filter
Back

Intra-group dealings in listed company shares after closing of share buy-back by general offer – possible application of Rule 25 of the Codes of Takeovers and Mergers

2021-01-01

The Code on Share Buy-backs (“Share Buy-backs Code”) stipulates that a listed company may only engage in 4 types of share buy-back, one of which is share buy-back by general offer (“SBBGO”). Under rule 5 of the Share Buy-backs Code, certain rules of the Codes of Takeovers and Mergers (“Takeovers Code”) will normally apply to SBBGO, including Rule 25 of the Takeovers Code.

Rule 25 of the Takeovers Code

Under Rule 25 of the Takeovers Code, except with the consent of the Executive, neither the “offeror” nor “any person acting in concert with it” may make any arrangements with shareholders or enter into arrangements to purchase or sell securities of the “offeree company”, either during an offer or when such an offer is reasonably in contemplation or for 6 months after the close of such offer (the “Relevant Period”) if such arrangements have favourable conditions which are not to be extended to all shareholders (“Special Deals”).

Rule 25 reflects a fundamental principle of the Takeovers Code that all shareholders of a listed company should be treated equally. Any Special Deal made during the Relevant Period will, in the absence of the Executive’s consent, constitute a breach of Rule 25.

Practice Note 17 (Issues relating to special deals and Rule 25 of the Takeovers Code) published by the SFC sets out in summary the Takeovers Executive’s approach to Special Deals. In essence: -

1.If a Special Deal is capable of being extended to all other shareholders, it should be so extended.

2.If a Special Deal is not capable of being extended to shareholders but the special benefit received by the counter-party shareholder(s) can be quantified, the value of the benefit should be appropriately reflected in the offer price.

3.If a Special Deal is not capable of being extended and the special benefit cannot be quantified, in cases where considered appropriate, the Executive may consent to these deals subject to compliance with the requirements of Note 4 to Rule 25, in particular, that (a) an independent financial adviser to the offeree company publicly states that in its opinion the terms of the transaction are fair and reasonable; and (b) the transaction is approved at a general meeting of the offeree company’s shareholders who are not involved in or interested in the transaction.

Decision of the Takeovers and Mergers Panel (the “Panel”)
in relation to Alibaba Health Information Technology Limited

On 23 January 2014, CITIC 21CN Company Limited (“21CN”, now known as Alibaba Health Information Technology Limited) announced that it had entered into an agreement with Alibaba (the “Whitewash Transaction”) under which Alibaba would subscribe for shares in 21CN at a subscription price of HK$0.30 per share, subject to the grant of a whitewash waiver of the Rule 26 mandatory general offer obligation which would otherwise result from the subscription. The Whitewash Transaction was completed on 30 April 2014. On the date and completion date of the Whitewash Transaction, Alibaba entered into several agreement and side agreement (collectively the “Side Agreements”) with one Mr. Chen, brother of the second largest shareholder of 21CN.

The Panel was invited to determine whether the Side Agreements constituted a Special Deal under Rule 25 of the Takeovers Code and if so, whether the whitewash waiver granted to Alibaba in respect of the Whitewash Transaction should be invalidated. While this case was not concerned with SBBGO, the Panel’s decision provides further guidance on how Rule 25 will be applied in determining whether a transaction will constitute a Special Deal:

4.the Panel has made it clear that the favourable condition is one which may favour the shareholders concerned; that is, it is not plainly unfavourable (rather than being a consideration which exceeds the market price for an asset or service) and in which a positive value or benefit is received by the shareholder under an arrangement with the offeror and not something in excess of this. In particular, the Panel rejected the argument that a favourable condition should only be the one that gives a greater value to an asset than could be obtained from another party; and

5.the Panel also endorsed the Executive’s view that:

a.the underlying purpose of Rule 25 is not restricted to arrangements which are designed to encourage a shareholder to influence the outcome of an offer or whitewash. A plain reading of the Rule and its Notes makes it apparent that the provisions are not limited to special deals designed to influence a counterparty shareholder to accept an offer or to vote in favour of a whitewash; and

b.there does not need to be an inducement or distinct incentive to the shareholder for the arrangement to constitute a Special Deal under Rule 25.

