filter
Back

How would the court interpret an expressly agreed term which conflicts with a general printed term in a bunker supply contract?

2021-07-29

Introduction

In the recent English case Septo Trading Inc v Tintrade Ltd [2021] EWCA Civ 718, the English Court of Appeal (the “Court”) considered whether there is inconsistency between a printed general term and a specifically agreed term and the effect of an inconsistent term. The Court reiterated that in determining whether such inconsistency exists, the test lies as to whether the two provisions can be fairly and sensibly read together and it is necessary to ascertain the intention of the parties in the commercial setting.

How would the court interpret an expressly agreed term which  conflicts with a general printed term in a bunker supply contract?


Background

The seller Tintrade Ltd (the “Seller”) and the buyer Septo Trading Inc (the “Buyer”) entered into a contract whereby the Seller agreed to sell and the Buyer agreed to purchase 36,000 to 42,000 mt (in Buyer’s option) of high-sulphur fuel oil, which is evidenced by the Recap dated 20 June 2018 which recorded the terms agreed (the “Recap”). The Recap stipulated, among other things, that a quality certificate issued by a mutually acceptable first class independent inspector would be binding on the parties in the absence of fraud or manifest error (the “Relevant Recap Term”). Simultaneously, it also provided that the BP 2007 General Terms and Conditions for FOB Sales (the “BP General Terms”) would apply “where not in conflict with the above”. The BP General Terms provides that the quality certificate will be conclusive and binding “for invoicing purposes”, but without prejudice to the Buyer’s right to bring a quality claim (the “Relevant BP Term”).


On 26 June 2018, the parties jointly instructed SGS Latvija Ltd (“SGS”) to perform quantity and quality determinations of the fuel oil to be shipped. The quality certificate issued by SGS certified that the fuel oil was in accordance with the contractual specification at the loading port. Upon subsequent analysis of samples drawn from the cargo, it was revealed that the fuel oil was indeed not in compliance.


As such, the Buyer claimed damages on the ground that the product was not in accordance with the contractual specification. The Seller relied on the binding nature of the SGS quality certificate as set out in the Recap. In response, the Buyer argued that pursuant to the Relevant BP Term, the quality certificate was binding only for invoicing purposes and hence, did not preclude it from lodging a claim based on quality of product.


At the English Commercial Court, Mr Justice Teare found, as a matter of fact that the fuel oil failed to comply with the contractual specification. He also held that the Relevant BP Term qualified the Relevant Recap Term, which, if it had stood alone, would have excluded the buyer’s quality claim. Nonetheless, there was no conflict between these terms which could be read together so as to give effect to both of them. Accordingly, the Buyer’s claim succeeded and damages assessed in the sum of US $3,058,801 was awarded to the Buyer.


The Seller appealed, contending that the Relevant BP Term was in conflict with the Relevant Recap Term providing for the determination of quality by the independent inspector to be binding on the parties.



The Law

The law in relation to inconsistency between specially agreed terms and the printed standard terms of the contract is set out in the leading case, Pagnan SpA v Tradax Ocean Transportation SA [1987] 3 All ER 565. In Pagnan, Lord Justice Dillon defined inconsistency of clauses as those that cannot sensibly be read together. This is distinguished from cases where a clause in a document qualifies another clause. Examples of such include a force majeure clause, or a strike and lock out clause, which almost invariably does qualify the apparently absolute obligations undertaken by the parties under other clauses in the contract.


Pagnan has been followed in many other cases, including Alexander v West Bromwich Mortgage Co Ltd [2016] EWCA Civ 496, [2017] 1 All ER 942, where the court further underlined the distinction between a printed term which qualifies or supplements a specially agreed term and one which transforms or negates it. The court in Alexander further elaborated that in order to decide on which side of this line any particular term falls, the question is whether the two clauses can be read together fairly and sensibly so as to give effect to both. This question must be approached practically, having regard to business common sense, and is not a literal or mechanical exercise. It will be relevant to consider whether the printed term effectively deprives the special term of any effect. If so, the two clauses are likely to be inconsistent.


