More

Copyright

With the rise of modern technology, in addition to traditional copyright, other forms of work such as films, sound and digital recordings, cable programs and different published editions of literary, dramatic or musical works are also capable of copyright existence.

ONC recognizes the creativity, labor, time and efforts in compiling a work, and the importance that the rights to such works are protected and recognized. We frequently advise our clients on protecting their copyright in Hong Kong, the PRC and other parts of the world, including on obtaining protection, and defending such copyright in litigation and other enforcement actions such as customs actions.

We have assisted our clients in a wide array of work concerning copyright:

  • Advising on and obtaining copyright registration for a healthcare based mobile application;
  • Advising a reputable global insurance company on copyright protection for education materials distributed around South-East Asia;
  • Advising a listed company on copyright registration and protection of its financial media and information in Hong Kong and PRC;
  • Advising a reputable statutory body in relation to copyright licensing and sub-licensing in Hong Kong and PRC in relation to artistic works;
  • Advising a start-up technology company on obtaining copyright registration over VR programs, and defending infringement in relation to the same;
  • Advising a reputable local religious entity in developing musical works and preparing commissioning agreements in relation to the same;
  • Advising a reputable publisher with over 300 years of history in copyright infringement issues in relation to publications; and
  • Acting for a renowned Asian artist in reporting to the Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department in respect of infringement of his visual and audio works, and successfully taking enforcement action against the infringer.

If you would like to know more about our intellectual property practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at ip@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

Are AI produced works protectable under Copyright Law?
In recent years, artificial intelligence or robots have been creating contents on their own. The famous Edmond de Belamy, which was sold for an unexpectedly high price of US$432,500 at auction, was an artwork created using artificial intelligence (“AI”). Shimon, the singer-songwriter robot empowered by artificial intelligence which sings and writes its own lyrics and composes its own melodies, is about to go on tour to promote its first album. With an increasing amount of funds being invested in such technologies and the potential commercial benefits behind, crucial issues arise and have to be dealt with – can AI-generated contents be considered as copyrighted works? And if so – who should be the owner of the copyright?
Will You Violate the Copyright Law by Performing Popular Songs in Public Places in Hong Kong?
Under the Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) (the “Ordinance”), copyright subsists automatically at the time of creation and belongs to the relevant creators in nine categories of works, namely literary works, musical works, dramatic works, artistic works, sound recordings, films, broadcasts, cable programmes and typographical arrangement of published edition. A piece of music or a song usually incorporates several underlying copyright works with different copyright owners. For example: – the melody termed as a musical work, the copyright of which may be held by its composer; the lyrics termed as a literary work, the copyright of which may be held by its lyricist; and the sound recording itself, whether in the format of a CD or a digital file, the copyright of which may be held by its producer, e.g. its record company. Sections 17 and 18 of the Ordinance set out the duration of copyright protection of musical and literary works as well as sound recordings. The former including melody and lyrics of a song last for the life span of the author plus 50 years and the latter expires at the end of the period of 50 years from its making or releasing to public. During the protected period, copyright owners of a piece of music or a song have the exclusive right regarding the performance, playing or showing of the copyright works in public pursuant to section 22 of the Ordinance. Unless permissions are granted by the copyright owners or their agents or the activity in question is an act expressly exempted by law, the performing, playing or showing of copyright work in public constitutes an act of infringement under section 27 of the Ordinance.
Who Owns the Copyright in a Monkey Selfie?
In 2011, Indonesian monkeys snatched the camera of a British wildlife photographer, David Slater (the “Photographer”) and took self-portraits of themselves. One of the monkey selfies taken by a female monkey has gone viral and made it onto Wikipedia Commons (the “Monkey Selfie”). The Photographer claimed ownership of the Monkey Selfie, taking the view that he had set the self-portraits up by framing them and setting the camera on a tripod. The Photographer requested Wikipedia to take down the Monkey Selfie but was refused. Wikipedia claimed that the Monkey Selfie was uncopyrightable.
Back to top

更多

版权

随着现代科技发展,除了一些传统的版权,版权还可以以不同的媒介方式出现,例如各类电影、声音、电子纪录、有线传播节目,以及文学、戏剧或音乐作品的不同发表版本,也可享有版权。 


