filter
Back

Tactical Steps in Litigation

2005-09-01

In this article, we shall briefly discuss some tactical steps that a plaintiff could deploy to better protect his interest and improve the chance of full recovery pending a full trial of the action.   


Summary Judgment  

In many cases, the Defendant simply seeks to delay fulfilling his liabilities and has no real defence to the Plaintiff’s claim. In such case, the Plaintiff may, after the Defendant gives his notice of intention to defend, apply for summary judgment to be entered against the Defendant. If the court is satisfied that the Defendant has no arguable defence to the claim, it will give judgment for the Plaintiff right away without requiring him to go through the whole litigation process.   


Anton Piller Order  

In some cases, the evidence that the Plaintiff needs in establishing his claims may be in the possession of the Defendant. For examples, the Defendant may be an ex-employee of the Plaintiff who has taken away some confidential information of the Plaintiff; or the Defendant may have produced and sold goods which infringed the Plaintiff’s trademarks or copyrights, in which case the Defendant’s sales records will be the evidence that the Plaintiff needs. In those cases the normal litigation process outlined above would be useless because the Defendant upon receiving the Writ may conceal or destroy the evidence which the Plaintiff needs. When faced with such a situation, the Plaintiff should apply for an “Anton Piller Order” against the Defendant.  

An Anton Piller Order is a court order empowering the Plaintiff’s solicitors to launch a search on the Defendant’s premises. It is applied “ex parte” (i.e. without first notifying the Defendant) and can be obtained within a very short time or even outside office hours in case of extreme urgency. If the search is successful and the Plaintiff obtains useful evidence against the Defendant, the Plaintiff would be put in an advantageous position in the litigation.   


Mareva Injunction  

A Mareva Injunction is also referred to as a “freezing order” because it freezes the Defendant’s assets and restrains him from disposing of the same to avoid enforcement of the judgment against him. A Plaintiff can apply for an ex parte Mareva Injunction Order if he can show that he has good claim against the Defendant and that there is a likelihood that the Defendant will dispose of his assets to avoid any judgment that can be obtained against him. The Order can be applied for at any stage of the litigation.   


Interlocutory Injunction  

At the beginning or any stage of the litigation process, a Plaintiff may apply for an interlocutory injunction to restrain the Defendant from committing certain acts pending the full trial of the case. The Plaintiff would be able to do so if he could show that he has a good arguable case against the Defendant and that if the injunction is not granted it would be difficult for him to be sufficiently compensated by the Defendant even if he wins the case in the end. This kind of injunction is typically applied for in intellectual property infringement cases where the Plaintiff would argue that the continuing infringement by the defendant would cause him irreparable harm, though it could also be used in other cases.




For enquiries, please contact our Litigation & Dispute Resolution Department:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2005


Our People

Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Sherman Yan
Sherman Yan
Managing Partner
Ludwig Ng
Ludwig Ng
Senior Partner
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

非正審的策略性步驟

2005-09-01

我們將會在這一節簡單介紹可供一個原告人使用的非正審策略性步驟。   


簡易判決(Summary Judgment  

在許多案件中,被告人純粹拖延償還欠款,對原告人的申索亦沒有一個充足的抗辯理由。在此情況下,原告人便可以在被告人發出擬抗辯通知後,申請對被告人作出簡易判決。若法庭亦同意被告人對申索並沒有具爭議性的抗辯的話,便會立即判原告人得值而無須原告人進行整個訴訟程序。   


搜索令(Anton Piller Order  

在某些案件中,原告人用以證實其申索的證據有可能在被告人的保管之下。例如,被告人可能是原告人的前僱員,並帶走了原告人的一些機密資料;或被告人生產或銷售一些侵犯原告人商標或版權的貨物,在這情況下被告人的銷售紀錄將會成為原告人需要的證據。在此等情況下上述一般的訴訟程序會變得毫無用處,因為被告人在收到傳訊令狀後,可以隱瞞或銷毀原告人需要的證據。當面對這種情況,原告人應該向法庭申請對被告的搜查令。

搜查令是一個法庭命令,能授予原告人律師對被告人的物業進行搜查的能力。搜查令的申請是單方面的(即無須先通知被告人),而且可以在非常短的時間內取得,在極度緊急的情況下,甚至可以在非辦公時間進行搜查。若搜查成功而原告人能獲得幫助原告人而不利被告人的證據,原告人便可在訴訟中佔一個有利位置。   


資產凍結令(Mareva Injunction  

資產凍結令凍結被告人的資產並制止被告人為避免判決的執行而將資產變賣或調動。若原告人可以證明其申索具有充足的理據,而被告人有可能變賣或調動資產以避免任何可能對他不利的判決,則原告人可以單方面申請資產凍結令。資產凍結令可以於訴訟的任何階段申請。   


非正審強制令(Interlocutory Injunction  

在訴訟程序的開始或任何階段,原告人可以申請非正審強制令以制止被告人在等候審訊期間作出某些行為。若原告人能夠證明對被告人的申索乃充分的和具爭議性的,而且假若非正審強制令不被允許,便會導致原告人最後即使勝訴也很難獲得足夠賠償的話,原告人便能成功申請非正審強制令。雖然非正審強制令可以在不同案件中使用,但這類型的非正審強制令的申請,通常在侵犯知識產權的案件中出現,因為原告人往往主張被告人的持續侵權行為將造成原告人不可彌補的損失。



如有查詢,請聯絡我們的訴訟及調解爭議部門:

E: ldr@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識或法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能作為任何個別案件的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2005


律師團隊

甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
甄灼寧
甄灼寧
主管合夥人
伍兆榮
伍兆榮
資深合夥人
Back to top