filter
Back

Proposed tax concession for carried interest issued by private equity fund in Hong Kong

2020-09-01

Introduction

As announced in the 2020/2021 budget speech, the Financial Secretary proposed a tax concession for carried interest in Hong Kong. The Financial Services and Treasury Bureau (FSTB) has recently launched consultation seeking views on its proposal on the said tax concession (the “Proposal”) whilst the consultation period ended on 4 September 2020. To allow you to evaluate the benefits of the proposed tax concession, we highlight the details of the Proposal below.


The Proposal

There are three key points in the Proposal. First, the tax concession rate is described to be “highly competitive” although not specified in the Proposal. Next, the tax concession will take retrospective effect from the year of assessment commencing on 1 April 2020. Third, there is a prescribed set of eligibility criteria for the proposed tax concession, which are divided into three main heads: the fund itself, the relevant carried interest subject to the tax concession, and the carry recipient.

The fund

The proposed tax concession will apply to carried interest paid by private equity funds that qualify for the Unified Fund Tax Exemption (the “UFE”), namely those that fall within the definition of “fund” in section 20AM of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112, the “IRO”). In this connection, it is noteworthy that such a definition closely replicates that of “collective investment scheme” in the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571, the “SFO”), albeit with certain modifications. Separately, validation of the fund by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (the “HKMA”) is required, and an external auditor has to be engaged to fulfil the requirements in relation to the ongoing monitoring of the carry distributions. Further, an authorised local representative must be appointed to provide the HKMA and the Inland Revenue Department with the necessary communications on the particulars of the carry distributions.

The carried interest

To qualify for the tax concession outlined in the Proposal, the carried interest has to be a profit-related return which encompass three conditions (i) the carried interest must arise only if the validated fund is making profits; (ii) the carried interest paid would vary substantially by reference to the profits and (iii) the return to external investors is also determined by reference to the same profits. Separately, it is also proposed to include as carried interest a sum paid out of the profits derived from “qualifying transactions” under the UFE provided that all or substantially all the investments in the fund should have been repaid to external investors first with each external investor having received an annual rate of at least 6% compound interest. It is only when these conditions are satisfied that the carried interest will qualify. As to what is meant by “qualifying transactions” under the UFE, Part 1 of Schedule 16C to the IRO provides that they include transactions in e.g. securities, shares in a private company, future contracts, etc. Finally, the carried interest has to be derived from the provision of “investment management services” in Hong Kong to a validated fund, which include (i) seeking funds for the purposes of the validated fund from participants or potential participants; (ii) researching potential investments to be made for the purposes of the validated fund; (iii) acquiring, managing or disposing of property for the purposes of the validated fund; and (iv) acting for the purposes of the validated fund with a view to assisting an entity in which the fund has made an investment to raise funds.

The recipient

The proposed tax concession is only available to persons providing investment management services to a validated fund in Hong Kong, or those who arrange such services to be carried out in Hong Kong. There are three major classes of such persons: first, licensed corporations and authorised institutions that are licensed or registered under the SFO; second, entities providing or arranging for such services to a “qualified investment fund” as defined under IRO section 20AN(6); and third, individuals deriving assessable income from employment with these two preceding categories of entities/persons where he/she provides investment management services to the validated funds.

Additionally, the carry recipients have to fulfil certain substantial activities requirements. There must be no less than two investment professionals employed in Hong Kong (or alternatively, one investment professional and one related professional in finance, legal, or compliance). Moreover, there must have been at least HK$3 million local expenditure incurred in Hong Kong for the year of assessment. These ensure that talents and operations of the funds are retained locally.


Foresight

The aforesaid details of the Proposal may be subject to further change depending on the industry views. We expect that the Proposal may help easing the market concern and will increase Hong Kong’s attractiveness for private equity funds in general. 




For enquiries, please contact our Corporate & Commercial Department:

E: cc@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong

Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.