Further, it will also be relevant to consider whether the specially agreed term is part of the main purpose of the contract or whether it forms a central feature of the contractual scheme. If so, a printed term which detracts from that scheme is likely to be inconsistent with it. Ultimately, the object is to ascertain the intention of the parties as it appears from the language in its commercial setting.



Decision

As a starting point for considering the issue of inconsistency, the Court first turned to the provisions of the Recap. In this regard, the Relevant Recap Term stated that the quality certificate should be binding on parties, so that the Buyer cannot thereafter bring a claim on non-compliance of quality of product with the contract specification. Provision for such certifications to be binding formed a central feature of many international sales contract.


The Court next considered the effect of the printed term and held that the Relevant BP Term would effectively mean that the [quality?] certificate was not binding at all.


Finally, the Court reached a firm conclusion that the Relevant BP Term was in conflict with the Relevant Recap Term and the two provisions cannot fairly and sensibly be read together. The Court reached its conclusion for the following reasons:

  1. the Relevant Recap Term provided for the quality certificate to be binding for all purposes, so as to preclude a claim for damages for breach of quality, while the Relevant BP Term stated that the binding nature of the certificate was for a very limited purpose (i.e. “for invoicing purposes”) only;
  2. a regime in which a certificate of quality is binding is fundamentally different from one in which it is not;
  3. the provision in the Recap for the quality certificate to be binding was a central feature of the contractual scheme; and
  4. considering the intention of the parties as practical business people operating in the real world, it was not commercially reasonable to interpret that the parties in this case had chosen a contractual scheme in which the quality certificate is not binding but is merely evidence.

Accordingly, the Court allowed the Seller’s appeal and ruled that the quality certificate issued by SGS would be binding with the consequence that the Buyer was precluded from bringing its claim.



Takeaways

The present case serves as a reminder of the importance of clear and consistent drafting of sale contracts, particularly in international sale contract of maritime trade where multiple contracts and/or agreements, as well as standard terms and conditions are usually involved. In construing the true intention of parties to the agreements, it is discernible that the court will usually take into consideration the commercial setting of the factual background.


 


For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: shipping@onc.hk                                    T: (852) 2810 1212

W: www.onc.hk                                           F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.
Published by ONC Lawyers© 2021


Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Eric Woo
Eric Woo
Partner

Latest Publications

Can an arbitration clause be incorporated into a bill of lading without being expressly referred to?
Summary According to section 19(1)(6) of the Arbitration Ordinance (Cap. 609) (the “Ordinance”), the reference in a contract to any document containing an arbitration clause constitutes an arbitration agreement in writing, provided that the reference is such as to make that clause part of the contract. However, in the recent Hong Kong Court decision in OCBC Wing Hang Bank Limited v Kai Sen Shipping Company Limited [2020] HKCFI 375, the Court of First Instance held that under both Hong Kong and English law, an arbitration clause in a charterparty cannot be incorporated into the bills of lading by making mere reference to the charterparty as a whole. Under both Hong Kong and English law, an arbitration agreement contained in a charterparty could only be effectively incorporated into bills of lading by specific and express wordings.
The wording of a guarantee determines the exact scope of the liabilities of a guarantor for a charterparty
Introduction The use of guarantees to secure charterers’ obligations to ship owners is not uncommon in the shipping industry. Many people share the perception that a guarantor is only liable to pay when the principal obligor defaults in his obligations. However, this only forms part of the picture under the law of guarantees. Signing a guarantee without understanding the true nature of your liabilities is dangerous as it can open the floodgate to liabilities.
Will cargo receivers or financiers be responsible for discharge of cargoes and the related cost under a contract of carriage?
Introduction A voyage charter usually provides for a remedy of demurrage to the owner of the vessel against the charterer in circumstances where there is delay in unloading or discharge of the cargo. However, where demurrage cannot be recovered owing to the charterer’s insolvency, the Court will be slow to imply terms into a contract of carriage so as to make other parties liable to the delay in the discharge of the cargo. In the recent English case of Sea Master Shipping Inc v Arab Bank (Switzerland) Limited Yousef Freiha & Sons Sal [2020] EWHC 2030 (Comm), the Commercial Court (the “Court”) considered whether terms relating to the discharge of cargo should be implied into a contract of carriage against the cargo receivers or a bank involved in financing the cargo.
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

