech be protected by Intellectual Property (“IP”) rights? If your business activities involve FinTech, you may need to consider whether and how your interests can be protected in the realm of IP law. In this article, we will start with exploring possible IP protection available to your FinTech, in particular patent protection, followed by protection by copyright for those not patentable parts. After which, protection for your company’s name or your FinTech product or service’s name under the trademark regime will be discussed. Finally, we will share some thoughts regarding possible protection for certain confidential information in relation to your trade, consisting of “know-how” and/or “skills”, which is not typically protected under the patent nor copyright regimes.
How Can an Employer Claim Against Former Employee for Making Similar Patent Applications?
In Acron International Technology Limited v Chan Yiu Wai & Anor HCA 1709/2010 (date of judgment: 25 January 2016), the Court of First Instance delivered the first-ever judgment on section 57(1) of the Patents Ordinance (the “Ordinance”). The Plaintiff succeeded in its claim against one of its former employees who had made a patent application which is similar to a technology developed by the Plaintiff after their termination of employment with the Plaintiff.
IP after Brexit: Are my IP rights still protected?
The UK has formally left the European Union (the “EU”) on 1 February 2020. According to the Withdrawal Agreement, the current transition period where EU Laws remain applicable to the UK will be ending on 31 December 2020 (the “Exit Day”). After this date, any EU laws and regulations that have not been implemented domestically into UK law will cease to have any effect on the UK i.e. starting from 1 January 2021. Prior to Brexit, IP laws in the UK are essentially composed directly of EU regulations. After the Exit Day i.e. as of 1 January 2021, IP rights such as designs and trademarks previously registered in the EU will only cover the remaining EU member states, and will no longer cover the UK. This article will explore the effects of Brexit, and how UK IP rights holders may ensure that their rights remain unaffected after the Exit Day.
Back to top

更多

商业机密及机密资料

机密资料及商业机密是企业成功的关键和重要资产,例如产品制造配方及工序、方法及演算法等等,绝不能对外公开。今时今日,许多企业均开始明白并主动采取保护措施,从而确保竞争对手无法获取或得知其商业机密及机密资料。


本所深明商业机密及机密资料的重要性。我们积极与客户合作,从而了解对客户取得成功至关重要的资料;制定相应策略,以切实可行的方法保护有关资料;及协助客户订立书面协议,确保机密资料不会泄露予一般公众或任何竞争对手。


我们曾协助客户处理以下事宜:

  • 代表香港一家教育机构就其前雇员入侵公司系统提出诉讼;
  • 为一家创新资讯科技公司就草拟保密协议提供法律意见;及
  • 协助一家半导体公司在内地建立及取得商业机密资格,并就此提供法律意见。

如阁下希望进一步了解本所的知识产权业务或我们可如何为阁下的业务提供协助,欢迎致电 (852) 2810 1212或电邮至ip@onc.hk 查询。


请参阅「法律专栏」内之文章 

推荐文章

你的金融科技是否获得香港知识产权法的保障?
金融科技业是一个由创意带动的高竞争行业,因此应制定全面策略,及早开始保护你的发明及作品。若你的金融科技产品或服务涉及创新及发明,你有否想过:金融科技如何及多大程度上受到知识产权保护?假如你的业务活动涉及金融科技,你或需考虑你的权益是否及如何受到知识产权法律的保护。 在本文中,我们会先讲解金融科技可享的知识产权保护(特别是专利保护),以及不受专利保护的金融科技可获得的版权保护。然后,我们会探讨公司名称、金融科技产品或服务名称在商标制度下享有的保护。最后,我们将就若干在专利或版权制度下一般不受保护的商业秘密资料(包括「技术诀窍」及/或「技巧」)提出一些想法。
前雇员申请类似专利,雇主可如何追究?
在Acron International Technology Limited v Chan Yiu Wai & Anor HCA 1709/2010(裁决日期:2016年1月25日)一案中,原告人成功控告一名前雇员在终止受雇后,申请一项与原告人开发的技术相似的专利,这是原讼法庭首次就《专利条例》第57(1) 条作出裁决。
英国脱欧后,我的知识产权是否仍受保障?
英国自2020年2月1日起已正式脱离欧盟。根据脱欧协议,欧盟法例在现行过渡期内仍适用于英国,惟过渡期将于2020年12月31日(「退出日」)结束。此后,任何尚未纳入英国法律的欧盟法例及规例将自2021年1月1日起不再在英国具有效力。 在英国脱欧前,英国的知识产权法例基本上由欧盟规例直接组成。在退出日后(即从2021年1月1日起),过往在欧盟注册的知识产权(例如外观设计及商标)将只适用于余下的欧盟成员国,不再适用于英国。本文将探讨英国脱欧对知识产权的影响,以及英国的知识产权持有人可如何确保其权利在退出日后不会受到任何影响。
Back to top