Published by ONC Lawyers © 2020


Our People

Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Michael Lau
Michael Lau
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Maxwell Chan
Maxwell Chan
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Michael Lau
Michael Lau
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Maxwell Chan
Maxwell Chan
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

香港政府擬為私募股權基金分發的附帶權益提供稅務優惠

2020-09-01

簡介

2020/2021財政年度預算案演辭中,財政司司長宣布擬在香港為附帶權益提供稅務優惠。財經事務及庫務局最近進行諮詢,就其上述稅務優惠建議(「該建議」)徵詢業界意見,而諮詢期已於202094日結束。本文將概述該建議的内容,以協助閣下評估上述擬議稅務優惠能帶來的益處。


該建議

該建議有三個要點:第一,有關稅務優惠率被形容為「極具競爭力」(儘管沒有說明確實的優惠率);第二,稅務優惠將追溯至202041日開始的課稅年度起生效;第三,擬議稅務優惠設有既定的資格準則,當中劃分為三大類別,即基金本身、獲稅務優惠的有關附帶權益及附帶權益收取人

基金

擬議稅務優惠將適用於符合統一基金稅務豁免(UFE」)資格的私募股權基金(即是符合香港法例第112章《稅務條例》第20AM條內「基金」的定義)所支付的附帶權益。值得注意的是,以上定義與香港法例第571章《證券及期貨條例》下「集體投資計劃」的定義相若,只是前者附帶若干修改。另外基金須得到香港金融管理局(金管局」)認可,而且須委聘外部核數師以符合有關持續監察附帶權益分派的要求。此外,基金須委任獲授權本地代表,就附帶權益的分派詳情與金管局和稅務局進行所需的通訊。

附帶權益

符合資格獲得該建議所述稅務優惠的附帶權益,必須與利潤掛鈎,並符合以下三項條件:(i) 附帶權益只在認可基金獲利時產生;(ii) 所付的附帶權益會因應基金利潤的增減而改變;及 (iii) 外部投資者的回報亦會根據相同的利潤而定。另外,該建議亦提到附帶權益可以由基金從其符合UFE定義的「合資格交易」中產生的利潤所支付,前提是基金應已將其全部或大部分的投資首先退還予外部投資者,而且各外部投資者均已收取至少6%(以複合年利率計算)的回報。只有符合這些條件,附帶權益方合資格獲得稅務優惠。至於何謂UFE所指的資格交易」,《稅務條例》附表16C1部訂明,「合資格交易」包括證券交易、私人公司股份的交易及期貨合約交易等等。最後,附帶權益必須是從在香港向認可基金提供「投資管理服務」而產生上述「投資管理服務」包括 (i) 為認可基金向參與者或潛在參與者籌措資金;(ii) 對認可基金的潛在投資進行研究;(iii) 為認可基金取得、管理或處置財產;及 (iv) 為協助認可基金所投資的實體籌集資金而行事

附帶權益收取人

擬議稅務優惠只適用於在香港向認可基金提供投資管理服務或安排在香港進行有關服務的人士。上述人士主要有三類:第一類是根據《證券及期貨條例》獲發牌或註冊的持牌法團及認可機構;第二類是向《稅務條例》第 20AN(6) 條所指的「合資格投資基金」提供或安排有關服務的實體;第三類是受僱於前述兩類實體/人士,並向認可基金提供投資管理服務而獲取應課稅收入的個人。

此外,附帶權益收取人須符合若干實質活動要求。他們須在香港僱用不少於兩名投資專業人員(或一名投資專業人員及一名財務、法律或合規相關的專業人員),以及於該課稅年度在香港產生不少於港幣300萬元的本地營運開支。以上要求確保基金的人才及營運均保留在本地。


展望

上述建議或會視乎業界意見而再作修訂。預期該建議將有助釋除市場疑慮並整體提升香港對私募股權基金的吸引力。



如有查詢,歡迎與我們聯絡:

E: cc@onc.hk                                                                   T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                                                F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19

注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能構成任何個別案的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。

ONC柯伍陳律師事務所發行 © 2020


律師團隊

張國明
張國明
合夥人
劉俊傑
劉俊傑
合夥人
張昊
張昊
合夥人
陳寳文
陳寳文
合夥人
葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人
張國明
張國明
合夥人
劉俊傑
劉俊傑
合夥人
張昊
張昊
合夥人
陳寳文
陳寳文
合夥人
葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人
Back to top