More

Banking & Finance Litigation

Disputes relating to the banking and finance industry are becoming prevalent across the world, due to the rising awareness of investors’ rights, increasing complexity of financial products and number of mis-selling incidents and frauds. Prompt and effective actions are required to prevent the occurrence of banking and financial disputes, resolve them should they arise and more importantly, minimize monetary loss and reputational harm.

At ONC Lawyers, our litigation and dispute resolution team works closely with our banking team to advise multinational and local banks, securities companies, funds and other financial institutions on the following areas:

  • loan recovery and enforcement of securities including repossession or sale of securities such as real properties and shares;
  • repossession or sale of securities such as real properties and shares;
  • recovery under financing arrangements including factoring, hire purchase and finance lease;
  • commercial frauds;
  • claims by customers for misrepresentation, negligence and breach of trust;
  • asset identification and tracing and protection of assets including injunction and prohibition orders;
  • corporate rescue;
  • loan restructuring; and
  • documentary credit and trade financing disputes involving letters of credit, bills of exchange, guarantees and indemnities.

For banking, securities and regulated activities, we also advise banks and financial institutions on the following compliance and regulatory matters:

  • issues arising out of the Banking Ordinance, the SFO, HKMA circulars and guidelines, the Code of Banking Practice and the Listing Rules; and
  • investigations and complaints received by regulatory authorities on issues including know-your-customer (KYC) process, product due diligence (PDD), anti-money laundering (AML) and counter-terrorist financing (CTF).

We also provide legal services for companies, individual borrowers and investors to handle their disputes with or claims against banks and financial institutions, particularly disputes involving financial investment products such as accumulators and equity-linked notes.

If you would like to know more about our banking & finance practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at cc@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’

Recommended Posts

ONC Lawyers published A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong
ONC Lawyers published A Concise Guide to Banking and Financial Services Licensing in Hong Kong
Transition away from LIBOR
Introduction The London Interbank Offered Rate (“LIBOR”) has been in use as the key interest rate benchmark for a wide range of financial products worldwide. According to the Results of Survey on Reform of Interest Rate Benchmarks for Q2 2020 (the “Survey Results”) published by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”), the total Hong Kong banking sector’s exposures referencing LIBOR in Q2 of 2020 in terms of assets, liabilities and derivatives amount to HK$4.8 trillion, HK$1.6 trillion and HK$34.7 trillion respectively. However, according to the UK Financial Conduct Authority (“FCA”), which regulates LIBOR, LIBOR will likely be discontinued after the end of 2021 as there is a very high chance that LIBOR panel banks will stop making submissions for LIBOR determination after that date.
Proving dishonesty and “blind-eye knowledge” in fraud-related causes of action against bank creditor
In Re Galleria (Hong Kong) Limited [2019] HKCFI 1877, the Court of First Instance discussed the mental elements required to be proven in the claims for knowing receipt, dishonest assistance, and fraudulent trading against a creditor of a company in liquidation.
Back to top

更多

银行及金融诉讼

随着公众对投资者权利的意识提高、金融产品日趋复杂以及不良销售事件和诈骗数目增加,全球各地银行及金融行业出现纠纷的情况日渐常见。要防止银行及金融纠纷、于纠纷发生时迅速解决纠纷以及(更重要的是)尽量减少金钱及声誉损失,必须及时采取有效的行动。


我们的诉讼及调解争议部门与银行部门紧密合作,为跨国及本地银行、证券公司、基金及其他金融机构就以下范畴提供法律意见:

  • 追收贷款及强制执行抵押品(包括收回或出售房地产及股份等抵押品);
  • 根据融资安排(包括保理、租购及融资租赁)进行追讨;
  • 商业诈骗;
  • 客户就失实陈述、疏忽及违反信托提出的申索;
  • 资产识别、追踪及保护(包括强制令及禁制令);
  • 企业拯救;
  • 债务重组;及
  • 涉及信用证、汇票、担保及弥偿的跟单信用证及贸易融资纠纷。

至于银行、证券及受规管活动方面,我们亦就以下合规及监管事宜为银行及金融机构提供法律意见:

  • 涉及《银行业条例》、《证券及期货条例》、香港金融管理局通告及指引、《银行营运守则》及《上市规则》的问题;
  • 监管机构就「认识你的客户」程序、产品尽职审查、打击洗钱及恐怖分子集资等事宜进行的调查及接获的投诉。

我们亦为公司、个人借款人及投资者提供法律服务,协助他们处理其与银行及金融机构的纠纷或提出的申索,尤其是牵涉累计期权及股票挂钩票据等金融投资产品的纠纷。


如阁下希望进一步了解本所的银行及金融业务或我们可如何为阁下的业务提供协助,欢迎致电 (852) 2810 1212或电邮至 cc@onc.hk 查询


请参阅「法律专栏」内之文章

推荐文章

柯伍陈律师事务所刊发《香港银行及金融服务发牌简明指南》
柯伍陈律师事务所刊发《香港银行及金融服务发牌简明指南》
LIBOR将终止的过渡安排
简介 一直以来,伦敦银行同业拆息(「LIBOR」)在世界各地被用作各种金融产品的主要利率基准。根据香港金融管理局(「金管局」)公布的2020年第2季利率基准改革调查结果(「调查结果」),于2020年第2季,香港银行业以LIBOR作为参考利率的资产、负债及衍生工具敞口总额分别为港币4.8万亿元、港币1.6万亿元及港币34.7万亿元。然而,根据负责监管LIBOR的英国金融行为监理总署(「FCA」),选定为提供LIBOR报价的银行很有可能于2021年年底后不再提交用于计算LIBOR的数据,这意味着LIBOR届时可能将告终止。
以诈骗相关的诉因控告银行债权人时,如何证明不诚实及「视若无睹」?
在Re Galleria (Hong Kong) Limited [2019] HKCFI 1877一案中,原讼法院探讨了在向清盘中的公司的债权人提出就知情接收信托财产、不诚实地提供协助及欺诈营商的申索时所须证明的心理元素。
Back to top