若燃油供應合約的明文議定條款與預印條款抵觸,法院會如何解讀?

2021-07-29

簡介


最近英國Septo Trading Inc v Tintrade Ltd [2021] EWCA Civ 718案中,英國上訴法院(「法院」)審視一項預印一般條款與一項具體議定條款之間是否有抵觸,以及有條款的效力。法院重申,在判斷兩者是否有抵觸時,測試於兩項條文能否公平合理地一併讀,需從商業角度確定各方的意圖。



若燃油供應合約的明文議定條款與預印條款抵觸,法院會如何解讀?


背景


賣方Tintrade Ltd(「賣方」)與買方Septo Trading Inc(「買方」)訂立了一份合約,據此,賣方同意出售而買方同意(按買方選擇)購買36,00042,000噸的高硫燃油,並以一份日期為2018620日的摘要(「摘要」),當中記錄了雙方議定的條款。該摘要規定(其中包括)沒有欺詐或明顯錯誤的情況下,由雙方認可的一級獨立檢查員發出的質量書,將對方具約束力(「相關摘要條款」)。同時,該摘要亦規定與上文並無抵觸的情況BP 2007離岸價格銷售一般條款及條件(「BP一般條款」)將適用。BP一般條款規定,質量證明就開立發票而言」是不可推翻且具約束力的,但不損害買方提出質量申索的權利(「相關BP條款」)。


2018626日,方共同委託SGS Latvija Ltd(「SGS」)檢驗將予運的燃油數量及質量。SGS的質量證書證明燃油在裝運港符合合約規格。但後來再從貨物取樣本進行的分析發現燃油實不合規


因此,買方以產品不符合合約規格為由追討損失。賣方則指出,該摘要訂明質量證約束力。買方回應,根據相關BP條款,質量證書僅就開立發票而言具約束力,因此並不妨礙買方就產品質量問題提出


英國商庭的Teare法官裁定,燃油事實上不符合合約規格,並認為相關BP條款限制了相關摘要條款。相關摘要條款要是單獨存在,將會禁止買家質量問題提出申索;然而,相關摘要條款及相關BP條款亦一併並無衝突,兩者同時具有效力。因此,買方成功索償,並可獲得3,058,801美元的損害賠償。


賣方不服上訴,認為相關BP條款與相關摘要條款獨立檢查員確定的質量對方具約束力所抵觸



法律原則


有關具體議定條款與合約預印標準條款抵觸的法律原則,見Pagnan SpA v Tradax Ocean Transportation SA [1987] 3 All ER 565這宗重要案例。在Pagnan中,Dillon法官將抵觸條款定為無法合理地一併解讀的條款。這有別於文件中一項條款限制另一項條款的情況例子包括:關於不可抗力罷工停工條款,幾乎必定會限制訂約方在合約其他條款絕對義務。


其後多宗案件均跟隨Pagnan案的原則,包括Alexander v West Bromwich Mortgage Co Ltd [2016] EWCA Civ 496, [2017] 1 All ER 942一案。在Alexander案中,法院進一步強調,限制或補充具體議定條款的預印條款,與改變或否定它的條款之間的區別。法院進一步闡述,要判斷某項條款屬於哪一種,關鍵是兩項條款能否公平合理地一併解讀,從而使兩者生效。這個問題必須在考慮商業常理的情況下從實際角度出發,不能從字面或機械地處理。預印條款實際上是否剝奪了特定條款的效力乃相關的考慮因素,如答案為「是」,該兩項條款很大機會是有抵觸的。