The Panel decided that the Side Agreements constituted a Special Deal and the whitewash waiver was invalidated as a result. The Panel also emphasized the importance of consulting with the Executive before entering into any arrangements which may or may not constitute a Special Deal.

Application of Rule 25 to SBBGO

In the context of SBBGO, both the “offeror” and the “offeree company” refers to the listed company that conducted the SBBGO, and “any person acting in concert with the offeror” includes any shareholder / shareholder group that owns or controls 20% or more of the voting rights of the listed company. Hence, if a controlling shareholder group (i.e. owning or controlling 30% or more of the voting rights of the listed company) has been granted a whitewash waiver in a SBBGO and conducts intra-group dealings in the listed company shares during the Relevant Period, this may constitute a Special Deal if favourable conditions are present (e.g. the consideration involves a premium) even though the shareholding of the controlling shareholder group remains the same after the intra-group dealings.

Conclusion

A vast variety of considerations will be taken into account by the Executive to determine whether or not arrangements between shareholders constitute a Special Deal. Corporations that are part of a larger group of companies that includes listed companies should be minded to consult professionals for potential implications under the Takeovers Code and/or other applicable laws and regulations before entering into intra-group dealings in listed company shares. Feel free to contact us should you require any related advice.



For enquiries, please feel free to contact us at:

E: cc@onc.hk                                                 T: (852) 2810 1212
W:
www.onc.hk                                             F: (852) 2804 6311

19th Floor, Three Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong
Important: The law and procedure on this subject are very specialised and complicated. This article is just a very general outline for reference and cannot be relied upon as legal advice in any individual case. If any advice or assistance is needed, please contact our solicitors.


Our People

Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Michael Lau
Michael Lau
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Maxwell Chan
Maxwell Chan
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Raymond Cheung
Raymond Cheung
Partner
Michael Lau
Michael Lau
Partner
David Zhang
David Zhang
Partner
Maxwell Chan
Maxwell Chan
Partner
Henry Yip
Henry Yip
Partner
Back to top

過濾器
上一頁

上市公司如在透過全面要約進行的股份回購完成後在集團內部進行股份交易, 《公司收購及合併守則》規則25是否適用?

2021-01-01

《公司股份回購守則》《股份回購守則》訂明,上市公司只可進行四類股份回購,其中一類是透過全面要約進行的股份回購全面要約股份回購」)。根據《股份回購守則》規則5,《公司收購及合併守則》(《收購守則内的若干規定通常都適用於全面要約股份回購,當中包括《收購守則規則25

《收購守則》規則25

根據《收購守則》規則25,除非執行人員同意,否則在要約期內或要約已經過相當的計劃後或在有關要約截止後6個月內有關期間」),「要約人及「與其一致行動的任何人不得與股東作出或訂立買賣「受要約公司證券的安排,而該等安排是載有不可擴展至全體股東的優惠條件的特別交易」)

規則25反映了《收購守則的一項基本原則上市公司的所有股東必須得到平等的看待。在有關期間內,如有人未經執行人員同意作出特別交易,即構成違反規則25

由證監會刊發的《應用指引 17》(有關特別交易及《收購守則》規則 25 的事項)概述了收購執行人員對於特別交易的現行做法。簡單來說

1.若特別交易可以擴展至全部其他股東,便應擴展至全體股東。

2.若特別交易無法擴展至全體股東,但交易對手的股東收取的特別利益可以量化,有關利益的價值便應適當地在要約價中反映出來。

3.若特別交易無法擴展,而上述特別利益亦不能量化,執行人員或會在適當的情況下就有關交易給予同意,但有關交易必須符合規則25註釋4的規定,特別是 (a) 受要約公司的獨立財務顧問必須公開聲明,表示其認為該項交易的條款是公平合理的;及 (b) 該項交易必須在受要約公司的股東大會上獲得批准,而投票的股東並不涉及該項交易或在交易中並無利害關係。