我们深明创作需付出大量创意、努力、时间及心血,而保护和尊重作品的知识产权尤其重要。我们经常为客户提供法律意见,协助在香港、内地以及世界各地处理版权事宜(包括获取版权保护),以及在诉讼和其他执法行动(如海关搜查)中捍卫客户的版权。 


我们曾协助许多客户处理不同类别作品的版权事宜,例子包括:

  • 为一家医疗机构就其手机应用程式提供法律意见及取得版权
  • 为一家全球知名的保险公司就其在东南亚各地分发的教材获取版权保护提供法律意见;
  • 为一家上市公司就其香港及内地的财经媒体和资讯的版权注册及保护事宜提供法律意见;
  • 为一家著名法定机构提供法律意见,协助其处理艺术作品在香港和内地的版权授权及转授权事宜;
  • 为一家初创科技公司提供法律意见,协助其获取虚拟实境程式的版权注册,并在有关该等程式的侵犯版权诉讼中抗辩;
  • 为本地一家著名宗教团体提供法律意见,协助开发音乐作品及就有关作品草拟委托协议;
  • 为一家拥有300多年历史的知名出版社就其刊物的侵犯版权问题提供法律意见;
  • 为亚洲著名艺人就侵犯其视听著作向香港海关举报,并成功向侵权人采取执法行动。

如阁下希望进一步了解本所的知识产权业务或我们可如何为阁下的业务提供协助,欢迎致电 (852) 2810 1212或电邮至ip@onc.hk 查询。


请参阅「法律专栏」内之文章

推荐文章

人工智能产生的作品受版权法保护吗?
近年,人工智能或机械人已开始自行创作内容。例如《Edmond de Belamy》这幅使用人工智能创作的名画,在拍卖会上以出乎意料的432,500 美元高价售出。能包办曲词创作及演唱的人工智能唱作机械人Shimon,也正准备为宣传其首张专辑作巡回演出。随着人工智能技术的投资金额日益增加以及考虑到背后的潜在商业利益,我们必须处理以下关键问题:人工智能产生的内容是否可被视为受版权保护的作品?如是,谁是版权拥有人?
在香港公共空间表演流行歌曲会否违反版权法?
根据香港法例第528章《版权条例》,以下9类作品在创作时便自动产生版权并属于其创作者:文学作品、音乐作品、戏剧作品、艺术作品、声音纪录、影片、广播、有线传播节目及已发表版本的排印编排。一段音乐或一首歌曲通常包含多项版权作品,而版权拥有人可能各不相同,例如: 属于音乐作品的旋律,其版权一般由作曲者持有; 属于文学作品的歌词,其版权一般由填词者持有; 歌曲的声音纪录(不论以CD光碟或数码档案格式),其版权一般由制作者(即唱片公司)持有。 《版权条例》第17及18条订明了音乐及文学作品以及声音纪录的版权期限。前者包括歌曲的旋律和歌词,其版权有效期为作者有生之年加50年,而后者的版权于制作或发行起计50年完结时届满。 根据《版权条例》第22条,在版权生效期间,音乐或歌曲的版权拥有人对于公开表演、放映或播放版权作品享有独有权利。 除非获得版权拥有人或其代理人许可,或属法例明文豁免的活动,否则公开表演、放映或播放版权作品是违反《版权条例》第27条的行为。
猴子自拍照的版权谁属?
于2011年,印尼一群猴子拿了英国生态摄影师David Slater(「摄影师」)的相机替自己拍了一些照片,其中一幅在网上疯传的母猴自拍照(「猴子自拍照」)更被放到「维基资源共享」图库。 1408_IP 摄影师声称是猴子自拍照的拥有人,因为是他制造场景,和把相机安放在脚架上。摄影师要求维基删除猴子自拍照,但被拒绝;维基表示,猴子自拍照是没有版权可言的。 动物可享有版权吗? 在美国,根据《美国法典》第17卷《美国版权法》第102(a) 条,固定于任何有形的表达媒界的作者原创作品,获版权保障。下文解释这项条文的意思。
Back to top