此外,具體議定的條款是否合約主要目的的一部分,或是否構成合約計劃的核心特徵亦屬相關考慮因表如答案為「是」損害該計劃的預印條款很可能與之有抵觸最終,法院需要在商業語境從合約字句確定方的意圖。


裁決


作為考慮抵觸問題的起點,法院首先審視該摘要的條文。就此而言,相關摘要條款訂明質量證明書對雙方具約束力,因此買方其後不能就產品質量不符合約規格而提出申索。質量證明書具約束力是許多國際銷售合約的核心特徵。


然後,法院考慮了預印條款的效力,並認為相關BP條款實際上意味著質量書完全不具約束力。

最後,法院得出肯定的結論,認為相關BP條款與相關摘要條款有所抵觸兩項條文不能公平合理地一併解讀。法院上述結論原因如下

  1. 相關摘要條款訂明質量證明就所有目的而言具約束力,以禁止就違反質量要求追討損害償,相關BP條款質量書的約束力僅適用於非常有限的目的(即「開立發票目的」);
  2. 質量證約束力的不具約束力制度有著根本上的分別
  3. 該摘要中有關質量證書具約束力規定是合約計劃的核心特徵;及
  4. 考慮到本案雙作為在現實世界營的實務商人假如說他們有意選擇一個質量證明書純屬證據而不具約束力的制度,在商業上並不合理。

因此,法院裁定賣方上訴得直,SGS發出的質量證明書具約束力,買方不能提出申索。



要點


本案提醒我們草擬銷售合同時必須清晰和一致,尤其是國際海上貿易銷售合約,通常涉及多份合約及/或協議以及標準條款和條件。在解釋訂約各方的真實意圖時,法院通常會從商業角度考慮事實背景。


  

如有查詢,歡迎與我們聯絡:

E:  shipping@onc.hk                                    T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                               F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能構成任何個別案的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。
ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2021


律師團隊

甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人
甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
胡慶業
胡慶業
合夥人

最新文章

沒有明確提及仲裁條款,也可以把仲裁條款納入到提單嗎?
提要 香港法例第609章《仲裁條例》第19(1)(6) 條訂明,「在合同中提及載有仲裁條款的任何文件的,只要此種提及可使該仲裁條款成為該合同一部分,即構成書面形式的仲裁協議」。然而,香港原訟法庭最近在OCBC Wing Hang Bank Limited v Kai Sen Shipping Company Limited [2020] HKCFI 375一案裁定,根據香港及英國法律,僅僅提及整份租船合同並不能把租船合同中的仲裁條款納入到提單;訂約方必須採用具體、明確的字詞,才能把租船合同中的仲裁協議納入到提單。
租船合同擔保人的確切責任範圍取決於擔保書的措辭
引言 在航運業界,以擔保書來確保租船人向船東履行責任是相當普遍的做法。很多人以為擔保人只是在主要債務人欠債的情況下才須負責,但這並非事實的全部。未了解擔保書的真正性質便貿然簽署是非常危險的,因為擔保人可能會面臨大量的債務申索。
收貨人及融資人應否承擔承運合同下的卸貨責任及相關費用?
簡介 航次租船合同一般載有規定,在延誤卸貨的情況下,船東可向租船人追討滯期費作為補償。然而,假如因為租船人無力償債而無法向其討回滯期費,法院不會輕易將承運合同視為載有隱含條款,以使其他人士為卸貨延誤負責。最近在 Sea Master Shipping Inc v Arab Bank (Switzerland) Limited Yousef Freiha & Sons Sal [2020] EWHC 2030 (Comm) 這宗案例中,英國商事法庭(「法院」)審視了承運合同是否可被視為載有關於卸貨的隱含條款,對收貨人或為涉案貨物提供融資的銀行施加責任。
Back to top