收購及合併委員會(「委員會」)
就阿里健康信息技術有限公司作出的決定

2014123日,中信 21 世紀有限公司(「21世紀」,現稱阿里健康信息技術有限公司宣布其已與Alibaba訂立一項協議清洗交易」),據此,Alibaba會以每股 0.30 港元的認購價認購 21 世紀的股份,惟須待本應導致的規則26下的強制全面要約責任獲授予清洗交易的豁免後方可作實。清洗交易於2014430日完成。於清洗交易的訂立及完成日期,Alibaba21世紀第二大股東的弟弟陳先生訂立了多項協議及附協議統稱「附帶協議」)

委員會獲邀就以下事宜作出決定附帶協議是否構成《收購守則》規則 25 項下所指的特別交易;如是,Alibaba 就清洗交易獲授予的清洗豁免應否被宣告無效。儘管該案與全面要約股份回購無關,委員會在其書面決定中提供了進一步指引,說明在判斷某項交易是否構成特別交易時,規則25將如何適用

4.委員會清楚指出,優惠條件是一項可令有關股東受惠的條件,即並非顯然不利的條件而非一項超逾某資產或服務的市價的代價;亦是一項可令有關股東根據與要約人訂立的安排獲取正數價值或利益的條件,並僅此而已。其中,委員會並不接納優惠條件應只是令資產價值大於本可從另一方獲取的價值的一項條件這個觀點;及

5.委員會亦認同執行人員的看法

a.規則 25 背後的目的並非局限於旨在鼓勵股東影響要約或清洗交易的結果的安排。從字面上理解,該規則及其註釋明確指出,有關條文並不限於旨在影響交易對手的股東接納要約或投票贊成清洗交易的特別交易;及

b.在無需向股東提供誘因或明顯激勵的情況下,有關安排仍可構成規則25所指的特別交易。

委員會裁定,附帶協議構成特別交易,因此清洗豁免被宣告無效。委員會亦強調,上市公司在訂立任何有可能構成特別交易的安排前必須諮詢執行人員。

規則25於全面要約股份回購的應用

就全面要約股份回購而言,「要約人」及「受要約公司」均指進行全面要約股份回購的上市公司;而「與其一致行動的任何人」則包括任何擁有或控制該上市公司20%或以上投票權的股東股東組群。因此,倘若一控股股東組群即擁有或控制該上市公司30%或以上投票權已就全面要約股份回購獲授清洗豁免,並於有關期間内在集團內部買賣該上市公司的股份,而且其中附帶優惠條件例如有關代價包含溢價,則即使控股股東組群的總持股量在上述集團內部交易後維持不變,仍有可能構成特別交易。

總結

執行人員在判斷股東之間的安排是否構成特別交易時會考慮一籃子的廣泛因素。如企業的集團成員包含上市公司,最好先在集團內部買賣該上市公司的股份前,就《收購守則或其他適用法例及規例的潛在影專業人士。閣下如需有關法律意見,歡迎與本所聯絡。


如有查詢,歡迎與我們聯絡:

E: cc@onc.hk                                               T: (852) 2810 1212
W: www.onc.hk                                           F: (852) 2804 6311

香港中環康樂廣場8號交易廣場第三期19
注意:以上內容涉及十分專門和複雜的法律知識法律程序。本篇文章僅是對有關題目的一般概述,只供參考,不能構成任何個別案的法律意見。如需進一步的法律諮詢或協助,請聯絡我們的律師。


律師團隊

張國明
張國明
合夥人
劉俊傑
劉俊傑
合夥人
張昊
張昊
合夥人
陳寳文
陳寳文
合夥人
葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人
張國明
張國明
合夥人
劉俊傑
劉俊傑
合夥人
張昊
張昊
合夥人
陳寳文
陳寳文
合夥人
葉鉅雲
葉鉅雲
合夥人
Back to top