More

Employee Compensation

For over decades, we have been acting for injured employees to recover employees’ compensation for death or incapacity resulting from work accident. We have extensive experience in advising injured employees whose employment relationship is denied by their employers.

We provide the following services:

  • advising clients on their rights and obligations under the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance;
  • liaising with different parties e.g. the Labour Department, the employer and the insurers to explore settlement;
  • advising on and assisting in legal aid application;
  • pursuing the employees’ compensation claims in court; and
  • making application for payment from the Employees Compensation Assistance Fund in relation to unpaid compensation.

If you would like to know more about our employee compensation practice or how we can help your business, please contact us at (852) 2810 1212 or at insurance_pi@onc.hk.

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’ - Insurance & Personal Injury

Please refer to our articles in ‘Knowledge’ - Employment, Privacy & Discrimination

Recommended Posts

Should employers be held liable for employees who sustain injuries arising from everyday normal jobs without any special risk or danger?
In Lo Ho Yin v Phoenix Satellite Television Company Limited [2020] HKDC 615, DCPI 2474/2018, an ex-employee of a television company sustained eye injuries from being hit by his ex-colleague in the course of his employment with the television company (the “Company”). The District Court held that neither the company nor the Plaintiff’s colleague was negligent in causing his injuries. The Plaintiff’s claim was therefore dismissed.
Employee’s rights to claim against the employer for Novel Coronavirus infection
With the number of infections and death toll climbing in mainland China and Hong Kong, as well as over the globe, the Novel Coronavirus is turning into a major global public health crisis. On 30 January 2020, World Health Organization has declared a global public health emergency over the spread of the Novel Coronavirus. In Hong Kong, on 25 January 2020, the Chief Executive has raised the response level to Emergency under the “Preparedness and Response Plan for Novel Infectious Disease of Public Health Significance”. Further, on 28 January 2020 and 31 January 2020, Hong Kong Government announced that, except for staff of the departments providing emergency and specified public services, all other employees of the Government are not required to return to the offices but to work at home from 29 January 2020 to 9 February 2020. The government also appealed to private organizations to make similar arrangement to reduce the risk of the spread of Novel Coronavirus. Whilst some employees can work at home under the flexible working arrangement, some employees still have to go to offices to work in the absence of such arrangement or due to the nature of the work. Employees in some of the industries may even be at a higher risk of infection because of frequent contacts with suspected cases of Novel Coronavirus and people coming from mainland China and different countries, for example people working in hospitals, clinics, immigration areas, hotels and transportation hubs. This article will discuss whether employees can claim against their employers for getting infected of Novel Coronavirus during work or travel between place of residence and place of work.
I slipped and fell at a staircase in the employer’s premise during work. Can I claim the employer for damages for personal injuries?
In Pak Sai Ming v JV Fitness Ltd [2019] HKCFI 2268, the plaintiff (“Mr Pak”) claimed against his employer for damages for personal injuries arising from a slip at a staircase during the course of work. The case took place at one of the fitness centres (the “Fitness Centre”) operated by the defendant (“JV Fitness”) located in a commercial building. Mr Pak was employed at the Fitness Centre as a Fitness Manager immediately before the accident.
Back to top

更多

雇员补偿

二十多年来,本所一直协助因工意外去世或残疾的雇员或其家属追讨雇员补偿。在处理受伤雇员被雇主否认雇佣关系的问题上,我们亦拥有丰富经验。

 

我们提供的服务包括:

  • 就客户在《雇员补偿条例》下的权利及责任为客户提供意见;
  • 联络劳工处、雇主及保险公司等不同人士探讨和解方案;
  • 就法律援助申请提供意见及协助;
  • 代表客户出庭应讯,追讨雇员补偿;及
  • 协助客户就无法追讨的雇员补偿向「雇员补偿援助基金」申请款项。

如阁下希望进一步了解本所的雇员补偿业务或我们可如何为阁下的业务提供协助,欢迎致电 (852) 2810 1212或电邮至 insurance_pi@onc.hk 查询。

请参阅「法律专栏保险及人身伤亡」内之文章

请参阅「法律专栏 - 雇佣、私隐及歧视」内之文章

推荐文章

雇员在执行并无特别风险或危险的日常工作时受伤,雇主须负责吗?
在 Lo Ho Yin v Phoenix Satellite Television Company Limited [2020] HKDC 615, DCPI 2474/2018 一案中,原告人是一间电视公司(「被告人」)的前雇员,他在受雇期间被前同事(「该同事」)弄伤右眼。区域法院裁定,就原告人受伤一事而言,被告人及该同事均没有疏忽。因此,原告人的申索被驳回。
雇员可在甚么情况下就感染新型冠状病毒向雇主索偿?
随着中国内地、香港以至世界各地的感染和死亡人数攀升,新型冠状病毒现已成为全球重大公共卫生危机。2020年1月30日,世界卫生组织宣布将新型冠状病毒疫情列为全球公共卫生紧急事件。 2020年1月25日,香港行政长官将「对公共卫生有重要性的新型传染病预备及应变计划」下的应变级别提升至紧急。其后,香港政府分别于2020年1月28日及1月31日宣布,除了提供紧急和特定公共服务的部门人员外,所有其他政府雇员于2020年1月29日至2020年2月9 日期间无需返回办事处,而应留在家中工作。此外,政府亦呼吁私人机构作出类似安排,以减低新型冠状病毒扩散的风险。 虽然有些雇员可在弹性工作安排下留在家中工作,但仍有相当多的雇员不获上述安排或由于工作性质而须返回办事处。某些行业的雇员(例如在医院、诊所、边境口岸、酒店及交通枢紐工作的人士)更因为与新型冠状病毒的疑似患者以及来自内地和不同国家的人士有频繁接触而可能面临较高的感染风险。本文将会探讨若雇员在工作时或往来居所及工作地点期间感染新型冠状病毒,能否向其雇主索偿。
我工作时在雇主处所的楼梯滑倒受伤,我可向雇主追讨损害赔偿吗?
在Pak Sai Ming v JV Fitness Ltd [2019] HKCFI 2268一案中,白先生就工作期间在楼梯滑倒受伤向他的雇主追讨损害赔偿。事件在原告人的雇主JV Fitness在一幢商业大厦经营的一间健身中心发生。在紧接意外发生前,原告人受雇为健身中心的健身经理。
Back to top